Dual monitors / fullscreen mode

For discussion of ports to POSIX based systems, especially using GNUStep.

Moderators: another_commander, winston, Getafix

Post Reply
User avatar
andrax_iON
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2021 12:55 am
Location: ζ Crucis

Dual monitors / fullscreen mode

Post by andrax_iON »

Hi all

Just a quick Q - I've no issue with Oolite functionality under current setup, but running fullscreen at 1920x1080 on primary monitor causes my 2nd screen to 'blank' (sleep mode?). On first setup, Oolite ran at something around 35xx by [can't remember] split across both screens (not a preferred option), but I like to run various apps. while flying (Teamspeak, IRC (have developed an unhealthy fascination for the eerie silence on #oolite 8~/ )) an' this just ain't working.

Grateful for any advice.. 8~)

cheers!

*Mint 20.1, Oolite v1.90; GeForce GTX 960 (2 x DVI), nVidia driver v. 460.39
Benq M2700HD 27" @ 1920x1080 + Acer V203H 20" @ 1600x900
I tell you: one must still have chaos in one, to give birth to a dancing star..
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5869
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Dual monitors / fullscreen mode

Post by another_commander »

Unfortunately there is nothing that can be done about this, unless someone implements windowed fullscreen on Linux. Unlike the Windows and Mac ports, Linux currently utilizes the fullscreen facilities of SDL and that takes it straight into exclusive fullscreen.

Maybe as a workaround you can try multiple desktops? Oolite on one and other apps on the other? No idea how this would behave with fullscreen though.
User avatar
andrax_iON
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2021 12:55 am
Location: ζ Crucis

Re: Dual monitors / fullscreen mode

Post by andrax_iON »

another_commander wrote: Thu Apr 15, 2021 6:03 am Unfortunately there is nothing that can be done about this <snip>
Okies - ta for the info. Pure convenience/indulgence on my part, I like to see the name if Teamsqueak squeaks about a user join.

cheers
I tell you: one must still have chaos in one, to give birth to a dancing star..
Commander_X
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 454
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Dual monitors / fullscreen mode

Post by Commander_X »

Whew, the fullscreeners hit under the belt again :D

Ok, one option that might help with this (found the refrence here for the interested), is to use SDL_VIDEO_FULLSCREEN_DISPLAY=<number> (seems that SDL_VIDEO_FULLSCREEN_HEAD would do too). E.g. if your monitor of choice is 1, then you should launch Oolite with:

Code: Select all

SDL_VIDEO_FULLSCREEN_DISPLAY=1 ./oolite-wrapper
The <number> part to pass to the variable assignment can be found running

Code: Select all

xrandr --listmonitors
in a terminal. Note that the numbers shown might not match your expectation (hint: pay attention to the "+X+Y" ending values in the line corresponding to each of them, before the type of connector). That is, from my list here

Code: Select all

$ xrandr --listmonitors
Monitors: 3
 0: +*HDMI-0 1920/480x1080/270+1920+0  HDMI-0
 1: +DP-1 1920/521x1080/293+3840+0  DP-1
 2: +DP-4 1920/597x1080/336+0+0  DP-4
if I wanted to fullscreen on my right most monitor, it should be 1 (due to its location of my X display at +3840+0)

There will be trouble! Things I noticed with this setup:
- (the big/bad one) no Alt-Tab or other type of switching (you're out of the window manager's jurisdiction); so it's sort of single tasking. I'd guess you'd need to implement some type of switching at the X level (not sure if it's possible without some programming)
- you want to make sure you position the initial window on that monitor before doing full screen, otherwise a black window will remain on the monitor where the fullscreen was initially activated from
- (no trouble) the other monitors still show the applications working nicely; I launched a movie to play on another monitor, and it went quite smoothly

Having this fixed decently seems also to be possible. I found this stackoverflow Q&A, and doing a quick (well, not that quick, SDL1.x build under more current Linuxes has ups and downs)

Code: Select all

./testvidinfo
as recommended

Code: Select all

$ ./testvidinfo 
X11 detected Xinerama:
xinerama 0: 1920x1080+1920+0
xinerama 1: 1920x1080+3840+0
xinerama 2: 1920x1080+0+0
it returned similar information like xrandr above.
User avatar
andrax_iON
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2021 12:55 am
Location: ζ Crucis

Re: Dual monitors / fullscreen mode

Post by andrax_iON »

Sweet - thanks for the leads, have some reading to do. xrandr shows no surprises, lspci too; what's got me curious is that I've lost the gpu slot in the folding@home client, so something's amiss (since Mint updated the nvidia driver, methinks; now 460.56).
I tell you: one must still have chaos in one, to give birth to a dancing star..
Post Reply