Debug Console

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Debug Console

Post by JensAyton » Fri May 09, 2008 12:13 pm

(Oops, Kaks sent me this last week, but I forgot about it)

A basic but working cross-platform debug console is now available. It includes a Windows executable and cross-platform Python code which can be used under Linux or Mac OS X.

To use:
  • Install the Debug OXP in the usual fashion.
  • Start the debug console.
  • Start Oolite.
You can then interact with Oolite by entering JavaScript commands in the debug console.

By changing the console-host and console-port settings in debugConfig.plist in the debug OXP, the console can be used for multiple-machine debugging. To use the external console rather than the built-in one under Mac OS X, it is necessary to uncomment the console-host line.

Edit by another_commander, 14 September 2014: As Berlios doesn't exist anymore, the above link for the the debug console is no longer valid. The debug console can still be downloaded in source code format from the Oolite Project's Debug Console pages at github. A version including the pre-compiled Windows executable can be alternatively downloaded from http://sourceforge.net/projects/oolite- ... p/download

User avatar
nijineko
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: two strange quarks short of a graviton....
Contact:

Post by nijineko » Fri May 16, 2008 2:27 am

sorry for the state of ignorance, but how does one start the debug console?
arukibito ga michi wo erabu no ka, michi ga arukibito wo erabu no deshou ka?

Image
Play games. Win Amazon gift cards! Brag. Repeat.

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton » Fri May 16, 2008 9:18 am

Under Windows, you should just have to double-click OoDebugConsole.exe from the aforelinked zip archive. On other platforms, I’d suggest starting by reading the included Read Me file.

On a Mac, you don’t need this, just install the Debug OXP and look in the Debug menu.

User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks » Fri May 16, 2008 10:55 am

... & in non-mac systems I'd run Oolite in windowed mode, it makes it easy to switch between oolite & the console...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)

User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Post by Frame » Fri May 23, 2008 4:53 pm

i´m afraid the Debug.oxp on its own causes my PC to Crash to Desktop, seems to be timed, at first i thought it was some OXP i was checking, but removed all of them, except the Debug.oxp..

This is happening while im not running the console, which im trying todo now..

running with the console, seems not to cause a CTD
running without the console with the Debug.oxp in add on folder, will cause a CTD... on my system

which is

Vista Ultimate.. 1, 5 gb ram
ATI HD2600 XT... 512mb
Intel P4 2.8 ghz

This is happening in Galaxy 1 when i fly into

Tibionis, (65,108), TL: 7, Furry Rodents, Democracy, Tibionis is most noted for the Tibionisian deadly goat and its vast rain forests.

system

from the

Isence, (52,128), TL: 8, Red Fat Humanoids, Multi-Government, The world Isence is very famous for its unusual casinos but beset by a evil disease.

system...

hmm i have no where to store a commander save file online... so i cant supply you with that, other than via mail ofcourse
Bounty Scanner
Number 935

User avatar
Svengali
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2365
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm

Post by Svengali » Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:25 pm

Thanks Kaks for the well working debug console.

@Frame: If you need the console every time you could place it in the RunOolite.bat.
EDIT: Not an option. It waits till the console is terminated.

User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks » Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:18 pm

Svengali wrote:Thanks Kaks for the well working debug console.

@Frame: If you need the console every time you could place it in the RunOolite.bat.
EDIT: Not an option. It waits till the console is terminated.
This is a bit of an old topic, but I added these lines at the beginning of the batch file, and they seem to do the trick for me:

start DebugConsole.exe
ping -n 6 127.0.0.1 >NUL

the second line is there just to create a delay between starting the debug console and starting oolite... :)
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)

User avatar
Randy
Competent
Competent
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Wherever I am, I'm there.
Contact:

I'm probably doing something wrong.

Post by Randy » Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:11 pm

The console works great on the host machine but I am having trouble getting my laptop to connect to the host where I'm playing Oolite.

The laptop is running Vista Ultimate and my desktop is still on XP. Maybe it's some kind of security thing but I haven't found it.

I've opened up port 8653 in my hub's firewall, changed the plist to 192.168.1.92 (the laptop) and of course uncommented the line. It just keeps waiting for a connection.

If anyone has any ideas, I'm open for suggestions. I did find a trumble in the wiring and removed it. No such luck.

Thanks,

Randy
Maybe it's just a bunch of stuff that happens. -- Homer Simpson

User avatar
Cmd. Cheyd
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 925
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:52 pm
Location: Deep Horizon Industries Manufacturing & Research Site somewhere in G8...

Post by Cmd. Cheyd » Fri Apr 03, 2009 3:13 am

Does either machine have the Windows Firewall enabled?

User avatar
Randy
Competent
Competent
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Wherever I am, I'm there.
Contact:

Firewall

Post by Randy » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:05 pm

Hi Commander Cheyd,

Neither one does, at least to my best recollection. I use the firewall in the hub itself. I'll check tonight when I get home and make sure because for all I know some Windows Update may have prompted me at some point and I just click on Yes and Next to practically everything.

"Do you want to install this software? <Yes> No"
"Are you sure? <Yes> No"
"Do you like cats? <Next> Previous"
"Your firewall is off. Do you want it turned on? <Yes> No"
"Your socks don't match. Do you want us to match them for you? <Yes> No"

You get the idea. I'll check this evening and make sure.

Randy
Maybe it's just a bunch of stuff that happens. -- Homer Simpson

User avatar
Micha
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 815
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:01 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by Micha » Fri Apr 03, 2009 3:09 pm

First of all, the Debug.OXP in Oolite connects to the Debug Console, not the other way around. (You -do- have the Debug.OXP in your AddOns folder, right?)

Secondly, unless you're trying to connect from outside your LAN you won't need to touch the ports in your router (in fact, this could be a security issue for your LAN).



A quick test to determine whether you can actually connect to the Debug Console is to use telnet. (Vista doesn't install telnet by default - see http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Window ... 01033.mspx)


On the machine on which you want to run the Debug Console (I think this is your laptop - 192.168.1.92):
1) Start the Debug Console.

On the machine on which you want to run Oolite:
1) Open a command window (Start->Run->cmd)
2) Double-check you can talk to your laptop at all: ping 192.168.1.92
3) Try to connect to the Debug Console: telnet 192.168.1.92 8563

If Step 2 fails you've most likely got a network problem or potentially a firewall problem.

If you see "connection refused" or "connection timed out" or similar, you've most likely got a firewall problem.

If you see "Connected to <something>" then you should be good to go.
The glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

Solas
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:26 am

Post by Solas » Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:02 pm

Has Anyone got any console working on Vista 64 for use with Debug.OXP ?

User avatar
Randy
Competent
Competent
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Wherever I am, I'm there.
Contact:

No Such Luck

Post by Randy » Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:01 pm

Micha wrote:First of all, the Debug.OXP in Oolite connects to the Debug Console, not the other way around. (You -do- have the Debug.OXP in your AddOns folder, right?)
Right.
Secondly, unless you're trying to connect from outside your LAN you won't need to touch the ports in your router (in fact, this could be a security issue for your LAN).
Nope, totally on my personal LAN.
On the machine on which you want to run the Debug Console (I think this is your laptop - 192.168.1.92):
1) Start the Debug Console.
Done
On the machine on which you want to run Oolite:
1) Open a command window (Start->Run->cmd)
2) Double-check you can talk to your laptop at all: ping 192.168.1.92
3) Try to connect to the Debug Console: telnet 192.168.1.92 8563
Done.
If Step 2 fails you've most likely got a network problem or potentially a firewall problem.
I can ping it. Telnet just hangs though. I did have the firewall on the laptop earlier and I've disabled it.

These are good suggestions. I've noticed that when I connect to a shared folder on the laptop it asks me for a password. I just click <OK> because I don't have one for the folder and I get in. But I can't connect to the XP computer although I can see it on the network.

I'll keep trying different things. I do appreciate the brainstorming. I had not thought of the Telnet before.

Edit: Interesting thing. When it "hangs" I can go back to the Debug Console and type in /quit. As soon as I do, the Telnet sessions goes back to the prompt.

Thanks,

Randy
Maybe it's just a bunch of stuff that happens. -- Homer Simpson

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5394
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander » Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:47 am

There is a way to troubleshoot packet traffic problems, but requires that you build from the source. I have posted in the Oolite PC forum recently describing a very easy way to do this (it involves downloading 89MB worth of package though and requires that you install everything on drive D).

If you can build from source, then you can try defining the macro OO_LOG_DEBUG_PROTOCOL_PACKETS in the GNUmakefile and building, adding

Code: Select all

debugTCP.receive = yes;
debugTCP.send = yes;
in logcontrol.plist and then running the game. Everything that gets exchanged between application and console will be logged in Latest.log and you may get an idea of what is happening, since the packets themselves can be represented as plists and are readable.

By the way, what does Latest.log currently give you, after a failed connection attempt?

User avatar
Randy
Competent
Competent
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Wherever I am, I'm there.
Contact:

Latest Log

Post by Randy » Sat Apr 04, 2009 1:14 pm

Code: Select all

[debugTCP.connect.failed]: Failed to connect to debug console at 192.168.1.92:8563.
[dataCache.willWrite]: About to write data cache.
[dataCache.write.success]: Wrote data cache.
[script.javaScript.warning.206]: ----- JavaScript warning: The ability to pass four numbers instead of a quaternion is deprecated and will be removed in a future version of Oolite. Use an array literal instead (for instance, replace q.multiply(w, 1, 2, 3) with q.multiply([w, 1, 2, 3]).
I'll try the build. I'll get started on the download now.

Randy
Maybe it's just a bunch of stuff that happens. -- Homer Simpson

Post Reply