Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:56 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:58 am 
Offline
Poor
Poor

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:39 am
Posts: 4
Hello everyone! I am new to this website but not new to Oolite, however, this question may seem a bit nooby. I have recently introduced my younger siblings to Oolite and have decided to setup a triple monitor setup with eyefinity and all that stuff as a fun project we can do together. I never really had to think about it until now but I need to change the FOV in order to give the setup that "wrap around" effect. I have searched through the general settings as well as some of the code but havent been able to find anything. I have probably missed something massively obvious, but to save time, I would like some help. Is it possible to change the FOV, and if so, what do I need to do in order to do so.

Thanks in advance!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:11 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5016
Hi and welcome!

To change the FOV, as soon as you start or load a commander, press F2 to go to the Options screen, then select Game Options. The setting you are looking for is the slider called Field Of View and is set to 57 degrees by default. You can take it up to 80 degrees.

If you try it and think that 80 degrees may not be enough, let us know. We could maybe up the limit a bit for the next version of the game.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:00 am 
Offline
Poor
Poor

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:39 am
Posts: 4
Thank you so much for such a fast reply! I knew it was blatantly obvious. This has already made things look much nicer. I like your idea of making the FOV range greater. I think this will definitely be a good addition to the game as it will allow for greater experiment possibility and perhaps more monitors?! I did some research and have found some topics where people have brought the FOV way out to nearly 180 degrees!

Anyway, thank you for your reply. I am planning on posting photos of how the setup is coming along in the future. Also, I am currently programming a dashboard with switches, lights, smaller displays etc. Hopefully it works but we'll see how things pan out.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:38 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5016
Good to know that the increased FOV made things better for you and looking forward the the setup photos.

The reason we can't really go much higher with the FOV is that view side-effects involving the ships' models themselves start to occur if we go too far. In other words, you start seeing the inside of your ship's model. I have made a quick test using the core ships and a 90deg FOV and I think that 90 degrees is about as high as we can go without excessive model interference. Higher than that will require repositioning of the internal view camera locations and of course, testing at various FOVs and screen size ratios and for every single ship to ensure that no other side effects occur.

As an example, here is a screenie of the core Python's side view wilth 90 degrees FOV and 16:10 screen aspect ratio. The bar you can see at the bottom is part of the Python model that is not really meant to be seen and is indeed not visible at 80 deg FOV. Note also how the HUD missile info is already obscured at that FOV as a result. So we need to be careful before we apply any changes and I would not expect too much of a jump from the current limit of 80 deg..
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:13 am 
Offline
Poor
Poor

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:39 am
Posts: 4
Ok, thanks for the example. I see the issue with the higher FOV. However is it possible to perhaps change the position of the view camera myself, through the code? I might do some digging around to see if I can perhaps do so. Thank you for your help!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:19 am 
Online
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 12921
Location: Corke's Drift
You can adjust view positions in the shipdata.plist of whichever ship you're using.

_________________
The only good fnord is a dead fnord!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 4:23 am 
Offline
Poor
Poor

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:39 am
Posts: 4
Ok thanks. Also, maybe this is worth noting, I am running linux. Version 1.84 of the game is not yet available for download via the terminal. At the moment I am still using version 1.82. Will 1.84 be available for download via terminal anytime soon?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 4:42 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1806
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Full disclosure: I don't run Linux.

I believe each distro is responsible for the version they make available. However, on the Oolite download page is a .tgz which is a far more reliable way to get the latest released version. This .tgz has the specific libs Oolite needs to run reliably on Linux (and a couple of them have been custom-built for the game). Our Penguinistas can chime in here because I've run out of intelligible Linux-speak and am at risk of saying something someone (probably me) will regret. :wink:

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 7:00 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:35 am
Posts: 482
Location: Paris
Quote:
I believe each distro is responsible for the version they make available.
Exactly.

I run Linux and compile from the source. But really, using the tgz archive is the simplest way to be up-to-date.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:01 am 
Online
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 12921
Location: Corke's Drift
Yep, use the .tgz (available here) - lovingly crafted by the tap-dancing Penguin.

_________________
The only good fnord is a dead fnord!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:55 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 11:26 pm
Posts: 173
I mentioned the issue with the "low" FOW with multiple monitor setup a while ago, and iirc a nice value would be up to 160 degrees for a 3 monitor setup.
The issue with the ship showing only happens with a single monitor setup when its up there, so my suggestion is to either to just allow the 160 (so people would have to find a good FOW by them selves if they didnt want to go with the default one) or detect the resolution (X AND Y, as iirc the problem is that Oolite only checks Y resolution) and scale it automatically (so the menu scaling is relative to resolution+fov instead of just fov)

_________________
"There is a single light of science, and to brighten it anywhere is to brighten it everywhere." - Isaac Asimov


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited