Trunk nightly

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

Post Reply
User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Smivs » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:06 pm

It's not funny!!!!!
:lol:
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Getafix » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:14 pm

Smivs wrote:...However I do also seem to have Oolite (v1.84) in GNUstep/Applications, but it doesn't appear in the 'Games' menu and I can find no way to launch it! What on Earth have I done?!...
You could try that for starters:

Code: Select all

$ ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite/oolite
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13617
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Cody » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:26 pm

Smivs wrote:
Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:06 pm
It's not funny!!!!!
<grins> If I had a pound for every time I've sat in front of a computer screen and said What on Earth have I done?, I'd have a few quid!

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Getafix » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:37 pm

Cody wrote:
Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:26 pm
Smivs wrote:
Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:06 pm
It's not funny!!!!!
<grins> If I had a pound for every time I've sat in front of a computer screen and said What on Earth have I done?, I'd have a few quid!
That's not funny either! :lol: (so why am I roflmao?!?)
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Smivs » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:46 pm

Hmmmm.

Code: Select all

~ $ ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite/oolite
AL lib: (WW) alc_initconfig: Failed to initialize backend "pulse"
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
Is there a case for uninstalling Oolite and updating/reinstalling Trunk?
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13617
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Cody » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:50 pm

A clean install is often the easiest solution.

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Getafix » Thu Mar 02, 2017 4:56 pm

Smivs wrote:
Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:46 pm
...Is there a case for uninstalling Oolite and updating/reinstalling Trunk?
Firts of all, let me reassure you that Oolite and Oolite-Trunk installations can live happily side by side.
However, they will both use (read AND write, if needed) whatever exists under
~/.Oolite/ (e.g. logs, addons)
~/oolite-saves/ (e.g. snapshots, savegames)
~/GNUstep/Defaults/ (e.g. default game settings)
~/GNUstep/Library/ (e.g. game managed addons, cache)

Furthermore, the warnings, you get by oolite execution can be ignored. The game starts with no audio issues, right? :?

To uninstall a non-privileged (i.e. non system-wide) installation, such as yours, you can just delete the Oolite folder.

Code: Select all

$rm -rf ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite/
For a more graceful removal, that gives a try to preserve post-installation user files, you can execute

Code: Select all

$ ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite/uninstall
This one will try to preserve some Oolite folders that could contain post installation user files. However, it will unconditionally delete folders such as
Oolite/FreeDesktop/
Oolite/oolite-deps/
Oolite/oolite.app/Resources/


The same removal process stands for Oolite-trunk/.

In any case, and for the first run of your new installation, do not forget to flush the cache by holding the "Shift" key when starting Oolite (or Oolite-trunk).
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Smivs » Thu Mar 02, 2017 6:10 pm

No audio issues on startup.
I should mention that the game has frozen once in the last couple of days - not just the game but the computer, so it needed a force quit and restart. However I think this was down to the large quantities of fluff which had built up over months. On re-starting I noticed the CPU temp was 80+ degrees, so I shut it down again and cleaned it. It's much better now, so I can't blame Oolite for this :)
Despite the warnings the game is running fine, except for the asteroids which look a bit dark but they do not seem un-textured although I've not had a good look at one.

Edit:-
I think I might have found the problem.
The texture in question, 'oolite_asteroid_diffuse.png', seems to be corrupt in the Textures folder.

Image
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13617
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Cody » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:00 pm

The oolite_asteroid_diffuse.png seems fine in my Windows trunk install - bad in Linux only?

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Smivs » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:04 pm

Oddly, no.
I have just C&P'd the texture from the 1.84 install into the Trunk Textures folder and it's fine. No log errors :)
So problem solved (here at least).
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

Astrobe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 12:26 pm

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Astrobe » Sat Mar 04, 2017 6:39 pm

I had good results with generated planet textures by switching to 4096x496 and 2:1 aspect ratio, but then I (finally) noticed that the cloud layer isn't generated when shaders are on. Is it a work in progress?

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5394
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by another_commander » Sat Mar 04, 2017 8:04 pm

Not at the moment. The cloud layer is indeed gone when shader atmosphere is used. This is because there is only one atmosphere drawable entity availabe at this time. The drawable entity is either shader generated or an internal texture. One way to try to fix this could be to assign a second drawable entity for atmosphere, in order to end up having essentially two atmosphere layers: one texture generated (clouds) and one shader, with most likely some cost in performance of course. This is a plan which I have not put to test yet and am not sure when I will be able to try it.

User avatar
Redspear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1341
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:22 pm

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Redspear » Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:39 pm

another_commander wrote: The cloud layer is indeed gone when shader atmosphere is used.
I do like the new atmosphere effect but if I had to choose betwen the two then it would be the clouds that I'd favour.
"With our thoughts, we make the world" :-) - - - Game too slow for you? Masslock Compensators - - - Trouble getting out of trouble? Indestructible Injectors

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5394
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by another_commander » Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:52 pm

Redspear wrote:
Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:39 pm
I do like the new atmosphere effect but if I had to choose betwen the two then it would be the clouds that I'd favour.
You can still get the cloud effect by simply deleting (or renaming) the atmosphere fragment shader in the Shaders folder. This will cause a fallback to the previous way of doing atmospheres.

User avatar
Redspear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1341
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:22 pm

Re: Trunk nightly

Post by Redspear » Sun Mar 05, 2017 12:15 am

Thanks, I'll try it :)
"With our thoughts, we make the world" :-) - - - Game too slow for you? Masslock Compensators - - - Trouble getting out of trouble? Indestructible Injectors

Post Reply