Insane attack levels

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Re: Insane attack levels

Post by Frame »

Well. I think the games amount of Over Powered pirates that attack you are a tad much.

For my standard cobra 3 with no shield booster, beam laser, extra energy unit and so on
I cant even kill a Krait before the beam laser overheats. How on earth would someone
with a pulse laser be able to defend against anything (yes i do get jumped too alot
at the witchpoints with 2 to 3 Super-Kraits.

I cant even run away because usually they also got injectors.

IMO it is a tad much. :?
Bounty Scanner
Number 935

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13834
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Insane attack levels

Post by Cody »

Super-Krait? You mean Griff's chopped Krait? I think that OXP has a test script in it which needs removing.

User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Re: Insane attack levels

Post by Frame »

Cody wrote:Super-Krait? You mean Griff's chopped Krait? I think that OXP has a test script in it which needs removing.

nope, just the standard krait: role "light-pirate".

I usually get jumped 2 of these + one insane moray and a single sidewinder.

Even the Sidewinder has become remarkably resilient.

Actually it makes me want to code an Energy viewer so that i cant see what kind of nasties i'm up against.

Easy fast code, Tie it to the Beacon label that gets erased upon De-targeting if it had no previous beacon label.

I just finished a Distance code for the beacon label I also see that on your "Butchered" cockpit that you cannot release.

Anyway, IMO the standard pirates have become a tad to ûber 90% of times i get jumped by these in supposedly secure systems with cooperative governments.
Bounty Scanner
Number 935

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13834
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Insane attack levels

Post by Cody »

Frame wrote:I just finished a Distance code for the beacon label I also see that on your "Butchered" cockpit...
That's spara's Navigation MFD (I think that's what you're referring to), which I squashed into my instrument panel - very handy kit.

User avatar
Redspear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1488
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:22 pm

Re: Insane attack levels

Post by Redspear »

Frame wrote:Anyway, IMO the standard pirates have become a tad to ûber 90% of times i get jumped by these in supposedly secure systems with cooperative governments.
IIRC, each system's traffic is now influenced by nearby systems, so a corporate state with two anarchist neighbours is not as safe as it once was, possibly by some distance.
"With our thoughts, we make the world" :-) - - - Game too slow for you? Masslock Compensators - - - Trouble getting out of trouble? Indestructible Injectors

User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2560
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: Insane attack levels

Post by Norby »

Frame wrote:Energy viewer ... Distance code
[wiki]Detectors[/wiki], [wiki]Combat MFD[/wiki]?

User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Re: Insane attack levels

Post by Frame »

Norby wrote:[wiki]Combat MFD[/wiki]?
Sorry: not working. At least in oolite 1.82 for me.

it worked once and then stopped to work. I uninstalled the pack and reinstalled and it does still not work as in nothing shows up on the screen.

I installed distant suns to verify that oxzs do work, and they work fine. I checked that the file is there and i held down shift to flush the cache.

I'm getting some warnings about deprecations

Code: Select all

19:42:12.123 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTADER
19:42:12.123 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTAWEA
19:42:12.123 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTADAM
19:42:14.003 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTADER
19:42:14.003 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTAWEA
19:42:14.003 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTADAM
19:42:14.005 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTADER
19:42:14.006 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTAWEA
19:42:14.006 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTADAM
19:42:14.008 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTADER
19:42:14.008 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTAWEA
19:42:14.008 [oxp-standards.deprecated]: TL99 is deprecated for EQ_DTADAM
Cheers, IT is a cool oxp though, what i got to see of it.
Bounty Scanner
Number 935

User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2560
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: Insane attack levels

Post by Norby »

Frame wrote:
Norby wrote:[wiki]Combat MFD[/wiki]?
nothing shows up on the screen.
Working well at me, so:
-Is there a Combat MDF equipment listed in your ship (F5)?
-Are you tried to press ";" and ":" keys (the keys you have in oolite.app/Resources/Config/keyconfig.plist as key_cycle_mfd and key_switch_mfd) enough times to show up this MFD?
I assume your HUD is not an exotic old one without any MFDs defined.
The quoted deprecations has not any effect (just a reminder), thank you.

User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Re: Insane attack levels

Post by Frame »

Norby wrote:
Frame wrote:
Norby wrote:[wiki]Combat MFD[/wiki]?
nothing shows up on the screen.
Working well at me, so:
-Is there a Combat MDF equipment listed in your ship (F5)?
-Are you tried to press ";" and ":" keys (the keys you have in oolite.app/Resources/Config/keyconfig.plist as key_cycle_mfd and key_switch_mfd) enough times to show up this MFD?
I assume your HUD is not an exotic old one without any MFDs defined.
The quoted deprecations has not any effect (just a reminder), thank you.
It was a localisation issue. The keys listed are incorrect for my local Danish Keyboard. Special letters Æ and æ, must have hit it by mistake the first time around :).
So it works now.
Bounty Scanner
Number 935

Post Reply