Losing the keyboard on F12

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

User avatar
jh145
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by jh145 » Sun May 31, 2015 11:14 am

Could all respondents with Linux systems please type "uname -rvp" and post the results here (or PM me)? If you're willing to install "wmctrl" then please also give me the window manager name from the output of "wmctrl -m". Many thanks.

Code: Select all

Who         | Status | Window Mgr Name | System (the result of "uname -rvp")
------------+--------+-----------------+------------------------------------
cim         |   OK   | WindowMaker     | 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt9-3~deb8u1 (2015-04-24) unknown
Commander_X |   OK   | Compiz          | 3.10.17 #1 SMP Mon Aug 11 14:42:30 EDT 2014 AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight-Core Processor
Getafix     |   OK   | KWin            | 3.8.2 #1 SMP Tue Mar 12 03:43:27 AKDT 2013 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3320M CPU @ 2.60GHz
Getafix     |   OK   | Openbox         | 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt9-2 (2015-04-13) unknown
Getafix     |  buggy | Openbox         | 3.2.0-84-generic #121-Ubuntu SMP Tue May 5 18:55:46 UTC 2015 i686
Getafix     |  buggy | GNOME Shell     | 4.0.4-301.fc22.x86_64 #1 SMP Thu May 21 13:10:33 UTC 2015 x86_64
Getafix     |  buggy | Compiz          | 3.16.0-30-generic #40~14.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Thu Jan 15 17:43:14 UTC 2015 x86_64
jh145       |  buggy | Compiz          | 3.13.0-53-generic #89-Ubuntu SMP Wed May 20 10:34:39 UTC 2015 x86_64
kanthoney   |   OK   | KDE 4.4.3       | 2.6.33.4 #3 SMP Wed May 12 23:13:09 CDT 2010 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q9400  @ 2.66GHz
kanthoney   |   OK   | KDE 4.14.2      | 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt7-1 (2015-03-01) unknown
Norby       |   OK   | Metacity        | 3.7-trunk-686-pae #1 SMP Debian 3.7.1-1~experimental.2 unknown
Norby       |   OK   | Mutter (Muffin) | 3.13.0-24-generic #47-Ubuntu SMP Fri may 2 23:31:42 UTC 2014 i686
spara       |   OK   | Xfwm4           | 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt9-3~deb8u1 (2015-04-24) unknown
PS: I tried replacing my video driver from "X.Org X Server - AMD/ATI display driver wrapper from xserver-xorg-video-ati (open source, tested)" to "Video driver for the AMD graphics accelerators from fglrx (proprietary)". There was no difference.
Last edited by jh145 on Sun Jun 07, 2015 7:38 pm, edited 18 times in total.

User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4018
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by cim » Sun May 31, 2015 11:26 am

3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt9-3~deb8u1 (2015-04-24) unknown, unaffected.

It's probably also worth listing the window manager in use, as this may well be relevant: in my case, it's windowmaker.

User avatar
jh145
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by jh145 » Sun May 31, 2015 11:28 am

Thanks cim.

Is there a convenient way of finding out what window manager one is running?

Edit: ah, here:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/72549/ho ... is-running

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by kanthoney » Sun May 31, 2015 11:41 am

uname for my slackware system (wm is KDE 4.4.3) is:

Code: Select all

2.6.33.4 #3 SMP Wed May 12 23:13:09 CDT 2010 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q9400  @ 2.66GHz
The other system is Debian - I'll post a uname when I'm next on it.

User avatar
jh145
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by jh145 » Sun May 31, 2015 11:44 am

Five different systems, five different window managers! I think cim might be on to something.

Commander_X
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 278
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by Commander_X » Sun May 31, 2015 1:05 pm

jh145 wrote:Five different systems, five different window managers! I think cim might be on to something.
Just a pedantic observation: compiz itself is not a window manager (it comes bundled with 2 though, for gtk and kde toolkits -- they are called window-decorators; you can also replace them with other window managers, emerald being one of the most configurable options).
Wondering if Getafix is also running compiz with his (???) :wink: window manager. Compiz could also interfere with the OpenGL functionality.
EDIT:
For completness, I also don't get the bug:
- just compiled v.1.83
- uname -rvp:
3.10.17 #1 SMP Mon Aug 11 14:42:30 EDT 2014 AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight-Core Processor
- Latest.log graphics detection:
13:32:03.833 [rendering.opengl.version]: OpenGL renderer version: 4.4.0 ("4.4.0 NVIDIA 331.38"). Vendor: "NVIDIA Corporation". Renderer: "GeForce GTX 660/PCIe/SSE2".
- Slackware64 14.1 / Xfce4 / Compiz / Emerald
Last edited by Commander_X on Sun May 31, 2015 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by kanthoney » Sun May 31, 2015 1:15 pm

My Debian system is

Code: Select all

3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt7-1 (2015-03-01) unknown
Running KDE 4.14.2.

User avatar
jh145
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by jh145 » Sun May 31, 2015 1:44 pm

Commander_X wrote:Just a pedantic observation: compiz itself is not a window manager (it comes bundled with 2 though, for gtk and kde toolkits -- they are called window-decorators; you can also replace them with other window managers, emerald being one of the most configurable options).
Wondering if Getafix is also running compiz with his (???) :wink: window manager. Compiz could also interfere with the OpenGL functionality.
With Wikipedia describing Compiz as a "compositing window manager", I guess the jury's out on that one. Let's banish ambiguity and say that for this exercise we care about the "Name:" result from wmctrl -m .

Yes, I'm wondering what set-up Getafix will report, too ...!

EDIT: nooooo.... you're running Compiz without any bugs. Really? Is that what was reported by wmctrl -m ?

Commander_X
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 278
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by Commander_X » Sun May 31, 2015 1:57 pm

jh145 wrote: EDIT: nooooo.... you're running Compiz without any bugs. Really? Is that what was reported by wmctrl -m ?
I know for sure I'm running compiz as I compiled/installed most of its extras myself.

But here:
wmctrl -m
Name: compiz
Class: N/A
PID: N/A
Window manager's "showing the desktop" mode: OFF

User avatar
jh145
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by jh145 » Sun May 31, 2015 3:09 pm

Damn it. Well then I'm stuck. Whatever's causing the bug is by no means obvious :(

Commander_X
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 278
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by Commander_X » Sun May 31, 2015 3:15 pm

jh145 wrote: With Wikipedia describing Compiz as a "compositing window manager", I guess the jury's out on that one.
Just to come to my defense on this one, this is taken from http://www.compiz.org 's homepage:
What is Compiz ?

(taken from Compiz README)

Compiz is an OpenGL compositing manager that use GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap for binding redirected top-level windows to texture objects. It has a flexible plug-in system and it is designed to run well on most graphics hardware.

Okay, this description isn’t really meaningful. In a nutshell, Compiz is a compositing manager, which means that it enhances the overall user interaction by adding fancy effects to your windows, from drop shadows to awesome desktop effects like the Desktop Cube or the Expo view.
Compiz can also be a window manager, which means that it is the software between you and your desktop apps. It enables you to move or resize windows, to switch workspaces, to switch windows easily (using alt-tab or so), and so on.
I guess I forgot the fact that I'm running it with the "--replace" option, thus as a window manager as well.

User avatar
jh145
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by jh145 » Sun May 31, 2015 3:21 pm

Commander_X wrote:I guess I forgot the fact that I'm running it with the "--replace" option, thus as a window manager as well.
I could say that I had made no such mistake, having hacked into your computer to verify for myself your use of Compiz as a window manager ... but no need to be mischievous :twisted:

It looks like you know more than most about window systems. Can you think of anything else we might check in the logs, config files, etc that would differentiate set-ups that exhibit the bug from those that don't?

Commander_X
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 278
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by Commander_X » Sun May 31, 2015 3:38 pm

jh145 wrote:I could say that I had made no such mistake, having hacked into your computer to verify for myself your use of Compiz as a window manager ...
So that's why my nice theme started to behave wrong, then ...?! :shock:
I'm not sure I know more than most, but what you are describing seems more of a driver or driver setting issue. You could check with another SDL/OpenGL game and see if you have the same behavior.
It can also be a Compiz setting that's giving you the trouble -- I think there are some full screen application settings that might count.

User avatar
jh145
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by jh145 » Sun May 31, 2015 3:52 pm

Are you running unity? If so, what does your /etc/compizconfig/unity.ini look like? Mine's:

Code: Select all

[core]
s0_active_plugins = core;composite;opengl;copytex;compiztoolbox;vpswitch;snap;mousepoll;resize;place;move;wall;grid;regex;imgpng;session;animation;fade;unitymtgrabhandles;workarounds;scale;expo;ezoom;commands;unityshell
I haven't dared edit this (yet).

User avatar
spara
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2553
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:19 am
Location: Finland

Re: Losing the keyboard on F12

Post by spara » Sun May 31, 2015 5:17 pm

Code: Select all

3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt9-3~deb8u1 (2015-04-24) unknown

Code: Select all

Name: Xfwm4
Class: xfwm4
PID: 1261
Window manager's "showing the desktop" mode: N/A

Post Reply