[Solved] shaders not available...

For discussion of ports to POSIX based systems, especially using GNUStep.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton » Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:47 pm

Curiouser and curiouser. I’d still like to see Oolite’s [rendering.opengl.extensions] output to see if it differs.

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy » Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:53 pm

@Ahruman - I hope this is what you wanted from Latest.log (everybody's help with this is much appreciated).

Code: Select all

Renderer: GeForce FX 5900XT/AGP/SSE/3DNOW!
[rendering.opengl.extensions]: OpenGL extensions (74):
GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_fragment_program GL_ARB_fragment_program_shadow GL_A
RB_imaging GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_point_parameters GL
_ARB_point_sprite GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_texture_compr
ession GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
 GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_texture_rectangle
 GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_window_pos GL_EXT_abgr GL_
EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_func_separate GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EX
T_blend_subtract GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_multi_draw_a
rrays GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_paletted_texture GL_EXT_point_parameters GL_EX
T_rescale_normal GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_sh
adow_funcs GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_EXT_texture3D GL
_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp GL_EXT_texture_env_add G
L_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotro
pic GL_EXT_texture_lod GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_object GL_EXT_text
ure_rectangle GL_EXT_vertex_array GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_
repeat GL_INGR_blend_func_separate GL_NV_blend_square GL_NV_copy_depth_to_color 
GL_NV_depth_clamp GL_NV_fog_distance GL_NV_fragment_program_option GL_NV_light_m
ax_exponent GL_NV_multisample_filter_hint GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_
compression_vtc GL_NV_texture_env_combine4 GL_NV_texture_rectangle GL_NV_vertex_
program2_option GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_SGIS_texture_border_clamp GL_SGIS_tex
ture_edge_clamp GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_SGIX_depth_texture GL_SGIX_shadow GL_SUN_
multi_draw_arrays GL_SUN_slice_accum 
[rendering.opengl.shader.support]: Shaders will not be used (OpenGL extension GL
_ARB_shading_language_100 is not available).
Is it me or does there appear to be a discrepancy between what is in glxinfo and Latest.log over this GL_ARB_shading_language_100 file?
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy » Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:04 pm

Getafix wrote:If you mean that you had shaders with 1.72, then please do the following :idea:

Code: Select all

sudo rm /usr/lib/Oolite/oolite-deps/lib/libGL*
If this still does not fix your shaders issue, then install Oolite1.72 again, and post the result.
I have PM you the setup in case you do not have it.
I have full shaders again!!!!! :D

Hooray!

Any explanation of exactly what happened - just curious!!

EDIT: Better half is hovering - she wants to do important RL stuff again. More later...
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton » Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:12 pm

DaddyHoggy wrote:Is it me or does there appear to be a discrepancy between what is in glxinfo and Latest.log over this GL_ARB_shading_language_100 file?
In point of fact, there are 38 extensions missing in Oolite’s list. (I haven’t bothered to identify them all, but they include two others related to shader support.) I’m also curious about Getafix’s explanation. :-)

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:04 pm

Three libraries were missing from the package,
while three other should not be in the package. :oops:

The issue with Daddy's shaders, was caused by the libGL and
libGLU libraries which came from my system and were depending
on my graphics card. :roll:

I have prepared the correct package. I decided to call it
"oolite-1.72.2.x86.v2.package" to distinguish it from the one already released.

It has been successfully tested on clean installations of Ubuntu 8.04 and 7.10.

I will PM Ahruman the url from where he can retrieve the new package.
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:20 pm

M’kay, but for reference, you’re authorized to make releases yourself. This is good because it saves me the fiddling. ;-)

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:22 pm

This is just to point out that as soon as "oolite-1.72.2.x86.v2.package" is made
available, you should install it, even if the first version, seemed to work fine. :!:
The first version will be automatically be removed by autopackage.

My apologies for all the inconvenience and the confusion caused.
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:26 pm

OK. I will release it as oolite-1.72.2.1.x86.package
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:28 pm

Too late! Ahahahahaha!

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:54 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol:
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:32 pm

@DaddyHoggy
If this is resolved, please, edit your first post subject to "shaders not available... (SOLVED)".
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy » Sun Feb 01, 2009 3:17 pm

It would seem that I do not have to. How is the new power? :wink:
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:28 pm

It feels like Mickey in The Sorcerer's Apprentice (Disney's Fantasia). 8)
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy » Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:30 pm

:) Dah Dah, diddly da da, diddly da da...

Wonderful thing Fantasia - that and the Blue Danube from 2001 introduced me to Classical music - and then I discovered my dad had a fantastic collection of LPs - loved the classics ever since.
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
Jiawen
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 6:14 am

Post by Jiawen » Fri May 07, 2010 6:58 am

I'm having same problem as DaddyHoggy; the Shaders option line is greyed out. I'm using Ubuntu 8.04 and Oolite 1.73.4-0. Here's the relevant output:
rachel@rachel-desktop:/usr/lib$ glxinfo | grep OpenGL
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce3/AGP/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 1.5.8 NVIDIA 96.43.05
OpenGL extensions:
rachel@rachel-desktop:/usr/lib$ glxinfo | grep direct
direct rendering: Yes
Does this mean I won't be able to get full shaders? It's still prettier than 1.65, but I'd love to be able to get all those lovely lighting effects.

Hope this kind of thread necromancy is okay here. :oops:

Post Reply