How to build Oolite source on Ubuntu

For discussion of ports to POSIX based systems, especially using GNUStep.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

Post Reply
KEE
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am

Post by KEE » Wed May 19, 2010 12:01 pm

hi Oolite doesnt launch any more. it worked the first time but i had to delete it because i was messing up the files by installing the expansions wrong. please help

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Wed May 19, 2010 12:21 pm

Hi KEE and welcome to this board.

Could you, please, be a bit more specific on your situation?
The following information will be usefull to understand the case:
oolite version...
installation method (e.g. .package, .deb, build from source etc.)...
Linux distro...
Architecture (e.g. 32bit, 64bit)...
What did you delete?
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

KEE
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am

Post by KEE » Wed May 19, 2010 12:31 pm

Getafix wrote:Hi KEE and welcome to this board.

Could you, please, be a bit more specific on your situation?
The following information will be usefull to understand the case:
oolite version...
installation method (e.g. .package, .deb, build from source etc.)...
Linux distro...
Architecture (e.g. 32bit, 64bit)...
What did you delete?
here is what happened

Code: Select all

ops@ops:~/Oolite-dev/1.73-maintenance$ oolite.app/oolite
Segmentation fault
ops@ops:~/Oolite-dev/1.73-maintenance$
im using what i followed here =) 10.04. i deleted the ~/Oolite-dev/* and ~/.Oolite/* and ~/Oolite-saves/* and reinstalled it

KEE
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am

Post by KEE » Wed May 19, 2010 12:55 pm

seems it works on another logon but not the one i installed it on =S whats up? same file im using to run the game just a different logon ?

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Wed May 19, 2010 1:01 pm

-- Getafix is trying to replicate the case.
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

KEE
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am

Post by KEE » Wed May 19, 2010 1:06 pm

Getafix wrote:-- Getafix is trying to replicate the case.
O ok well that didnt work for long =( the game crashed after i put it to full screen. any ideas?I suspose i could just make another logon to play the game again. how would you reduce the screen settings using terminal?

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Wed May 19, 2010 1:18 pm

In the .GNUstepDefaults have the 'fullscreen' value changed to 'NO':

Code: Select all

...
fullscreen = NO;
...
window_height = <*I412>;
window_width = <*I640>;
...
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

KEE
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am

Post by KEE » Wed May 19, 2010 1:26 pm

Getafix wrote:In the .GNUstepDefaults have the 'fullscreen' value changed to 'NO':

Code: Select all

...
fullscreen = NO;
...
window_height = <*I412>;
window_width = <*I640>;
...
ya cant find that .GNUstepDefaults file. why wouldnt I have that i wonder. do you know where the directory is?

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Wed May 19, 2010 1:31 pm

~/GNUstep/Defaults/.GNUstepDefaults :)
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

KEE
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am

Post by KEE » Wed May 19, 2010 1:33 pm

Getafix wrote:~/GNUstep/Defaults/.GNUstepDefaults :)
nope, i got the folder but nothing in it...seems like something didnt not install properly

KEE
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am

Post by KEE » Wed May 19, 2010 1:37 pm

never mind it was hidden there had to ctrl+h it. is there any way to get this full screen working? it was working when I first started it

KEE
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am

Post by KEE » Wed May 19, 2010 1:41 pm

Thanks Getafix ;) its working now

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Wed May 19, 2010 1:48 pm

I just performed the instructions of the first post on Ubuntu 10.04. It works fine.

I suspect you have not properly cleaned your first installation before performing the second. I recommend to
a. keep a copy of your AddOns and oolite-saves
b. force remove of oolite folders.

Code: Select all

$ cd
$ rm -rf Oolite-dev
$ rm -rf .Oolite
$ rm -rf oolite-saves
$ rm -f GNUstep/Defaults/.GNUstepDefaults
$ rm -f GNUstep/Library/Caches/Oolite-cache.plist
and perform the steps from the beginning.

The only correction that I had to do is change line 27 of Makefile from:

Code: Select all

GNUSTEP_MAKEFILES=/usr/share/GNUstep/Makefiles
to

Code: Select all

# GNUSTEP_MAKEFILES=/usr/share/GNUstep/Makefiles
then I just executed

Code: Select all

make -f Makefile release
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Post by Getafix » Wed May 19, 2010 1:49 pm

:D
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

KEE
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am

Post by KEE » Wed May 19, 2010 3:24 pm

Getafix wrote:I just performed the instructions of the first post on Ubuntu 10.04. It works fine.

I suspect you have not properly cleaned your first installation before performing the second. I recommend to
a. keep a copy of your AddOns and oolite-saves
b. force remove of oolite folders.

Code: Select all

$ cd
$ rm -rf Oolite-dev
$ rm -rf .Oolite
$ rm -rf oolite-saves
$ rm -f GNUstep/Defaults/.GNUstepDefaults
$ rm -f GNUstep/Library/Caches/Oolite-cache.plist
and perform the steps from the beginning.

The only correction that I had to do is change line 27 of Makefile from:

Code: Select all

GNUSTEP_MAKEFILES=/usr/share/GNUstep/Makefiles
to

Code: Select all

# GNUSTEP_MAKEFILES=/usr/share/GNUstep/Makefiles
then I just executed

Code: Select all

make -f Makefile release
that doesnt work. it broke again after i did that change ops@ops:~/Oolite-dev/1.73-maintenance$ oolite.app/oolite
^[[BSegmentation fault
ops@ops:~/Oolite-dev/1.73-maintenance$

Post Reply