Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 188 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 1013 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 4:02 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am
Posts: 25
something is very wrong with this game. Iam probability just going use the one in the repository's. i cant it no bigger then this...lol cant even show you here urls are blocked lol...anyway nice try appreciated


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 4:21 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am
Posts: 25
what s the annoying part is that .GNUstepDefaults keeps changing the width and height and cause it to crash =/ i think anyway. no way to tell i guess


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 8:31 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am
Posts: 25
does this conflicts with wow? seems im running really slow in the graphics department when i installed this game


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 6:45 am 
Online
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Posts: 850
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Since 1.73.4 is what you need why don't you install
the .package (32bit or 64bit) or the .deb 32bit setup?

_________________
Xubuntu 14.04LTS / Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz - 6GB DDR2 - Palit GeForce GTX 750 Ti StormX Dual (2048MB DDR5)
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 1:36 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Posts: 2988
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Quote:
does this conflicts with wow?
World of Warcraft? Why would you run Oolite and WoW at the same time?

_________________
JazHaz

Quote:
Quote:
£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 9:42 pm 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 8501
Location: Newbury, UK
Quote:
Quote:
does this conflicts with wow?
World of Warcraft? Why would you run Oolite and WoW at the same time?
I thought KEE was imply that since he'd installed Oolite, WoW is running slowly (or vice versa - not really sure) - I don't think he meant he was running both simultaneously

_________________
Quote:
Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 9:57 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 10:43 pm
Posts: 1262
Location: Berlin
You lot dont know about WooW.oxp that allows you to play WoW on the F7 screen?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 7:38 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 815
Location: London, UK
I can confirm that building plain old 1.73-maintenance works as expected on my Lucid laptop:
Code:
$ svn co http://svn.berlios.de/svnroot/repos/oolite-linux/branches/1.73-maintenance
$ cd 1.73-maintenance
$ make -f Makefile release
$ oolite.app/oolite
No segfault or other crashes.

On a brand-new install of lucid, of course one would first have to install all the relevant development packages, as outlined in the first post of this thread.


As others have said, unless you want to make some personal tweaks to the game, why don't you just try the precompiled binaries?

_________________
The glass is twice as big as it needs to be.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 1:44 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:37 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Adirondack Mountains
Hopefully I'm not confusing the issue... but 64 bit Lucid is having some problems with Nvidia drivers and the xserver. I had to disable them on my wife's desktop for now because they would crash the xserver whenever the display settings would be changed, like during login. I would imagine this would also hold true when changing window sizes too as both games use 3d graphics. Have had three Nvidia driver updates so far this month but I don't know if they've got it fixed yet. Not yet ready to listen to her if her computer crashes again so she's still on 2d graphics.

_________________
Shoot first and pick up the goodies later...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 11:23 pm 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 8501
Location: Newbury, UK
Quote:
Hopefully I'm not confusing the issue... but 64 bit Lucid is having some problems with Nvidia drivers and the xserver. I had to disable them on my wife's desktop for now because they would crash the xserver whenever the display settings would be changed, like during login. I would imagine this would also hold true when changing window sizes too as both games use 3d graphics. Have had three Nvidia driver updates so far this month but I don't know if they've got it fixed yet. Not yet ready to listen to her if her computer crashes again so she's still on 2d graphics.
I had that on Gutsy when it first came out - I could log on - but it would crash out of xserver if we switched user (my wife preferred a different screen res to me) - shame if this kind of problem has come back.

_________________
Quote:
Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:59 am 
Online
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Posts: 850
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Firts post has been updated following to build options update (Micha, r3448) and to warn about 1.19.1 > gnustep < trunk(1.21.1) XML bug.

_________________
Xubuntu 14.04LTS / Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz - 6GB DDR2 - Palit GeForce GTX 750 Ti StormX Dual (2048MB DDR5)
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 3:48 am 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am
Posts: 25
yeah that was an update that broke the nvida drivers or something...im getting the in 1.74...whats it mean?
Code:
 $cd ~/1.74-maintenance
:~/1.74-maintenance# make -f Makefile release
make -f GNUmakefile debug=no
make[1]: Entering directory `~/1.74-maintenance'
GNUmakefile:1: /common.make: No such file or directory
GNUmakefile:284: /objc.make: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `/objc.make'.  Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `~/1.74-maintenance'
make: *** [release] Error 2

_________________
the only thing more accurate than incoming enemy fire is
incoming friendly fire.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 6:29 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 815
Location: London, UK
That means you haven't sourced your "GNUstep.sh" before trying to compile.

On Debian/Ubuntu, this file is, by default, in /usr/share/GNUstep/Makefiles.

See step 1.2 of the first post.

_________________
The glass is twice as big as it needs to be.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 7:59 am 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:53 am
Posts: 25
Quote:
That means you haven't sourced your "GNUstep.sh" before trying to compile.

On Debian/Ubuntu, this file is, by default, in /usr/share/GNUstep/Makefiles.

See step 1.2 of the first post.
O ok
Code:
cp ~/.bashrc /usr/share/GNUstep/Makefiles/GNUstep.sh
Code:
In file included from src/Core/OOAsyncWorkManager.m:33:
src/Core/OONSOperation.h:14:43: error: #if with no expression
make[3]: *** [obj/OOAsyncWorkManager.m.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [internal-objc_program-all_] Error 2
make[1]: *** [oolite.all.objc-program.variables] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `~/Oolite-dev/1.74-maintenance'
make: *** [release] Error 2
~/Oolite-dev/1.74-maintenance$ 

_________________
the only thing more accurate than incoming enemy fire is
incoming friendly fire.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:25 pm 
Online
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Posts: 850
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
First post has been updated for 1.74.1-test release.

_________________
Xubuntu 14.04LTS / Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz - 6GB DDR2 - Palit GeForce GTX 750 Ti StormX Dual (2048MB DDR5)
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 188 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 1013 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited