Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:55 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 7:15 pm 
Offline
Average
Average

Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:25 pm
Posts: 8
Hi evrybody, I got a problem:

roughly a year ago I managed, with the help of Diziet Sma, to install Oolite 1.80 under Ubuntu 14.04. Somehow - I do not remember exactly how - I upgraded to 1.82 and since then I encounter some bugs: the cloaking device does not cloak my ship (but takes the energy as if it would) and the advanced space compass is not able to switch between the objects.
So I decided to deinstall the upgraded version and to try to install 1.82 new, but how do I do this?
I tried some procedures with the terminal, but somehow the terminal does not find the installed version and tells me: Ooolite is not installed and can't be removed.

Another question: In older Versions I used to make some changes in the key configuration by copying the keyconfig.plist into the add-ons folder and do the changes, as is told in the wiki. Is this still possible? If so, I'm doing something wrong, because it doesn't work this way.

Any help is highly appreciated! thx in advance,

Crown Home


Last edited by Getafix on Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Marked as "Solved"


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 7:22 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 12919
Location: Corke's Drift
Hi...
Quote:
In older Versions I used to make some changes in the key configuration by copying the keyconfig.plist into the add-ons folder and do the changes, as is told in the wiki. Is this still possible?
... yes, this should still work. You put the keyconfig.plist into a Config folder within AddOns, yes?
As for the rest, I'm a Windows person, so cannot help. Hopefully, a Penguinista will be along later.

_________________
The only good fnord is a dead fnord!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 9:59 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm
Posts: 281
If you've installed Oolite in your home directory, it'll be in the ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite directory, and you should be able to uninstall it by running ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite/uninstall. If you've installed it systemwide, it'll be in /opt/Oolite and you uninstall it by running /opt/Oolite/uninstall.

Then download Oolite from http://oolite.org/download/. Unpack the tar file which will contain a single file with a .run extension. Make this executable and run it to install Oolite.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 2:41 am 
Offline
Average
Average

Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:25 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks a lot cody and thanks a lot kanthoney! :) :)

I managed to deinstall and reinstall Oolite, and managed to adapt the keyconfig.plist. Unfortunately the problem with the advanced space compass is still there: It doesn't switch through the objects it should show. Other changes I made in key configuration are working well. Is this a known bug? Or am I overlooking something very simple?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 2:49 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 12919
Location: Corke's Drift
Quote:
Is this a known bug?
Not that I'm aware of.

_________________
The only good fnord is a dead fnord!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 12:20 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:16 pm
Posts: 169
Did you check your equipment list (F5) -- it might need some repairing ...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:42 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5016
There is no bug with the ASC in 1.82. A couple of possible causes of appearing as if not working:
1. (Just to get the obvious out of the way first): Is the ASC installed and not damaged?
2. In the most probable case of yes to the above, it may be an issue with the key assigned to it. Due to the way SDL keyboard input handling works, UK (or even other international) keyboards may have a problem with the default '\' key and may actually respond to '#' instead. In any case, you may want to allocate a key like 'k', 'l' or one of the other unused keys to the ASC. This should make it work without problems also on UK keyboards.
3. Some OXP interference. Just start a Strict Mode game, which will disable OXPs and try using the ASC again.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 8:03 pm 
Offline
Average
Average

Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:25 pm
Posts: 8
Thank you so much!
Quote:
2. In the most probable case of yes to the above, it may be an issue with the key assigned to it. Due to the way SDL keyboard input handling works, UK (or even other international) keyboards may have a problem with the default '\' key and may actually respond to '#' instead.
Yes, it was an issue with the key. As a matter of fact, I'm using a german keyboard and neither "\" nor "#" works. Now I allocated "L" and everything is fine.
Thank you again and best greetings!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited