Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:37 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:19 pm
Posts: 647
Location: Well, I WAS in G3...
Worked like a charm! Thanks, Norby!

_________________
Got all turned around, lost my nav connection... Where am I now?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 2:33 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 1:30 am
Posts: 403
It's time for my annual Christmas laptop reimaging. This year I'm going to give Linux Mint 17.3 a try. Initial experience has been great - the show stopping hardware glitches that I encountered a couple of years ago are no longer there. Haven't ditched Windows completely - I'll still be running Windows VMs to take care of scanning and running some Windows-only software that I have (trading software). (Needless to say, my E:D Cobra III has been parked indefinitely).

The big surprise for me is the huge lack of fiddling around I need to endue to get a working system. All the apps I need are either installed or are simply an 'apt-get install' away.

I've got Oolite up and running too, decided to try out a 'Broke Adder' start. I would like to set up my OXZ development environment, i.e. an installation that contains only under-development OXZs.

I know you can install Oolite in your Home and System-wide, but is it possible to specify an alternate location using the installer? Is there another way to set up an alternate instance of Oolite?

_________________
Commander Bugbear
Cruising chart 5 in a Boa Class Criuser: Quantum Pelican I
Vigilante, trader, gems and precious metals hoarder.
Black Monks bothering performed at no extra charge.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:38 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2388
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
is it possible to specify an alternate location using the installer?
Is there another way to set up an alternate instance of Oolite?
Yes, the --target switch of the run script do this, there is an example in the last post of the previous page in this topic.

Another way if you install into your home then move the ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite folder to the place where you want and make a launcher icon to the oolite script within. I made many similar folders within Applications for different versions and works fine.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 3:43 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 1:30 am
Posts: 403
Thanks for the tip Norby - I didn't notice that last post on the previous page. :oops:

_________________
Commander Bugbear
Cruising chart 5 in a Boa Class Criuser: Quantum Pelican I
Vigilante, trader, gems and precious metals hoarder.
Black Monks bothering performed at no extra charge.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:30 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 1:30 am
Posts: 403
OK, so I don't think that I'm getting the behaviour I was expecting.

When I use the --target install parameter, all it is doing (that I can see) is installing the Resources folder to my specified location. This doesn't seem to have any effect on the location of the AddOns or the ManagedAddOns folders (both of which remain located under the default ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite folder).

I made a copy of both the ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite and ~/GNUstep/Library/ApplicationSupport/Oolite folders, and created a menu shortcut that pointed to ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite_DEV/oolite. I also edited the ../Oolite_Dev/oolite script so that it launched ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite_DEV/oolite.app/oolite-wrapper

After all that I'm still finding that default ManagedAddOns folder is being loaded rather than the 'dev' ManagedAddOns folder.

I'm getting the feeling I'm going about this the wrong way. What I'm after is one instance of Oolite that includes the various OXZs that I have selected for normal play, and a second instance of Oolite that only includes OXZs that are currently under development or testing.

(Admins - if you feel that this topic should be split to a new thread, feel free).

_________________
Commander Bugbear
Cruising chart 5 in a Boa Class Criuser: Quantum Pelican I
Vigilante, trader, gems and precious metals hoarder.
Black Monks bothering performed at no extra charge.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 2:20 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:16 pm
Posts: 159
(Disclaimer: I'm mainly running self builds of trunk on Linux -- no install -- but *with* different sets of AddOns managed by my own oolite-wrapper. Also my exposure to the ManagedAddOns is zero because I'm always manually managing my AddOns -- you may call it a Slackware old habit).
Quote:
This doesn't seem to have any effect on the location of the AddOns or the ManagedAddOns folders (both of which remain located under the default ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite folder).
The safest AddOns location to mess with should be ~/.Oolite/AddOns. I'm actually soft linking it to my Windows various AddOns folders (for visuals, some shader studies, Random Hits)
Quote:
I'm getting the feeling I'm going about this the wrong way. What I'm after is one instance of Oolite that includes the various OXZs that I have selected for normal play, and a second instance of Oolite that only includes OXZs that are currently under development or testing.
You can always prepare your own sets of AddOns/ManagedAddOns folders (e.g. AddOns.Normal/ManagedAddOns.Normal, AddOns.Dev/ManagedAddOns.Dev) located at your convenience in the filesystem, and link them to the desired location in your wrapper script during startup (oh, and yada-yada, either Shift start or do the same with the cache and any other GNUstep configuration files you might want adapted).
Hope this helps.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:52 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2388
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
The Oolite/AddOns folder is used by this installation only so good to hold manually placed .oxp folders and .oxz files. For the manager you either use Bugbear's way and replace symlinks in a starter script or use the manager with one of your installation only and handle others manually.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited