Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

News and discussion of the PC port of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Cody »

Will the trunk nightlies update at a certain time (roughly) each night (as before)?

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5454
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by another_commander »

Getafix can confirm, but I believe that the generating script launches at 05:00 CET.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Cody »

<nods> Another question: do the Devs need/want all error reports on trunk (1.79), and if so where? A specific thread in bug reports, yes?

Duggan
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 487
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:58 pm

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Duggan »

Forget all I said.. :) I am pretty sure I have found my happy medium.

Code: Select all

{
	key_yaw_left				= 253;		// left arrow
	key_yaw_right				= 252;		// right arrow
	key_pitch_forward			= 255;		// up arrow
	key_pitch_back				= 254;		// down arrow
	key_roll_left				= ",";
	key_roll_right				= ".";
When I first began playing Oolite, it seemed counter intuitive to not have the yaw left and right where the roll left and right is i.e.either side of the up and down arrows.(a personal preference , I am sure, as no one else seems to have raised this point before)

A situation for me that is now remedied.
Flying Python Class Cruiser, Chapter & Verse IV

User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4018
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by cim »

Cody wrote:<nods> Another question: do the Devs need/want all error reports on trunk (1.79), and if so where? A specific thread in bug reports, yes?
Since it doesn't give any errors when I play it (at least by the time the changes get committed) yes please, definitely.

Either in the testing/bug reports forum, or issues on Github, is fine.

In terms of "testing" rather than "bug reports", feedback on the new system population, AI, etc. would be very much appreciated, once people have had time to try that out for a while.

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Getafix »

another_commander wrote:Getafix can confirm, but I believe that the generating script launches at 05:00 CET.
Not confirmed. :P
It now launches at 03:00am CET.
I had to move it two hours earlier.
All the servers-synchronization takes much longer; the file sizes have increased.

However, please, consider that this is still work in progress,
therefore, some glitches are expected until it is stabilized. :oops:

EDIT: For example this morning the nightly pages (except the Mac ones :mrgreen: ) had no changelog and the linux 64bit was crippled. Now it is fixed, though.
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Cody »

Getafix wrote:For example this morning the nightly pages [snip] had no changelog and the linux 64bit was crippled. Now it is fixed, though.
I had one truncated download of the Win x64 nightly this morning - but no trouble with the second attempt. Very pleased to have it, I am!

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Getafix »

Cody wrote:I had one truncated download of the Win x64 nightly this morning...
Ooops!
That was me rushing into cleaning up the download folder as soon as the new version was uploaded.
Apologies! Next time I'll wait for at least an hour before cleaning it up.
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Cody »

Absolutely no need to apologise, amigo... muchas gracias!

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Getafix »

Getafix wrote:... EDIT: For example this morning the nightly pages (except the Mac ones :mrgreen: ) had no changelog and the linux 64bit was crippled. Now it is fixed, though...
Well... not THAT much fixed... same issue today. :?
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Getafix »

another_commander wrote:...Note that the nightlies are now built as Win x64 binaries. This is because we want to give as much testing as possible to the newly introduced x64 versions. 32-bit nightly binaries might become available at a later time, but not at this moment...
This moment was closer than expected. :wink:


Getafix wrote:
Getafix wrote:... EDIT: For example this morning the nightly pages (except the Mac ones :mrgreen: ) had no changelog and the linux 64bit was crippled. Now it is fixed, though...
Well... not THAT much fixed... same issue today. :?
It also seems that, following some fixes, the whole nightly system is more stabilized now. :D
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Cody »

Getafix wrote:This moment was closer than expected.
Great! I've been trying to get a modified hud to work in Oolite Trunk x64, and now I can try the x32 version too. Thank you, sir!

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Getafix »

Well... I wouldn't get too frisky, yet...

I got an OpenGL exception on WinXP 32bit virtual machine
while on a Win 7 64bit (always talking about the oolite 32bit) it seems fine.
I hope that it is a "virtual" exception caused by the crippled virtual machine's graphics virtual card.
(however, oolite 1.77.1 doesn't show this issue... hmmm... :? )

Waiting for someone with a real 32bit Windows to check.
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Cody »

Getafix wrote:Waiting for someone with a real 32bit Windows to check.
Sorry, I'm 64bit - but the x32 version has helped me (I think). Whereas before, the modified hud was crashing Oolite x64, it now only locks Oolite x32 briefly - and it's left me an error message, which it didn't with the x64 version. I'm only a dumb pilot, and my brain hurts. <scratches head>

User avatar
Tricky
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 821
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 11:12 pm
Location: Bradford, UK. (Anarchic)

Re: Oolite Windows - Trunk nightly builds

Post by Tricky »

Getafix wrote:Waiting for someone with a real 32bit Windows to check.
I'm using Vista Pro on a 32bit machine, OpenGL renderer version: 3.3.0 ("3.3.0"). Vendor: "NVIDIA Corporation". Renderer: "GeForce 8600M GS/PCIe/SSE2".

Not had any problems so far.

Post Reply