Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 3:34 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:02 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 967
Location: Essex (mainly industrial and occasionally anarchic)
Works well here too. Log is clean. Good work!

EDIT: Actually, no. The second time I ran it (without starting with <shift>), I got a 'ooliteDeployment.exe has stop working message from my Windows 8. (And the same goes for the third time I ran it, this time with <shift> again.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:36 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 4976
Quote:
EDIT: Actually, no. The second time I ran it (without starting with <shift>), I got a 'ooliteDeployment.exe has stop working message from my Windows 8. (And the same goes for the third time I ran it, this time with <shift> again.
Do you have any logs from the times that it failed, including any stderr.txt remains? Did it succeed starting again after the second crash attempt? Is the crash reproducible with a specific set of OXPs and if yes, which one?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:42 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 967
Location: Essex (mainly industrial and occasionally anarchic)
@another_commander:

ah, sorry, false alarm - and I didn't realise I'd actually posted that. I was causing the problem - by having the 'start in' text of the oolite exe still set to the 32-bit version. The lesson is: make a new shortcut! Since I've done that, everything has been fine.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 11:18 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:42 pm
Posts: 144
Location: London, UK
Works well here:

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
8GB RAM
Intel Core i7 2.93GHz
GPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX460 768MB

One observation, though, in case it matters. On the "Select Commander" screen, it appears that the 64-bit oolite.exe uses the original oolite.app\oolite-saves folder by default, whereas the ooliteDeployment.exe looks in oolite_x64.app\oolite-saves (unless I've done something odd to confuse matters). You can easily see which has been selected from the "Hold Ctrl and press Return to open parent folder" message at the bottom of the screen.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 12:27 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:58 pm
Posts: 462
In actuality I have adopted this experimental version as my main operational version of Oolite as it makes sense to have a 64 bit version for a 64 bit machine. :)

_________________
Flying Python Class Cruiser, Chapter & Verse IV


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 12:52 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:45 am
Posts: 170
I've tried the 64 bit oolite.exe (not sure what the ooliteDeployment.exe is) and it works well on:

Windows 7 professional SP1
Intel i7 3770K
8 gb memory
Nvidia GTX 560Ti

Only issue (which may be a coincidence but not seen it before) is the error in the log file:

13:20:25.288 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'GLOBAL' receives message 'COLLISION'. Context: unspecified, stack depth: 0
13:20:25.288 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'GLOBAL' receives message 'COLLISION'. Context: unspecified, stack depth: 0
13:20:25.289 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'GLOBAL' receives message 'COLLISION'. Context: unspecified, stack depth: 0
13:20:25.289 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'GLOBAL' receives message 'COLLISION'. Context: unspecified, stack depth: 0
13:20:25.289 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'GLOBAL' receives message 'COLLISION'. Context: unspecified, stack depth: 0
13:20:28.023 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setStateTo: SETUP_FLIGHT
13:20:28.023 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'GLOBAL' receives message 'EXIT'. Context: changing state, stack depth: 1
13:20:28.023 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'SETUP_FLIGHT' receives message 'ENTER'. Context: changing state, stack depth: 1
13:20:28.023 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setDesiredRangeTo: 3000000.0
13:20:28.023 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setTargetToRandomStation
13:20:28.024 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action rollD: 10
13:20:28.024 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'SETUP_FLIGHT' receives message 'ROLL_2'. Context: rollD:, stack depth: 2
13:20:28.024 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'SETUP_FLIGHT' receives message 'STATION_FOUND'. Context: handling deferred message, stack depth: 0
13:20:28.024 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setDesiredRangeTo: 10000.0
13:20:28.024 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setDestinationToTarget
13:20:28.024 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setStateTo: HEAD_FOR_RANDOMSTATION
13:20:28.024 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'SETUP_FLIGHT' receives message 'EXIT'. Context: changing state, stack depth: 1
13:20:28.024 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'HEAD_FOR_RANDOMSTATION' receives message 'ENTER'. Context: changing state, stack depth: 1
13:20:28.024 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setTargetToLastStation
13:20:28.024 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setDesiredRangeTo: 10000.0
13:20:28.024 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setDestinationToTarget
13:20:28.024 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action checkCourseToDestination
13:20:28.024 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action scanForHostiles
13:20:28.024 [ai.message.receive]: AI Freighttrain_AIs.plist for Traction Engine 686 in state 'HEAD_FOR_RANDOMSTATION' receives message 'ENERGY_FULL'. Context: handling deferred message, stack depth: 0
13:20:28.157 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setTargetToLastStation
13:20:28.157 [ai.takeAction]: Traction Engine 686 to take action setDesiredRangeTo
etc etc


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 1:32 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 4976
The experimental package has been updated to v0.2, with a new download link (see first post in this thread). The only difference to the original is the replacement of the faulty gnustep-base-1_20.dll, which causes the crash on exit, with the one that works. If you have already downloaded the first version of the package and the fixed dll as separate download, you do not need to do anything.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 1:35 pm 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Posts: 9520
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
@ DGill: there's no error, just some excessive logging of normal operations.

I'd say that someone forgot to remove the AI logging from their OXP when releasing it. And that someone would be the author of the Freighttrain OXP.

_________________
The Story — The Career — The OXPs


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 3:09 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:45 am
Posts: 170
Ok, thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:08 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:42 pm
Posts: 144
Location: London, UK
Is it possible that the new gnustep-base-1_20.dll has disabled/unmapped the function keys? I'm pretty sure they were working when I first tried the 64-bit Oolite, but they aren't now. The numeric keys still work as normal.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:17 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 3092
Location: Vienna, Austria
Hurray!

I have literally been waiting for this for years.

Great work!

Off to test ... :mrgreen:


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:55 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Posts: 2988
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Quote:
Hurray!

I have literally been waiting for this for years.

Great work!

Off to test ... :mrgreen:
Welcome back L. Hope you are well and ready for some 64-bit Ooliting!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 6:16 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 4976
Quote:
Is it possible that the new gnustep-base-1_20.dll has disabled/unmapped the function keys? I'm pretty sure they were working when I first tried the 64-bit Oolite, but they aren't now. The numeric keys still work as normal.
I can't see how this could have happened. Function keys work fine on my system with the v0.2 experimental. Do you still have the buggy gnustep dll handy by any chance? If so, can you try putting it back and seeing whether function keys get re-enabled? This is strange indeed. What is it exactly that you are trying to do when you find that function keys don't work for you?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 7:06 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:42 pm
Posts: 144
Location: London, UK
Hi A_C. I'm just trying to switch to the various screens and views that the function keys normally call up when docked or in flight.

It looks as though I have a backup copy of the older dll. I'll have a play this evening and see how it behaves.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 7:09 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 4976
OK. Also, please make sure to test without any OXPs too, in case you haven't already done so.

Are any of the other testers experiencing problems using the function keys with v0.2 Experimental?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited