Planetary rings, as done by the Infinity guy

Off topic discussion zone.

Moderators: another_commander, winston, Cody

Post Reply
dajt
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 365
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:05 am
Location: Orange, NSW, Australia
Contact:

Planetary rings, as done by the Infinity guy

Post by dajt »

I'm not sure why you can see so much of the rings at once - its like you're a god or something, but extremely cool nonetheless:

http://www.fl-tw.com/InfinityForums/vie ... php?t=5198.

Ahruman, when can we have this? ;)
Regards,
David Taylor.

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

With that level of detail? Not.

At all? Probably not.

I intend to have rewritten the planet (and sun, and sky) rendering for 1.71 (originally 1.70), but probably not with rings. Certainly not with that level of detail.

The new planet code will have an oblateness setting, which will generally not be noticeable, but would be useful for gas giants.

User avatar
Hoopy
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Durham, England

Post by Hoopy »

out of interest - why not?

Is it a question of development time? the graphics library we use? or something else?

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane »

Wow! That's awesome!

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Hoopy wrote:Is it a question of development time?
Yes.
Hoopy wrote:the graphics library we use? or something else?
Libraries? What libraries?

User avatar
Hoopy
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Durham, England

Post by Hoopy »

I really should look at the code a bit. Do I just need to get a copy of SVN and point my PC at the repository?

I think 'm getting confused with Elite:TNK which used a graphics library for everything. Did you/Giles write all the graphics routines from scratch then?

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

I really should look at the code a bit. Do I just need to get a copy of SVN and point my PC at the repository?
If you just want to download a copy of the source code for release 1.69.1, you can try here:
http://prdownload.berlios.de/oolite-lin ... .1.tar.bz2

But if you are interested in downloading and keeping up with the latest revisions, still under development, you will need to follow the instructions as described here:
http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Runnin ... rom_source
(I assume you are using Windows. If not, just use the appropriate links for the system you are using, from this page: http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Oolite ... ion_Manual).
Hope this helps.

BTW, the Infinity images look truly amazing.

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Hoopy wrote: think 'm getting confused with Elite:TNK which used a graphics library for everything. Did you/Giles write all the graphics routines from scratch then?
Giles wrote all the graphics code in raw OpenGL. I’ve modified significant portions for more flexible material handling, especially shader support. All the simulation/physics and gameplay code is also custom work by Giles.

User avatar
Hoopy
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Durham, England

Post by Hoopy »

thanks, I've saved this topic so i can come back to it once I've played through all the missions. Part way through assassins and I missed a few in Galaxy 1 so won't be that much longer.

Post Reply