Re: Elite: Dangerous - and the return

Off topic discussion zone.

Moderators: another_commander, winston, Cody

User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3035
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by pagroove »

Cody wrote:
pagroove wrote:Sorry that I didn't accept all friend requests yet at the Frontier Forums.
<grins> I've withdrawn from the forum, so I won't be on your list, amigo.
Withdrawn? Anyway your are here. :)
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by kanthoney »

Don't think that's quite right:

Image

NigelJK
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 5:07 pm
Location: Stockport, England

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by NigelJK »

But not as colorful as the worlds in Pioneer (yet).
AIUI only a few of the planets in the beta are rendered fully as per the production release.
Every release there are a ton of 'detail' changes that the ever impatient forum members glide over without comment, but like Oolite those gradual changes are the ones that make coming back to the game each time worth it.

FWIW I'm still playing solo, although I might dip my toe in the water of the open play in the demo as anything that happens in the demo stays in the demo

User avatar
ClymAngus
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2508
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:31 am
Location: London England
Contact:

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by ClymAngus »

kanthoney wrote:Don't think that's quite right:

Image
Oooo draw limits eh?

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by kanthoney »

Turned out I was using old drivers. Doh!

Things I've found out:

1) Bouncing off planets hurts quite a lot.
2) Climbing up steep slopes is tricky. However, coming down them backwards and at speed is a lot easier, although that's quite painful too.
3) Flying low level is fun, although at the moment the surface isn't always where it appears to be. I ended up buried in Europa because of that. I didn't see any interesting life forms while I was down there, though!

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by Cody »

kanthoney wrote:Yay! I'm currently downloading Horizons Beta at the usual treacly pace!
<chortles> Yeah, it can be glacial at times - took me almost an hour to download it (6.45GB).

Old drivers? You mean gfx drivers? AMD or nVidia?

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by kanthoney »

NVidia drivers. I've just reinstalled Windows and a manual driver search on the nVidia site came up with 309.08 as the latest one, so I downloaded that. Then I decided to download ShadowPlay to get a video of the above glitch, and GeForce Experience told me the latest drivers were 359.something.

User avatar
ClymAngus
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2508
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:31 am
Location: London England
Contact:

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by ClymAngus »

kanthoney wrote:Turned out I was using old drivers. Doh!
3) Flying low level is fun, although at the moment the surface isn't always where it appears to be. I ended up buried in Europa because of that. I didn't see any interesting life forms while I was down there, though!
You see what your missing is some good quality low flying music! That will improve your skills no end. Give this a try.......

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-dwmf-wx8VQ

User avatar
Yodeebe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Namab

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by Yodeebe »

Cody wrote:
kanthoney wrote: - took me almost an hour to download it (6.45GB).
An hour! :?
It took me two whole nights of leaving the computer on, chugging away.
Ahh, life in Wales, on the end of a wifi extender :D

But wow, how the memories came flooding back.
Memories of FE2, floating cities, and the like.
As I approached, the planet turned into a sort of spike ball, with cylinders shooting up into space.
As I got closer to the planet, it turned into lots of flying upside-down pyramids, with stars clearly seen through the gaps.
then I was inside the planet.
hmmm, work required, I think.

What was that about graphics drivers?
I'm trying to run windows 7 on bootcamp, but an a complete hopeless case when it comes to windows.
Any pointers or tips much appreciated.
Image

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by Cody »

kanthoney wrote:Then I decided to download ShadowPlay to get a video of the above glitch, and GeForce Experience told me the latest drivers were 359.something.
I've been wanting to use Shadowplay (in Oolite), but I have a profound dislike of GFE. <spits> As for nVidia drivers, I'm still on 355.98 - nice and stable.

Here, have a different Shadowplay!



I know zilch about running Windows in Bootcamp, I'm afraid, Yodeebe.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by Cody »

Just had my first, very quick, look at Horizons Beta - cost me fifty credits for a PLS.
In the system map, what do blue arcs above some planets/moons signify?

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and 'Black Magic'

Post by phkb »

I don't have the game, but I've watched a couple of YouTube vids, and the blue arcs around a planet on the system map are apparently indicating you can land on the planet. If there's spikes or bumps in the arc, I think that indicates a settlement of some sort. I might be completely wrong, though.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and the PLS

Post by Cody »

I wondered about that. If so, there are fifteen of 'em in my adopted home system - oodles of icy, airless, bodies!

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and the PLS

Post by phkb »

What fun, then! One video I watched was of a player driving through what amounted to a city. But there appear to be no other ships present (except for those hovercraft things on defensive duty), resulting in this massive, highly detailed, ghost town. It was kind of eerie because one the one hand the player was able to dock their ship at the city and access starport services, which would indicate the presence of other beings, yet the stunning visuals could hide the emptiness of the place when you got into your SRV and actually took a drive. Or maybe no one wanted to go outside because of the high UV levels and no one thought to bring sunblock or a hat!

NigelJK
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 5:07 pm
Location: Stockport, England

Re: Elite: Dangerous - and the PLS

Post by NigelJK »

Once you have your SRV you'll have to find out how to find your ship when you return to the base. Currently the only way I've found to do this is to drive a couple of K's from the base and recall the ship. This is hit and miss though as not all landings on the surface will allow you to get under the ship for docking.

Post Reply