Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 6:55 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:30 am 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 1:49 am
Posts: 44
Thanks for the help.

Unfortunately, the link for Debug_OXP is broken. I've got the other 2 (OoDebugConsole1.5.zip & Oolite-1.84_x64-Deployment-to-Test-Release.exe)

Above, Cody said:
Quote:
I know zilch about coding/audit stuff - I'm merely a dumb pilot.
Do I really need all this just to get line #'s in my Latest.log file?

_________________
"Better to be thought a fool, boy, than to open your trap and remove all doubt." - Grandma [over time, just "Shut your trap... fool"]
"The only stupid questions are the ones you fail to ask." - Dad
How do I...? Nevermind.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:34 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 12:26 pm
Posts: 470
Quote:
When I first went thru the games oxz manager, I'd picked a few hundred - mistake!
Yep. IIRC there's a bad interaction between Random shipnames and random-ship names or something like that; two OXPs with almost the same name but one of them is destroying your FPS for no reason.

Also, I'm surprised you get so high FPS numbers. I think by default it is locked to 60FPS or something consistent with your monitor's refresh rate. Did you force it? I remember I had bad experiences with that. You don't need 120FPS anyway. I run at 60 and it's perfectly smooth. My rig is getting old so I have to make compromises between quality and FPS with recent AAA games. I usually aim at 30 FPS for fluid animation. I don't understand why people are so greedy about it and want to run at 200FPS. For one thing it's absolutely pointless to have more FPS than the refresh frequency of your monitor. And since some OXPs use the frame callback, increasing it is likely to be detrimental in the end.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:34 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 4920
@cag: You will need the OXP Developer Release of the game in order to see script error locations and exception backtraces. You have already downloaded the Deployment to Test Release converter and that is all you need. When run, it will ask you whether you want to install also the Debug OXP (you normally want to do this) and it will set up everything for you. The old Deployment executable will be backed up under the filename oolite,exe,dpl.

The console is not required if you only want to have error locations output, but if you intend to get involved with OXP editing and scripting, I would consider it a requirement, as it makes a scripter's life so much better.

OXPs are not normally audited. They are made by community members, most of whom are not programmers and it is expected that not all attempts will be of the same quality level. Any QA effort should take this into account. We do not want to discourage anyone from participating and the developers do not do QA on expansions. We just try to make sure that the base core is as robust and crash-proof as we can possibly make it, so that OXPs can't bring the game down.

@Astrobe: High FPS are important. Some people are OK with 30 and that is fine - console games are mostly locked on 30 after all. But most people can perceive very easily the difference between 30 and 60 FPS and feel something is wrong, even for slight fluctuations below 60. Some recent monitors have a 144Hz refresh rate and the difference between 60 and 144 is again observable. Finally, with the advance of VR headset technologies, we are now at a place where the Oculus Rift has a minimum 90 FPS requirement in order to avoid VR sickness. So we still should try to aim as high as we can. I would agree though that if you use just a 60Hz monitor, then as a user you would probably not need anything more than 60 FPS.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:14 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2388
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Hi cag, welcome in the Ooniverse!

Thank you for the improved reverse control code, I tested it, looks good so the new v1.5 contain it in the manager. :)

Auditors are the players who comment OXPs in this forum. If an author is not responding then it is possible to take over the OXP and continue the work. It is easy when there is a friendly License within, otherwise more complicated but not impossible.

If you found one which cause FPS drop and it is not already reported then please report in its own topic. Any performace advices are welcomed. :)
For tests the following lines raise the FPS limit to 999 in .Oolite/GNUstep/Defaults/.GNUstepDefaults within the oolite section:
Code:
<key>animation_timer_interval</key>
<real>0.001</real>

OXPs which create many flashers can cause slowdown, for example Trails and Telescope. It is a trade-off between visuality and performance. In the case of Telescope for more FPS prime it with some Shift+N presses then use the mode button ("b") to cycle in the functions until "Lightballs", then press activate ("n") until "off".

Another bottleneck is the CPU. Oolite use a single thread only, some js sentence like accessing the list of worldScripts need much more time than others, which could be the problem if an OXP do something heavy in a frameCallBack or fast timer. Fortunately developers usually like to talk about optimizing codes so you have chances to earn improvements when you mention them specifically.

Js errors usually get line nubers, if not then the location is not known or just not displayed by the interpreter, what I do not know how to hack.

The test release is good to accelerate time, in debug console you can spawn ships or change writable properties like restore energy on the fly without restart the game. Debug OXP is shipped with the test release of Oolite, you need to download in addition the debug console only. I use the following shell script to start-stop the console around running Oolite in Linux:
Code:
d=~/.Oolite/Debug/
cd $d
$d/DebugConsole.py &

o=~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite-trunk64/oolite.app
cd $o
$o/oolite-wrapper

killall DebugConsole.py

No problem for me if you post your suggestions here and not in PM. I know that my codes are not perfect, I already got many critiques and I took them well. Imho worth to see the good intention within criticism.

Moderators: maybe PM is not allowed for new users for a while due to spam policy?

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Last edited by Norby on Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:18 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 12774
Location: Corke's Drift
Quote:
Moderators: maybe PM is not allowed for new users for a while due to spam policy?
<nods> A new user's first post has to be approved - once that's done, sending PMs should be fine.

_________________
The only good fnord is a dead fnord!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 1:07 am 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 1:49 am
Posts: 44
Thanks for all the tips!

@Astrobe

I use the high fps as a rough benchmark for the oxp's performance hit. You're right in that any frame rate beyond your refresh rate does nothing but generate heat & shorten the life of your graphics card.

If you cannot get above 60, check your graphics profile. On my AMD Radeon, setting the 'Graphics Profile' to 'balanced' will limit my frame rate, so I had to set it to 'Optimize Performance' to get higher.

@another_commander

Thanks!!! The console is up and running and I've got line numbers - great!

I really don't want to discourage any oxp creators - I think community game dev is an awesome concept. I just thought pm's would be more tactful; nobody's ever accused me of being diplomatic! I expect you guys to put me in my place if I'm not.

@Norby

re: reverse control - glad I could help.

re: single thread only - it doesn't appear so on my rig (AMD Phenom II X4, Windows 10 x64). I ran Window's Resouce Monitor and all 4 cores rose the same as I started 3 simultaneous games. May be something Windows specific? Anyway, I play with a game pad and all 3 games were receiving input - it no fun trying to steer 3 different scenarios at once, let me tell you!

re: telescope - I had turned off both rings but not the light balls. Would a simple empty circle gain us much improvement? Not sized like mass lock ring but rather like a computer icon that says there's something here, same size for all, just diff. colours, maybe. Not my area of expertise. But I do plan to see what I can do w/ the code, as I really want to keep using it!

P.S. sorry for late reply. The 1st time I wrote this, I think hit Preview and not Submit - d'oh!

_________________
"Better to be thought a fool, boy, than to open your trap and remove all doubt." - Grandma [over time, just "Shut your trap... fool"]
"The only stupid questions are the ones you fail to ask." - Dad
How do I...? Nevermind.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited