Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:58 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 142 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 10
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 1:49 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Posts: 2161
Location: Western Australia
Vortex cargo bay is not compatible with Oolite 1.82 because of changes to the way cargo goods are defined. Unless Thargoid or someone else updates the script in this OXP, it's not going to work with 1.82.

I'd also suggest completely removing that part of the script, and just defining the shipdata to have a larger cargo bay.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 1:33 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 9:03 pm
Posts: 292
Moreover, the Vortex also introduces problems when scooping cargo, and that even if it only is installed instead of flown:
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?p=243594#p243594

I support the idea to replace the cargo bay system by a normal cargo capacity, because it's what causes by far the least work. As this makes the Vortex more powerful (ability to accept cargo contracts ?) and less annoying (no need to switch), reduce it to something like 100TC ?

Also, can someone who has flown the Vortex and not just attempted to understand its code like me answer me a question: Are the missile bays actually switchable in flight like the documentation says, or do they rather just add a queue of filled pylons on top of the main pylons such as the APRIL reloader does (which is said to inherit the Vortex' code) ? For instance, say one bay contains only Q-bombs, and another one contains only ECM hardened missiles. Does it allow to switch to the one with missiles, and after firing back to the bombs ?

I'd also like to point out that the missile defence screen will not work against some types of "missiles" which are more dangerous than the 2 types in the core (basic and ECM hardened missile) - notably the thargoid Kamikaze Orbiters from TCAT, since oolite does not consider those "missiles" (via entity.isMissile). If oolite's behavior of entity.isMissile has changed, this may not be intended.

_________________
warning sound if a missile is inbound: Missile warning


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 4:25 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Posts: 2161
Location: Western Australia
Quote:
Also, can someone who has flown the Vortex and not just attempted to understand its code like me answer me a question: Are the missile bays actually switchable in flight like the documentation says, or do they rather just add a queue of filled pylons on top of the main pylons such as the APRIL reloader does (which is said to inherit the Vortex' code) ? For instance, say one bay contains only Q-bombs, and another one contains only ECM hardened missiles. Does it allow to switch to the one with missiles, and after firing back to the bombs ?
Yes the multi-bay missiles work as advertised. You can have one bay with non-weapon survey probes, one bay with Q-bombs, and the other bays with actual missiles, which you keep as the active bay unless you specifically want to use a variant. Then you don't accidentally fire a useless missile in a fight.

I was going to suggest a 100t normal cargo bay for the Vortex, but now seeing you write it too it seems too obvious. I'm going to suggest 97t just to irritate the neatness freaks who think all numbers are multiples of ten. 97 is a prime I'm guessing...

Just checked, it is.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 5:39 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:31 am
Posts: 327
Location: Traversing new opportunities in space
Hmmmmm... as a vortex fanatic, I find that 1.82 breaks the cycling of the missiles and cargo bays. :(
Guess I won't be upgrading for a while... too bad.... back to the void unless something new comes along.

_________________
Bartle tester says while I am drinking evil juice, I am: 80% killer/ 80 % achiever/ 33% explorer and 0% socializer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:47 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Posts: 2161
Location: Western Australia
Quote:
Hmmmmm... as a vortex fanatic, I find that 1.82 breaks the cycling of the missiles and cargo bays. :(
Any idea why, how? Has there been some change to the missile array in Oolite 1.82? Anyone?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 12:05 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 2074
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Quote:
Any idea why, how? Has there been some change to the missile array in Oolite 1.82? Anyone?
These issues might be to blame:
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f= ... 30#p232177
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=17847

_________________
My OXP's
YouTube: Oolite Teaser Trailer


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:37 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 5:23 pm
Posts: 131
Location: Russia
22/02/2018 - Version 1.31, various script tweaks for oolite 1.82.
- Added "use strict" in the some scripts.
- Edited name of the cargo type for new spelling.
- Changed low energy limit for emergency displacement activating (from 33 to 64(Vortex) and to 128(Maelstrom)) due to small effect of previous displacement with high amount equipment damage.

https://app.box.com/s/tlav7anpe3ggahyqr9a16ln0xzoshamf


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 142 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 10

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited