Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Sun May 20, 2018 5:39 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:09 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Scotland
I'm using version 2.10 and found the Repair_Bots very useful trolling around in Galaxy 1. Then, in a firefight, I think I hit the "G" spot and flipped to Galaxy 2. With damaged repair bots.
I am still hunting around for a high-tech system that can repair them - I've been up to L14, maybe even L15 - but I haven't found a system in Galaxy 2 that can repair them.
The Wiki page http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Repair_Bots_OXP doesn't say at what tech level (and/ or other criteria) are needed to get repaired. Which is certainly something I'd have checked in the sales brochure before shelling out LoadsaCR.
Any suggestions? Do I need to move on to Galaxy 3?

_________________
--
Shooting aliens for fun and ... well more fun.
"I'm just stepping out of the airlock for a breath of fresh vacuum. I may be gone some time."


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:39 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2467
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
[wiki]Equipment.plist[/wiki] contain the techlevel in the first line, you can repair in all systems above and _not_ equal with this number. So Self-Repair System should be fixed from TL11 planets, Recharge is available from TL9 together with the independently usable pylon-mounted Nanobots (launch it as a missile/mine). I do not know the reason of your problem but nothing which is better in G3.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 11:26 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Scotland
Quote:
[wiki]Equipment.plist[/wiki] contain the techlevel in the first line, you can repair in all systems above and _not_ equal with this number. So Self-Repair System should be fixed from TL11 planets, Recharge is available from TL9 together with the independently usable pylon-mounted Nanobots (launch it as a missile/mine). I do not know the reason of your problem but nothing which is better in G3.
That would be the equipment.plist buried in the oxz file once I'd extracted it? For that I see 3 tech levels, for the "MINE" version, for the "Controller", and for the "Recharge". They're showing levels 8, 10 and 8 respectively, which is fine. One wonders why it isn't showing then?
Ah! The controller is listed as "incompatible_with_equipment" = "EQ_DCN";

So now I need to find out what a DCN is .... Or possibly, the controller is broken. I shall investigate on my next foray into the Ooniverse.

_________________
--
Shooting aliens for fun and ... well more fun.
"I'm just stepping out of the airlock for a breath of fresh vacuum. I may be gone some time."


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:34 pm 
Offline
Thargoid
Thargoid
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm
Posts: 5510
In theory, if the self-repair system is damaged, it should start repairing itself (and stop repairing anything else it may be working on). You should get a notification that it's entering self-repair mode when that happens.

It sounds like you may have hit a set of circumstances that is stopping that happening, depending on what else might have been damaged as well. Or perhaps the galactic jump has confused it.

I'm not sure who is currently overseeing that OXZ (I've retired from coding, as I don't have time any more), so it may be fixable or maybe not. But the simplest way may be to back-up and then edit your save game to restore it. I'm sure someone can assist with guiding you through that if that's the way you want to go.

Oh, and DCN (damage control node) is the self-repair functionality built into the Caduceus range of ships. It's essentially the same script as the repair system, and is marked as incompatible so you don't have two things doing the same job and probably confusing one another.

_________________
My OXPs via Boxspace or from my Wiki pages :D.

Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:36 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Scotland
Quote:
In theory, if the self-repair system is damaged, it should start repairing itself (and stop repairing anything else it may be working on).
That may have been what was happening. Shortly after I got served with the "Constrictor at Xeer" message, and was on my way there ... the repair system came back online.

Which suggests that the code change which would be advisable is actually to change the F5 status message to something like "Repair system --- working on [system name]"

_________________
--
Shooting aliens for fun and ... well more fun.
"I'm just stepping out of the airlock for a breath of fresh vacuum. I may be gone some time."


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:00 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:59 pm
Posts: 545
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
I'm not sure who is currently overseeing that OXZ
That would be me.

I have noticed that sometimes the bots get stuck.
This seems to happen most often when bots are repairing something, and new items get damaged.
(docking while a repair is active can have the same effect).
The state of the repair queue and/or timers seems to be wrong then.

In a test version (not fit for release yet) i have simplified the flow and this has reduced the amount of stucks , but not solved it completely .

A workaround is to "reset" the oxp by saving your game, quit to F2 menu and reload.
Upon leaving dock the repairs should start fresh.

_________________
OS : Arch Linux 64-bit - rolling release

OXPs : My user page

I am subscribed to the threads for my oxps, if you need my attention just post in them or send a pm.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:36 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Scotland
Well, good to see that it's being worked on. Unfortunately, the laptop with the fancy graphics card has gone back to it's owners now, so I won't be able to do any testing.

_________________
--
Shooting aliens for fun and ... well more fun.
"I'm just stepping out of the airlock for a breath of fresh vacuum. I may be gone some time."


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:48 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Scotland
I wondered to myself, "What are the repair bots working on at the moment? - I missed that on-screen message."
If the repair bots write anything into the logs (commander's log, communications log), I can't see it.
A message in the log of the form "Repair Bots start working on BLAH Syatem ; X other systems queued for repair ; Y repair charges in storage." would cover most bases.
I'm wondering what the sequence of repairs is? {tries to look thorough scripts}.

_________________
--
Shooting aliens for fun and ... well more fun.
"I'm just stepping out of the airlock for a breath of fresh vacuum. I may be gone some time."


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:13 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Scotland
Concerning the repair sequencing ...
Quote:
var repairTime = 120 + Math.ceil(Math.random() * 180);
So, repairs will take 2 to 5 hours of mission time?
Quote:
{ player.consoleMessage("Repair system online and in standby mode", 6); }
That's a message going to the F5 console? But the message that appears to the side of the HUD in flight is from somewhere else?
Quote:
var damagedEquipment = Math.floor(Math.random() * this.playerDamagedList.length); // pick a random element from the list...
So, items repaired in random order. Depending on the technical level of the equipment, the probability of a successful repair varies between 1 and 0.

_________________
--
Shooting aliens for fun and ... well more fun.
"I'm just stepping out of the airlock for a breath of fresh vacuum. I may be gone some time."


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:31 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 5:23 pm
Posts: 129
Location: Russia
Quote:
So, repairs will take 2 to 5 hours of mission time?
Why? Minutes from start launch from station for self-repair system.
Quote:
Oolite JavaScript Reference: Timer:
new Timer(this : Object, function : Function, delay : Number [, interval : Number]) : Timer

Creates a new timer which will call function after delay seconds, and optionally repeatedly every interval seconds.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:44 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 2051
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Quote:
So, repairs will take 2 to 5 hours of mission time?
As Rustem says, the scale is in seconds, so from 120 to 300 seconds, or 2 to 5 minutes.

_________________
My OXP's
YouTube: Oolite Teaser Trailer


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:49 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Quote:
So, repairs will take 2 to 5 hours of mission time?
As Rustem says, the scale is in seconds, so from 120 to 300 seconds, or 2 to 5 minutes.
Doh! Should have expected it to be in seconds.

_________________
--
Shooting aliens for fun and ... well more fun.
"I'm just stepping out of the airlock for a breath of fresh vacuum. I may be gone some time."


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited