Galactic Navy Strikes Back

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Post Reply
sunlover72
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:40 am

Post by sunlover72 »

I had a crack at this OXP last night, must say its absoloutly awesome. Ive only done 2 missions so far, but it was very easy to get immersed.

Only 1 comment apart from that really.

1) Theres a massive difference in difficulty it seems between pirate missions and thargoid missions?. The thargoid mission was very easy it seemed. Mainly because the navy took a hand. The pirate mission however seemed much harder, the reserves are as useful as a chocolate fireguard. I died quite a lot doing this since every time i killed a pirate the entire pirate fleet targetted me.
.

User avatar
Disembodied
Jedi Spam Assassin
Jedi Spam Assassin
Posts: 6433
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: Carter's Snort

Post by Disembodied »

Go in ahead of the reserves, find the renegate frigate, unload into it from far away; flip over, repeat with rear laser; turn back again and finish it off (and watch out for missiles). It's by far the most dangerous enemy and your colleagues aren't smart enough to gang up on it. They get involved in lots of little dogfights while the frigate's turrets blow them into chutney (it'll do the same to you, too, if you let it get close).

Once the frigate is gone, your pack is pretty good at taking out the remaining pirates. You are of course free to lend a hand. :twisted:

sunlover72
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:40 am

Post by sunlover72 »

Disembodied wrote:Go in ahead of the reserves, find the renegate frigate, unload into it from far away; flip over, repeat with rear laser; turn back again and finish it off (and watch out for missiles). It's by far the most dangerous enemy and your colleagues aren't smart enough to gang up on it. They get involved in lots of little dogfights while the frigate's turrets blow them into chutney (it'll do the same to you, too, if you let it get close).

Once the frigate is gone, your pack is pretty good at taking out the remaining pirates. You are of course free to lend a hand. :twisted:

hehe thanks, ill try that...id toyed with the idea of injection speeding in and unloading an E-bomb but it sort of felt like cheating ;)

User avatar
tonyhippy
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by tonyhippy »

Yes Sunlover72 it does. Do it! Actually a penetrating Torpedo will take it out too, if you have that OXP. If I feel like being a real git I use a Quirium mine, but only if I get there well ahead of my allies!

sunlover72
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:40 am

Post by sunlover72 »

tonyhippy wrote:Yes Sunlover72 it does. Do it! Actually a penetrating Torpedo will take it out too, if you have that OXP. If I feel like being a real git I use a Quirium mine, but only if I get there well ahead of my allies!
Hehe i did it once to see what happened, but it made priates to easy since only the frigate survived and everyone ganged up on it.

Ive done 3 or 4 more missions now, got to ask.. do they get steadily harder?.

I havent managed to do the last one so far .. theres thargoid battleships / frigates etc everywhere and my navy buddies seem to be dust in seconds.

But its a nice challenge.

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Eric Walch »

tonyhippy wrote:Yes Sunlover72 it does. Do it! Actually a penetrating Torpedo will take it out too, if you have that OXP. If I feel like being a real git I use a Quirium mine, but ....
Actually, there is a bug in Galactic navy. It uses a script that originally was intended to find Quirium mines and disarm them. Matt "improved" the script by letting it first look for missiles and when found it looks for Quirium mines and for Quirium missiles (from missiles&bombs). He forgot however that the Quirium mine is no missile and won't be found in the initial search for missiles. Only when there happens to be a flying missile around, it might find the Quirium mine.
The penetrating Torpedo uses a trick that it randomises its own role after launch, making it difficult for old style minesweepers to find.

(At least that is what I thought on release, but the thargoids already had a sweeper for them created within weeks of release :wink: )

User avatar
Fatleaf
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 1988
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:11 am
Location: In analysis mode on Phaelon
Contact:

Post by Fatleaf »

I had a problem last night and Oolite crashed, I looked into the log and this was repeated over and again :-

[script.javaScript.exception.noProperties]: ***** JavaScript exception (hofd GalNavy Build 118 / HOFD Build 55): TypeError: player.ship.dockedStation has no properties
[script.javaScript.exception.noProperties]: ../AddOns/Galactic_Navy 5.2.2.oxp/Scripts/hofd.js, line 223.

Does this pose a problem?
But besides I really enjoy this oxp, it is one of my favorites.

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Eric Walch »

Fatleaf wrote:I had a problem last night and Oolite crashed, I looked into the log and this was repeated over and again :-

[script.javaScript.exception.noProperties]: ***** JavaScript exception (hofd GalNavy Build 118 / HOFD Build 55): TypeError: player.ship.dockedStation has no properties
[script.javaScript.exception.noProperties]: ../AddOns/Galactic_Navy 5.2.2.oxp/Scripts/hofd.js, line 223.

Does this pose a problem?
But besides I really enjoy this oxp, it is one of my favorites.
It could be a problem. This code runs during switching screens. The script just assumes the player is docked when switching screens for the hoft mission. It should not crash Oolite, but it could corrupt a mission.

Better add an additional check in the hoft.js script at line 197 so that that reads:

Code: Select all

 if(player.ship.docked && missionVariables.hofd != "HOFD_COMPLETE")
I hope that Nemoricus finds time to correct that in the original. The mission handling should be rewritten anyway to the more stable 1.74 method.

User avatar
Mauiby de Fug
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 824
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:23 pm

Post by Mauiby de Fug »

I tried to dock at the Pirate base during a reserve mission (I was intrigued to see what would happen!) and it caused a crash to desktop, twice. The third time I was able to dock, though. There be nothing in the log file, so I don't know what the problem was...

User avatar
Fatleaf
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 1988
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:11 am
Location: In analysis mode on Phaelon
Contact:

Post by Fatleaf »

Eric Walch wrote:I hope that Nemoricus finds time to correct that in the original. The mission handling should be rewritten anyway to the more stable 1.74 method.
If that is the case and it has its problems with 1.74, then how is it there is a Y in the compatibility box in the http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/OXP_List ?

Should it either be blank or even a N ?

User avatar
Cmd. Cheyd
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:52 pm
Location: Deep Horizon Industries Manufacturing & Research Site somewhere in G8...

Post by Cmd. Cheyd »

Because it is not INCOMPATIBLE, merely using deprecated functions. When 1.75 or some later version removes those deprecated functions, the OXP will truly be incompatible.

User avatar
Fatleaf
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 1988
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:11 am
Location: In analysis mode on Phaelon
Contact:

Post by Fatleaf »

:oops: This is what is called the aahaaa, and the ohhhh moment, the time when the penny drops! :idea:

Thanks for educating the stupid!

Switeck
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1998
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:11 pm

Post by Switeck »

I can't remember where I read it, but Galactic Navy causes some terribly low framerates in its sector command systems.
Someone mentioned hacking their version to reduce/eliminate that...and I was just wanting to know how to do that. :P

User avatar
CheeseRedux
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 827
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:50 pm

Post by CheeseRedux »

Switeck wrote:I can't remember where I read it, but Galactic Navy causes some terribly low framerates in its sector command systems.
Someone mentioned hacking their version to reduce/eliminate that...and I was just wanting to know how to do that. :P
That would be Eric Walch, in a thread discussing another OXP of the mission sort, quite possibly Random Hits. I'm not familiar with the specifics, but the method involved was along the lines of reducing the frequency of something checking for something else. I'm sure a search would turn up the relevant thread. (Or a PM to Eric...)
"Actually this is a common misconception... I do *not* in fact have a lot of time on my hands at all! I just have a very very very very bad sense of priorities."
--Dean C Engelhardt

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Eric Walch »

CheeseRedux wrote:That would be Eric Walch, in a thread discussing another OXP of the mission sort, quite possibly Random Hits. I'm not familiar with the specifics, but the method involved was along the lines of reducing the frequency of something checking for something else. I'm sure a search would turn up the relevant thread. (Or a PM to Eric...)
Yep, I have a slightly improved version. All AI files are updated.
(I understood that Svengali did something similar so there are more working on this.). In addition all legacy_addShips commands and mission screens are converted to the new 1.74 way.
I also noticed that several escorts structures don't work. For ships with police scan class that don't own a police role you can't define escorts because of the internal working. Escorts are immediately rejected by a mother that does not own a police role (I would have chosen a military scan class to avoid this problem). It felt somehow as an Oolite bug, so since last weekend, trunk has a bit changed so that those police escorts start working as intended by matt.

I'll see if I can update GN but first will look for other flaws.

Post Reply