Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Tue May 23, 2017 8:43 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 265 posts ]  Go to page Previous 114 15 16 17 18 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:40 pm 
Offline
Harmless
Harmless

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:22 pm
Posts: 1
Hi there. New to the bulletin boards.

The other day I was flying a mission to eliminate a pirate base. I came under attack from pirates (other than our target group) on route to the pirate base. I waited while lasers hit my shields hoping the rest of the reserved squadron would do something. Obviously in the end I had to break formation and deal with the pirates myself.

It would be nice if once formed up with other reservists we had each other's back in situations like this? So maybe the OXP could include the idea that reservists behave like police and attack aggressive criminals in range - assuming a primary objective is not immediately pressing (like a thargoid swarm!).

Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 12:06 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Essex (mainly industrial and occasionally anarchic)
Hi Twigley, and welcome to the board.

I can't help you with your question, though!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:38 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 2:23 pm
Posts: 883
Location: United Kingdom
Hi Twigley and welcome to the board.

In answer to your question, I think its fair to assume that the reservist ships are not Navy vessels, therefore they are not under orders to take on passing fugitives. Their objectives are to engage targeted Thargoids or Pirates depending on the current mission you are doing.

Another reason for not giving them extra AI commands to engage other law breakers would be to ensure that they stick to the mission at hand, so to speak. Otherwise they might go AWOL before getting to the target, and then you'd be on your own!

_________________
Location: Galaxy 5 | Ship: Cobra Mark III | Rank: ★★★ E L I T E ★★★| Legal Status: Clean
Taxi Galactica | Her Imperial Majesty's Space Navy


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:21 am 
Offline
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:47 pm
Posts: 2
HI,

I was told to report a smaller bug in this thread:
Quote:

I have the problem that below the GalNavy Leaderboard my sorties are counted, but instead of the number of kills
it just states "KILLS:[score_number]".

Also when I dock at SecCom my ship is not correctly noiticed - the text states: "Your [commanderShip_string] has been docked...."

I am running OOlite 1.77 and GalNavy 5.4.3 ( and lots of other Oxps )
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=13527


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:35 pm 
Offline
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 5536
Location: Netherlands
Both expansions are deprecated in oolite 1.77.

To fix it, open the file "missiontext.plist" inside the oxp and replace the string "[commanderShip_string]" by "[commander_shipname]". Replace it 4 times in total.

For [score_number] I am not sure if it was mend to be deprecated. To be on the safe side, replace it also in the oxp with an other replacement method.:
Still in the missiontext.plist file, find "[score_number]" and replace it by "score_number". So, just remove the brackets to stop the expansion. The expansion is now done in the script.

For that, open the file "galnavymain.js" and look for the line:
Code:
mission.runScreen({title: "Galactic Navy", messageKey: "squad_leaderboard", choicesKey: "leaderboard_return_choice"}, this.SecComBusiness);
Replace that line now with the following 2 lines:
Code:
var message = expandMissionText("squad_leaderboard", {score_number: player.score});
mission.runScreen({title: "Galactic Navy", message: message, choicesKey: "leaderboard_return_choice"}, this.SecComBusiness);
That way the script replaces the score. I have not tested it, but am confident it works.

Probably the current version of the oxp has to be marked as slightly 1.77 incompatible. :lol: I hope Nemoricus finds time to update the original.

_________________
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 1:08 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 2:23 pm
Posts: 883
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
I hope Nemoricus finds time to update the original.
Me too! This used to be one of my favourite OXPs and still has a lot of potential. If the models that ADCK made could be made to work with this OXP it would be a start, an maybe more involved missions. I quite like having to fight pirate frigates, they are (almost) impossible to defeat and pack a hell of a punch! :twisted:

_________________
Location: Galaxy 5 | Ship: Cobra Mark III | Rank: ★★★ E L I T E ★★★| Legal Status: Clean
Taxi Galactica | Her Imperial Majesty's Space Navy


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:59 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Essex (mainly industrial and occasionally anarchic)
@Eric

Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:19 am 
Offline
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 5536
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
I had a CTD and this is what I found in the log. A Mine sweeper ship was repeating its message over and over and it was when I went to attempt scooping the (now white on the scanner) Qmine that the CTD occurred.
This bug was also mentioned here by Solonar. It is a combination of two errors:
1- The AI command 'becomeUncontrolledThargon' is increasing the stack on every call. Normally no problem as it is mend to be used only once.
2- The GalNavy mine sweeper is using that command repeatedly.

To fix this, go to the 'navyMinesweeper.js' file and replace:
Code:
{ return entity.isShip && entity.isWeapon && (entity.primaryRole == "EQ_QC_MINE" || entity.primaryRole == "EQ_CASCADE_MISSILE")};
by
Code:
{ return entity.isShip && entity.isWeapon && (entity.primaryRole == "EQ_QC_MINE" || entity.primaryRole == "EQ_CASCADE_MISSILE") && !entity.isCargo};
That should make that the quirium mines are only found once.

No idea why Fatleaf got a ctd though, as the fact that the overflow was logged, means the code knows about the problem and already has anticipated on it.

_________________
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:52 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 3:30 pm
Posts: 26
Getting bit bored with the Galactic Navy Thargoid/Bandit missions, so trying to get onto one of the more special missions. Tried changing my number of sorties to 18 or 19 to set off the specific (xaquetl_sortie) missions and nothing happens, more banditry or Thargoid mission. Tried fixing the issue with the kills (player_score) not being displayed but it didn't work, though I think no. of Galactic Navy kills is unimportant, just no. of sorties done. Any ideas? Is the player_score screwing me up? Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:24 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Posts: 2988
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Sometimes when I'm flying about I forget where the navy bases are. What do others do to remember?

_________________
JazHaz

Quote:
Quote:
£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:09 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 2:23 pm
Posts: 883
Location: United Kingdom
There is a map on the wiki page for the Galactic Navy, or you can check the map in game as the OXP adds the locations to the system descriptions. :mrgreen:

_________________
Location: Galaxy 5 | Ship: Cobra Mark III | Rank: ★★★ E L I T E ★★★| Legal Status: Clean
Taxi Galactica | Her Imperial Majesty's Space Navy


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:30 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Posts: 2988
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Quote:
There is a map on the wiki page for the Galactic Navy, or you can check the map in game as the OXP adds the locations to the system descriptions. :mrgreen:
I think there should be an OXP to add an icon to the system on the short range map.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 10:16 pm 
Offline
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 5536
Location: Netherlands
You could create an oxp that evaluates the target system, when starting the countdown for a system jump. And than write a message that you are about to enter a system that is protected by the navy. When you are not clean at that moment, you have 10 seconds to abort the jump.

Or only write the warning message when not clean. :lol:

_________________
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:45 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:58 pm
Posts: 455
Hello Eric,
Quote:
Both expansions are deprecated in oolite 1.77.

To fix it, open the file "missiontext.plist" inside the oxp and replace the string "[commanderShip_string]" by "[commander_shipname]". Replace it 4 times in total.

For [score_number] I am not sure if it was mend to be deprecated. To be on the safe side, replace it also in the oxp with an other replacement method.:
Still in the missiontext.plist file, find "[score_number]" and replace it by "score_number". So, just remove the brackets to stop the expansion. The expansion is now done in the script.

For that, open the file "galnavymain.js" and look for the line:
Code:
mission.runScreen({title: "Galactic Navy", messageKey: "squad_leaderboard", choicesKey: "leaderboard_return_choice"}, this.SecComBusiness);

Replace that line now with the following 2 lines:
Code:
var message = expandMissionText("squad_leaderboard", {score_number: player.score});
mission.runScreen({title: "Galactic Navy", message: message, choicesKey: "leaderboard_return_choice"}, this.SecComBusiness);
That way the script replaces the score. I have not tested it, but am confident it works.

Probably the current version of the oxp has to be marked as slightly 1.77 incompatible. :lol: I hope Nemoricus finds time to update the original.


Thank you for this tip, I did give it go , but alas to no avail, I was wondering when you say

"[commanderShip_string]" by "[commander_shipname]". Replace it 4 times in total. whether the second bracketed remarks were to be replaced exactly as you wrote it or whether I was to manually put in [Duggan_Python] or whatever ship I am piloting.

Please forgive my opacity, I am at a funny age . :)

Post script, I can't really seam to effect the change in Leader board yet but might have not done that right either.

It's not a biggy, I still enjoy this oxp very much , but if I can iron out these two small wrinkles it's all to the good IMO.

Many thanks Duggan.

_________________
Flying Dark Rainbow , Bell, Book & Candle IV


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 11:05 am 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Posts: 9520
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Duggan, did you start Oolite whilst pressing SHIFT until you see the spinning Cobra after applying the changes?

This is necessary in order to force Oolite to clear its cache and actually look at the plist and script. Otherwise Oolite uses the cached (unchanged) version of the plist and script.

_________________
The Story — The Career — The OXPs


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 265 posts ]  Go to page Previous 114 15 16 17 18 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited