The Shipyard at the End of the Ooniverse. Modeller's bit.

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

User avatar
chomann
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:21 pm

firefly's serenity

Post by chomann » Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:43 am

Okay I am now Officially starting work on a Firefly Serenity. ANYONE who has any comments or suggestions please let me know. Originally the serenity has no weapons so there will be a shift in roles there. As of right now Im planning on making her around 80x40x140 in size, with ample cargo size, I also do NOT want to create an UBER ship so to keep the theme of firefly the cargo should be the major factor. With some capabilities to defend. Althouth I am not totally against making a medium fighter/cargo transport... but any suggestions for cargo size, weapon specs, speeds or anything can help I want to build a ship for the community, and myself. not make the next Uber ship...(an adder can be a uber ship with a little bit of text editing... and im agains all forms of modding my save file) so giveme some input.. thanks

i do plan on making 2 versions 1 for 1.7 and one for 1.65...anyone know how to place some rotational action of the tail end of ship like the engines on the firefly?
"To boldly go where no man has gone before, and drop off my Trumbles." ~ Ashby

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy » Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:36 am

With regards to Cargo capacity - the Serenity had a pretty huge cargo bay but it didn't look particularly optimised for mass storage! In fact the fullest it ever got was when it was full of cows = so she can certainly hold a few hundred milling cattle!
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
ClymAngus
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2508
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:31 am
Location: London England
Contact:

Post by ClymAngus » Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:59 pm

DaddyHoggy wrote:With regards to Cargo capacity - the Serenity had a pretty huge cargo bay but it didn't look particularly optimised for mass storage! In fact the fullest it ever got was when it was full of cows = so she can certainly hold a few hundred milling cattle!
so cow weighs a shy under half a ton (apparently) so 300 cows would be 150-160 tons? That's a pretty good storage weight, enough to clean out a couple of commodities and have room spare for a bit of deep space pick me up.

User avatar
drew
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 9:29 am
Location: In front of a laptop writing a book.
Contact:

Re: firefly's serenity

Post by drew » Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:36 pm

chomann wrote:Okay I am now Officially starting work on a Firefly Serenity.
:shock: :D 8)

Yes!

Cheers,

Drew.
Author of the Oolite Saga, the officially licensed Elite: Reclamation and Elite Dangerous: Premonition
WebsiteFacebookTwitter

User avatar
chomann
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:21 pm

so far

Post by chomann » Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:56 pm

so far ive been working on the modeling and tweaking and many pages of note taking... so far it looks as though the serenity will hold about 150 tc with the extra cargo extension adding (i'm thinking) around 15-25 tc. As for the weapons issue. I have some votes to limit the laser to the mining laser and not allowing the military laser to be equipped, let me know how you guys feel about that one. I also have a mention that the serenity should be limited to 2 missiles, with the added missiles pack this may be too few missles, but then again the serenity is made for scavaging and running. That being said it should be VERY fast. since transports run at about 80 and themark 3 is at around 360 (thats .36 lm), once again i turn to the population for max speed suggestions... as of now the ship comes in at about 40 meters tall, 80 meters side to side, and 140 meters long. it can go bigger but the height must remain lower than 64, and anything tooo close gets hard to dock...i also need to keep proportions.
"To boldly go where no man has gone before, and drop off my Trumbles." ~ Ashby

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy » Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:29 pm

Happy with the dimensions - happy with the TC - happy with the lasers - max beam front - mining elsewhere - fine - only two missiles - hmmm - 3 for luck I think. As for speed - yes - should be fast - 0.45 kinda fast. Will she have the option to have Injectors - mil shielding, mil energy unit?
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
chomann
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:21 pm

Post by chomann » Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:32 pm

DaddyHoggy wrote:Happy with the dimensions - happy with the TC - happy with the lasers - max beam front - mining elsewhere - fine - only two missiles - hmmm - 3 for luck I think. As for speed - yes - should be fast - 0.45 kinda fast. Will she have the option to have Injectors - mil shielding, mil energy unit?
for defenses since the original serenity scavanged i believe that all defenses should be capaable but weapons no... also how many energy banks shoudl she have...the firefly is notoriously fast, and i assume proably has more "energy" with its rear engine!
"To boldly go where no man has gone before, and drop off my Trumbles." ~ Ashby

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy » Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:44 pm

OK - should have at least a turret weapon since the crew managed to modify the ship to do this in the film...
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
chomann
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:21 pm

Post by chomann » Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:03 pm

a turret... would this be added as a subentry? and turrets are able in the 1.65 version right? i want to make the oxp work in both versions..1.65 and 1.7..and yea the mining laser can be anywhere you want it front, rear, side whatever... but overall there will be no military laser option as for the turret... you think it should be ai scripted or player controlled...liek a front weapon...i really havent worked with turrets at all yet... tell me all you knwo about them...please
"To boldly go where no man has gone before, and drop off my Trumbles." ~ Ashby

User avatar
LittleBear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2718
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
Location: I escaped The Labyrinth with the assistance of my fledgling. After many battles, I'm in the Nexus.

Post by LittleBear » Mon Nov 03, 2008 11:49 pm

Turrets work in 1.65 and 1.72. However, the rub is that in 1.65 a turret on a player ship is just for show. Only NPCs can actually fire their turrets in 1.65.

So if you make a model with turrets in 1.65 only NPC versions of the craft will actually use them (boo!). On 1.72 if the player gets himself a ship with turrets then the turrets will lock onto hostiles and attack them.

An OXP ship with turrets will work on both 1.65 and 1.72, but the player will only gain a benefit if he is playing on 1.72.
My OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits and Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.

User avatar
chomann
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:21 pm

thanks

Post by chomann » Tue Nov 04, 2008 1:28 am

aha thanks again LB...all the more reason for the two different versions
"To boldly go where no man has gone before, and drop off my Trumbles." ~ Ashby

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid » Sun Nov 30, 2008 8:57 pm

I'm trying to put together a little station with a shipyard at the same tech level as the system it's currently in. I've put in what I think are the needed keys in the shipdata.plist, but no shipyard happens if I dock with it and then F3-F3. Can someone cast a knowing eye over the shipdata entry below and tell me which particularly simple idiot error I'm making please?

Tried to spawn it in the Leesti system at the moment (tech 11). The coriolis has a nice shipyard, my little station doesn't... :( It's based on a rock hermit as reference...

Code: Select all

{
	"pf_testStation" =
	{
		name = "Test Station";
		roles = "pf_testStation station(0)";
		ai_type = "stationAI.plist";
		cargo_type = "CARGO_NOT_CARGO";
		energy_recharge_rate = 100;
		forward_weapon_type = "WEAPON_NONE";
		frangible = no;
		has_ecm = yes;
		has_escape_pod = no;
		has_scoop = no;
		hasShipyard = 1;
		isCarrier = 1;
		equipment_price_factor = 0.8;
		has_npc_traffic = 0;
		max_energy = 25000;
		max_flight_pitch = 8;
		max_flight_roll = 8;
		max_flight_speed = 0;
		model = "new-rock.dat";
		port_radius = 500;
		requires_docking_clearance = no;
		smooth = yes;
		subentities = ( "hermit-docking-slit 0 0 0 1 0 0 0" );
		thrust = 100;
		weapon_energy = 0;
		materials =
		{
			"asteroid.png" =
			{
				shininess = 2;
				specular = (0.1, 0.1, 0.1, 1.0);
			};
		};
	}
}
[/color]

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5400
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander » Sun Nov 30, 2008 9:41 pm

This is a bug that was resolved after the 1.72 release, in SVN revision 1856 (hasShipyard was not working). Will be OK for next release.

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid » Sun Nov 30, 2008 9:44 pm

Thanks, that would explain it. It's been driving me mad trying to work out why it wasn't working (the shipyard in the main station is fine.

Still that means the OXP can be released :)

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Eric Walch » Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:32 pm

I've put in what I think are the needed keys in the shipdata.plist, but no shipyard happens if I dock with it and then F3-F3.
Now you mention it: In buoyRepair it was also not working but I forgot about it as I had other things to do. Thinking about it: I can not remember a non main station with a shipyard. Maybe it is not working at all? A main station does not use this key as it is not defined for a normal station. And when looking in the station.m code I get the impression that hasShipyard can be a fuzzy boolean or an array with conditions. But I am not sure if this hasShipyard boolean is ever checked.
EDIT: My reply crossed that of A_C. Still my question: Is it only a boolean or can I use also an array of conditions?

Post Reply