Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 5:21 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:20 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2424
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
Done: DeeperSpace HUD

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:22 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 115
I am working on an update to the HUD, because I have learned how to use setCustomHUDDial... pretty interesting stuff.

The first thing I did was to tweak the speed meter, which will now display speed in m/s with one floating point, for example 210.7 m/s, and if you are on Torus, you're told so too. I'm thinking of another custom dial that shows actual Torus speed.

Image

Image

_________________
DeeperSpace HUD | pleiadian's Oolite GitHub


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:55 am 
Offline
Competent
Competent
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:16 am
Posts: 60
Location: Canary Islands (spain)
Hi!, congratulations!, it's a great job, the only minor issue is that it takes up too much space on the screen, especially if you are using some MFD.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:57 am 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 115
Quote:
Hi!, congratulations!, it's a great job, the only minor issue is that it takes up too much space on the screen, especially if you are using some MFD.
Thanks!

It is based on the DeepSpace HUD after all, which had similar screen space "consumption", so... even that is true to the original ;)

_________________
DeeperSpace HUD | pleiadian's Oolite GitHub


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:03 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 115
I'm working on an enhancement to the HUD, of which I'm thinking of maybe making it a purchasable item (but this would only work with my HUD). It basically renders out information about the current system in the top left corner all the time, plus, it shows you the current nearest entity. It does so by calculating the distance to every entity in space, and then display that info.

Security is based on the political situation such as Democracy which has a number, and multiply that by 0.125 - since we have 8 ideologies. Interstellar space sets that value to 0. The higher that value, the "safer" the system *might* be.

It's not yet complete, it's missing travel info such as your next jump and how much time that will take (it's accessing route information).

Here's how it looks so far:

Image

_________________
DeeperSpace HUD | pleiadian's Oolite GitHub


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:37 am 
Offline
Jedi Spam Assassin
Jedi Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:54 pm
Posts: 5858
Location: Carter's Snort
A nice idea, but I think "Security" might be more immediately comprehensible if it was called something like "Threat Level", and would be better expressed verbally than by a number, e.g.

Low
Moderate
Substantial
Severe
Critical

(Nicked from MI5's terrorism threat levels.)

Might it be worth factoring in the amount of traffic in the system to the calculation, too? A Feudal system with very few ships in it is probably safer than a busy Dictatorship.

_________________
Oofiction: Calliope: a Captain Hesperus adventure | Stranglehold: a Captain Hesperus adventure | Local Midnight in the Vacuum Bar | A Farewell to Arms, Legs, etc.: the Blaze O'Glory Story


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:25 am 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 115
I followed your advise and I'm now perfrorming a risk analysis based on the number of total ships, and how many of those are pirates, Thargoid and police. It is levelled in the five ratings you posted.

// EDIT:
I found out that I need to factor in the fact whether or not one of the mentioned ships is in space or not (isInSpace), to get a more realistic rating of the threat level. A docked ship, or in a wormhole is not an immediate threat. It should be noted that the "risk monitor" updates in real time as it happens.

_________________
DeeperSpace HUD | pleiadian's Oolite GitHub


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:29 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:19 am
Posts: 2469
Location: Finland
Just counting ships with certain roles is pretty close to cheating in my book. I would instead try to find some nice way of predicting the threat value (based on the government, neighbouring system and such). Just to keep things fair. Overall not a bat idea though.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:53 am 
Offline
Jedi Spam Assassin
Jedi Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:54 pm
Posts: 5858
Location: Carter's Snort
Maybe make a special rating for interstellar space, just to ram home the wrongness of it all? Something like

++UNKNOWN++

or

++NO DATA++

or even just

++ERROR++

_________________
Oofiction: Calliope: a Captain Hesperus adventure | Stranglehold: a Captain Hesperus adventure | Local Midnight in the Vacuum Bar | A Farewell to Arms, Legs, etc.: the Blaze O'Glory Story


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:24 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 115
Almost finished 1.1 version with Risk Assessment and travel info (from my "live" system with my real commander):

(Click for full size)

Image

_________________
DeeperSpace HUD | pleiadian's Oolite GitHub


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:13 am 
Offline
Wiki Wizard
Wiki Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:30 pm
Posts: 1857
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia (mainly industrial, feudal, TL12)
Looks great! Just why do you use line breaks between label and value in the section about next system, distance, etc.? I'd keep it on one line, just like in the section above.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 5:46 am 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 115
Quote:
Looks great! Just why do you use line breaks between label and value in the section about next system, distance, etc.? I'd keep it on one line, just like in the section above.
Like I said... almost finished ;) This was basically to see if it works or not. The route info disappears when no destination is set.

_________________
DeeperSpace HUD | pleiadian's Oolite GitHub


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 6:37 am 
Offline
Wiki Wizard
Wiki Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:30 pm
Posts: 1857
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia (mainly industrial, feudal, TL12)
8)

Looking forward to the finished version!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:46 pm 
Offline
Harmless
Harmless

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 7:58 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Germany, north
Quote:
Almost finished 1.1 version with Risk Assessment and travel info (from my "live" system with my real commander):

(Click for full size)

Image
Great work, I am waiting for the finished HUD, will use it with some ships, best wishes
ha-jo


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:10 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 115
OK so... the risk assessment has changed a bit. It now only assesses the ships near you, not in the entire system. And based on what is found, the "threat" level is then adjusted. This still leaves an important strategic aspect of the game intact. Since the scanner is already showing you what's happening near you in a 25km radius, the Risk Assessment uses the same radius. It's called "Current Risk".

Image

There's still a small bug left having to do with the display of the next system on your route.

I should mention that the display of your destination and next system on your route are dependent on you having the Advanced Navigational Array installed.

_________________
DeeperSpace HUD | pleiadian's Oolite GitHub


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited