Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Fri Jul 21, 2017 10:37 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 181 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 1013 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2015 10:12 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2299
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
reveal the destination of all ships
Not all imho, just more.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:08 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 4:24 pm
Posts: 183
Quote:
I'm reluctant to just make all destinations visible by default
Not all but enough to make it interesting

chip or a illicit liaison (bribes) who enables a time limited access :D
Quote:
Unfortunately, in most train stations or airports, you don't run a big risk of someone with a military laser tagging along when the 0930 Light Commuter leaves the station.

Most train stations, that is.
Yep, we are living in a safe galaxy on a safe world with no pirates and offender traders whatsoever :roll:


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:57 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 11:14 pm
Posts: 355
Quote:
Yep, we are living in a safe galaxy on a safe world with no pirates and offender traders whatsoever :roll:
Thank you for completely validating and utterly supporting my point regarding why such things would be more risky in an unsafe world or a more chaotic star-system. *whistles*

_________________
Reports of my death have been greatly underestimated.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:17 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
OK, the extra bits are now in and version 0.11.0 has been released. New Jamesons will occasionally get offers to safe systems, and the hack chip will allow complete (although time limited) access to all destinations. Don't get caught using it, though! High tech level systems will catch you faster!

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:27 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 9:03 pm
Posts: 276
Is the chip for one-time-use ? How is it activated ? Not that it starts automatically. Chaotic governments grant more time I suppose. Haven't seen it sold so far...chaotic government usually comes pared with low tech and pirate coves instead of normal hermits.

Generally, a long jump into a corporate state is more dangerous than a short one into an anarchy. I've been attacked by strong pirate gangs without vipers showing up in corporate states anyway. So this version seems to make jumps into dangerous systems safer than the ones into safe systems somehow, as for anarchy destinations the chance for it to be revealed is much higher...

_________________
warning sound if a missile is inbound: Missile warning


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 10:20 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
You can use the chip multiple times if you don't get caught using it. Tech level governs how long you have to use it - I wouldn't try it it a tech level 14 or 15. But there should just be enough time in lower tech levels to get into the dock list, find a ship with the destination you want, override the authority, and turn the device off before discovery. Work fast!

Once you have the chip a new F4 interface item will be available when you dock with a GalCop station that will install the chip.

_________________
My OXP's


Last edited by phkb on Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:32 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Quote:
Generally, a long jump into a corporate state is more dangerous than a short one into an anarchy. I've been attacked by strong pirate gangs without vipers showing up in corporate states anyway. So this version seems to make jumps into dangerous systems safer than the ones into safe systems somehow, as for anarchy destinations the chance for it to be revealed is much higher...
The assumption is that Corp States are safer than Anarchies - if pirates are showing up in Corp states then they must have a few anarchy systems nearby. A trader is going to assume that corp states are safer, and therefore they won't need any company. Anarchies, though, tend to be dangerous, and so company is welcome. It's not revealing anything about the danger level - this is information readily available on the F6 screen.

The point is taken, though. Sometimes Corp States are dangerous. Any system can be dangerous, particularly with assassins on your case. This is tricky to get right, and keep some semblance of in-game "logic" to it. Have too many destinations revealed and the game is too easy, and reality starts to break down. I'll think about adding the possibility of revealing long distance "easy" systems (>= 6.0 LY from current system).

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 6:26 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Version 0.11.1 is up which fixes a small Javascipt bug, and includes some extra dock versions of ships. No logic changes.

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 2:19 pm 
Offline
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:59 am
Posts: 2
The calctype setting is much appreciated.
In hindsight I would also default traffic to medium or low instead of normal (high)
but that would require to know which ones should get high traffic (end up using the current default).
I guess I could gather that info from the log.

Speaking of which some extension is producing exceptions of "Typeerror: fulltext is null".
The only recent updates besides your extensions were spara's RescueStations and capt_murphy's Illegal Goods Tweak.*

Anyone else getting these?


*EDIT: come to think of it that messages was likely in my logs before the updates, too (so nevermind, thanks spara, though)


Last edited by beo on Sat Oct 10, 2015 3:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 3:25 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:19 am
Posts: 2428
Location: Finland
Quote:
Speaking of which some extension is producing exceptions of "Typeerror: fulltext is null".
The only recent updates besides your extensions were spara's RescueStations and capt_murphy's Illegal Goods Tweak.
The error suggests that a variable called "fulltext" is used. A quick text search over files in Rescue Stations does not reveal such a string, so that can likely be ruled out.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:00 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2299
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
Typeerror: fulltext is null
Are you read something in your Ship's Library? The mentioned variable is used there.
If yes then which book? We should be able to reproduce to make a fix.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:19 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Version 0.12.0 has just been released. This will probably be the last version before I take off the "Beta" label.

In this version:
  • Fixed issue where the pilot insurance was not being read correctly from docking ships.
  • Fixed "ship is null" bug.
  • Updated bounty changes to use "setBounty" rather than updating the bounty directly.
  • Updated RandomShipNames code to use roleIsInCategory function.
  • Fixed issue with Free Trade Zone, where no ships were showing in the dock list.
  • Prevented station monkey patch from patching itself.
  • Fixed issue where Java script error could occur when checking shuttle destinations.
  • Moved more static text into descriptions.plist.
  • Added callback routine to ship data array, so OXP's can add a ship and then be told when the ship was launched.
  • Added more dock versions of ships from Mimoriaty ships.
  • Improved the process of adding escorts, so that escort definitions that specify a particular ship (eg "[sidewinder-escort]") will now attach to the mothership correctly.
  • Removed some duplicates in the controlled roles array.
  • Code refactoring and cleanup.

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:07 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:32 pm
Posts: 105
Location: England
@phkb

I've been away from Oolite for a while and after downloading and trying you're awesome oxz's today i'd just like to ask a question regarding this one. Forgive me if someone has asked already. When viewing the ship info will you be adding rotating ships instead of the current static images? Would be cool! Either way keep up the good work phkb. :D

_________________
Intel Core i7 3770
Fatal1ty Z77 Professional
16GB DDR3 2400MHz
Samsung 840 Evo *2
Western Digital 4TB
Seagate 2TB *2
MSI GTX 970 OC Edition 4GB
Win' 10 Ent' x64

** Current Oolite rating - DANGEROUS **


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 7:02 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Actually I turn off the rotation on ships because I was trying to simulate a ship in a dock, which obviously doesn't rotate. In the release I'm working on at the moment I've adjusted the zoom factor on some ships, so that an Anaconda looks suitably larger than an Adder. Turning on rotation might mess this up a bit. But I'd be happy to include an option to turn it on.

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 9:41 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:32 pm
Posts: 105
Location: England
Quote:
But I'd be happy to include an option to turn it on.
Yeah that would be cool, that way if it looks sh*t i can revert back to the way it was meant to be. I guess i'm just a sucker for rotating ships. :)

And thanks for getting back with a reply mate, appreciated! :wink:

_________________
Intel Core i7 3770
Fatal1ty Z77 Professional
16GB DDR3 2400MHz
Samsung 840 Evo *2
Western Digital 4TB
Seagate 2TB *2
MSI GTX 970 OC Edition 4GB
Win' 10 Ent' x64

** Current Oolite rating - DANGEROUS **


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 181 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 1013 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited