Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:15 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 191 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 713 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:36 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:36 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Los Altos, CA, USA
I've figured out what causes the bug: OOCheat itself.
I tested with OOCheat, and the bug happened as described. But, without OOCheat, and with xml editing skills, the bug does not happen.
Now what we need to figure out is why.
(Also, is there a way to attach images to posts? Also also, I am being grabbed by real life. bye.)

_________________
That is not my desk.
I find this lack of milk... disturbing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:39 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13376
Location: Corke's Drift
Quote:
Also, is there a way to attach images to posts?
Upload them to a host, then link to them.

_________________
But I wish, me my friend, I could sail to the stars
Have the gift to transport
My whole being, my whole thought
To a world of dreams, my friend


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 9:16 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2529
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
is there a way to attach images to posts?
Probably you missed my recent post.

You are needed here, thanks for your help in debug - I like laziness also. ;)

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 9:34 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:35 am
Posts: 482
Location: Paris
Quote:
Wait,
So it happens even if nothing but OOCheat is installed?
I'm going to have to test this myself.
Yes. Well, at least on my computer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 9:39 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:35 am
Posts: 482
Location: Paris
Quote:
I've figured out what causes the bug: OOCheat itself.
I tested with OOCheat, and the bug happened as described. But, without OOCheat, and with xml editing skills, the bug does not happen.
Now what we need to figure out is why.
Huh? Well, I used OOCheat just because I needed lots of money quickly to test this with a new game, but I didn't use it when I was testing with my own savegames.

When you say "xml editing skills", you mean you tested by editing your money account in the xml savegame directly?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:29 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:36 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Los Altos, CA, USA
Back from real life. What I meant was that with OOCheat uninstalled, I found the credits key within my save file directly, as you said, and added a bunch of zeros. It worked. But when I added money with OOCheat, it didn't. Which is what I said "and now we need to figure out why" about.
Sorry for the confusion.Also, did you have OoCheat installed even if you weren't using it? Silly question, I just looked at the list and it isn't there. By how much does your money exceed the fee? I might need to look at the price aspect of my storage function.

_________________
That is not my desk.
I find this lack of milk... disturbing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:38 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:36 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Los Altos, CA, USA
I figured out that it is not OOCheat, sorry about that. I think I have narrowed the problem down to the price check function.
I'm going to take a look at it right now.

_________________
That is not my desk.
I find this lack of milk... disturbing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 1:49 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:36 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Los Altos, CA, USA
Alright, I have identified and fixed the problem. Basically, the check to see if the player had enough money to use the hangar was using variables that were updated by the ship being bought. Unfortunately, I cannot get the wiki to load right now, so you will all have to wait. Sorry :(.

_________________
That is not my desk.
I find this lack of milk... disturbing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:18 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:35 am
Posts: 482
Location: Paris
Yay!! It's nice it's fixed :-)
I really really wanted to enjoy the ability to have several ships.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 4:05 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:36 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Los Altos, CA, USA
Yeah, it is nice to have something working.
Unfortunately, you might find yourself having too many ships due to a bug I re-re-re-re-uncovered while fixing yours.
Anyway, I am going to upload this partially fixed version, since the bug isn't dehabilitating.

EDIT:
Alright, version 1.6.4 is available from the expansion manager or http://wiki.alioth.net/img_auth.php/c/c ... _1.6.4.oxz.
A side note: the hangar is incompatible with the shield cycler equiment, as I just found out. In general, if it doesn't show up under equipment, it won't be saved. Another (perhaps more serious) sidenote: This version WILL muck up your savefile if you save with it. It will not make it unusable, it will just save a crapton of ships if you look at the shipyard a lot. For this reason, the next version will have a savefile purge option.

_________________
That is not my desk.
I find this lack of milk... disturbing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 6:55 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:59 pm
Posts: 545
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
the hangar is incompatible with the shield cycler equiment, as I just found out. In general, if it doesn't show up under equipment, it won't be saved.
No need for special measures for SC, Norby and i have already talked about solving that.
Check Ship Storage helper thread, page 4 for details.

_________________
OS : Arch Linux 64-bit - rolling release

OXPs : My user page

I am subscribed to the threads for my oxps, if you need my attention just post in them or send a pm.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 7:14 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:36 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Los Altos, CA, USA
Alright, thanks. :)
Also, a bit late though, when I said "am I needed here", it should have probably been appended with "If not, call me if you need me, and I will help". That was the intent anyway. It looked like you guys had it under control. Sorry for the confusion.

_________________
That is not my desk.
I find this lack of milk... disturbing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 11:11 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:36 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Los Altos, CA, USA
Alright! I finally, most definitely™ killed that bug. You can find the new version from http://wiki.alioth.net/img_auth.php/5/5 ... _1.6.5.oxz or from the expansion manager, as per usual. I unfortunately forgot about the purge option. Selling the extra ships also works, but this may seem like cheating to some. If you absolutely cannot stand the savefile problem and cannot wait, I will point you in the right direction.
Do one of these two things:

- Open up your savefile and delete the line <key>mission_hyperSpace_namesStored</key>, as well as from <string> to </string> below it. You might want to back up your savefile. Run Oolite with the hangar installed and save. This will delete all of your of your stored ships, as well as restoring the options to default.

- Sell all the ships, keeping tally of how much money you make. Save and exit Oolite. Open your savefile and find the <credits> key. Multiply the amount of money you gained by 10 (this is including that .5 or whatever), and then subtract it from the number listed there. Replace the old listing with the number you just got.

_________________
That is not my desk.
I find this lack of milk... disturbing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 7:07 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:36 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Los Altos, CA, USA
Version 1.8.0 is out. (version 1.7.0 had a lifespan of not 30 minutes)
New features(!) include:

-Remove ships option. This removes them entirely, without refund.
-OXPConfig is now optional, though recommended; You cannot use options without OXPConfig.

Available from: http://wiki.alioth.net/img_auth.php/4/4 ... _1.8.0.oxz or the expansion manager.

_________________
That is not my desk.
I find this lack of milk... disturbing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 7:09 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13376
Location: Corke's Drift
Quote:
Version 1.8.0 is out. (version 1.7.0 had a lifespan of not 30 minutes)
<chuckles> Enjoying the cookies?

_________________
But I wish, me my friend, I could sail to the stars
Have the gift to transport
My whole being, my whole thought
To a world of dreams, my friend


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 191 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 713 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited