Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Tue May 23, 2017 8:40 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 130 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 9 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 3:12 am 
Offline
Average
Average

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:34 am
Posts: 10
This is a really great expansion, thank you for making it. :)

There are four small annoyances/bugs I've noticed. (Using Oolite 1.82, Windows Vista 64 bit).
  • When my ship gets destroyed (Cobra MkIII), the deck is still there, floating through space.
  • When a derelict I am close to is of too great a mass for me to pick up, the warning messages repeat fast enough that I consider it spam
  • On my MFD, I can only see decks 2-6. It looks like Deck 1 gets cut off at the top of the MFD/screen (my MFD is located at top of screen - using default HUD)
  • When I dock at a station with derelicts, a bunch of randomly placed text strings providing some vague information about the sold derelicts show...but in random places, and on top of other text on the screen.
Possible suggestion: Would it be possible to "salvage" derelicts yourself, rather than selling automatically at the station? As in, take out equipment (lasers, ECM, shield boosters, etc) and sell individually, before scrapping for metal? Or, perhaps "repair" derelicts for a large sum of credits, to get a usable escort (though at a noticeable discount compared to buying from F3 screen)?


Last edited by Strato1 on Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:07 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2263
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Thank you for the feedback!
Let's see in order:
  • Imho better if some derbis left after a defeated ship. A deck is a strong metal piece so can survive an explosion in my view. If surely want remove then use this code in any worldScript:
    this.shipDied = function() {var e = worldScripts.escortdeck; if(e) e.$EscortDeckV.remove();}
  • There is an antispam feature in the core which reduce the repeats. Surely could be improved, until then at least hard to miss the warning. ;)
  • It points over this addon, could you post a screenshot, please? Take it with * key, then upload the latest file in oolite-saves/snapshots for example to postimage.org and insert the direct link into Img tag here.
  • If [wiki]Towbar[/wiki] OXP is not installed then you get text messages as fallback without the fancy screen included in the other addon (the package is enough, you do not need to hold the eqipment in your ship). A screenshot could help to know where is the problem with text clashes at you (in other cases also, especially if hard to reproduce).
  • Sell by hand and even repair is possible, just need enough work. Balancing is also important and I think the payment is already good and not so hard to find usable derelicts, but thank you for the idea, something which worth to think about again and again.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:32 pm 
Offline
Average
Average

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:34 am
Posts: 10
Thanks for the quick reply.

When taking a screenshot for the MFD issue, I can see deck 1 clearly on the screenshot...It could be the top of the window blocking it. Here's a screenshot from using Oolite's * key:
Image
And what I actually see:
Image
And here's the clashing text issue:
Image
Sorry for such a large post, but it was difficult to see any of the text if I downsized it much more.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:37 pm 
Online
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 12520
Location: Corke's Drift
Quote:
It could be the top of the window blocking it.
It's fine in full-screen mode, yes? Oh... and welcome aboard.

_________________
A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous! Got me?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:30 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 4821
@Strato1: What happens if you use the nightly build? You can download it from the first post in the nightly builds sticky thread in the Oolite PC subforum. I have never seen the window title blocking the usable game area before, which tells me something may be funny with how Vista64 does things or maybe there is a gfx driver problem.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:27 pm 
Offline
Average
Average

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:34 am
Posts: 10
Quote:
Quote:
It could be the top of the window blocking it.
It's fine in full-screen mode, yes? Oh... and welcome aboard.
Yes, it works just fine in full-screen.
Quote:
@Strato1: What happens if you use the nightly build? I have never seen the window title blocking the usable game area before, which tells me something may be funny with how Vista64 does things or maybe there is a gfx driver problem.
I just tested it with the nightly build (oolite-trunk-1.84.0.e9bfc4c-dev.x64.exe), and the problem is still there. In case any of this information could help (from "dxdiag"):

http://dumptext.com/7q6FvTZg


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 8:17 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 4821
I just had a better look at the screenshots and noticed that the sky is not drawn correctly either. This starts to look more and more like a gfx driver issue. I would suggest instaling the latest drivers from AMD. The driver version you have seems to be at least five years old.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 5:42 am 
Offline
Average
Average

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:34 am
Posts: 10
I just updated the driver, but the "newer" version is only a few months newer than the current one. Did not fix the problem. I've seen references online to newer versions than this, but couldn't find any downloads for them. This doesn't bother me much...my computer still works, and so do all the programs I run on it. I'm sure there's a way that changes to Oolite could fix this...but it works the way it is, and (as far as I know) I'm the only person having this problem.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 8:23 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 4821
If you would like to further pursue a solution for at least the sky rendering problem, you can have a look at this page:
http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Hidden ... e#Graphics. Refer specifically to sky-render-inset-coords and use-texture-lod-bias. These settings can be changed by editing the file oolite.app/GNUstep/Defaults/.GNUstepDefaults. If you have a joystick set up, best to make a copy of the file somewhere before editing it, as an error while editing would cause its contents to be deleted and re-created to default values.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 11:29 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2263
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
here's the clashing text issue
Thank you, I found and fixed a bug which caused too long message. Still overlap in this HUD if more than 2 lines needed, for example when many ships salvaged at once so the best is if you install Towbar package.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 9:39 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2263
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
In v1.9:
  • Fixed long message bug at salvage without Towbar, thanks to Strato1.
  • Too heavy message is not repeated too often anymore.
  • Deck is drifting away after player died.
  • Improved landing code based on the similar part in [wiki]Fighters[/wiki] OXP.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 10:32 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2263
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
EscortDeck v1.11 is updated for Oolite 1.84 where player can not be the leader of a group.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:18 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 5:36 pm
Posts: 44
Quote:
If you buy [EliteWiki] Escort Deck then you will see an attached platform in your aft view where you can hold your escorts. These small ships will support you in fight and return to the deck if no more enemy left, so you can travel at Torus speeds without leaving your guards behind. An useful help against powerful pirate groups and a tool to salvage small ships in addition to [wiki]Towbar[/wiki].

You own your escort ships, not only rent as in Hired Guns. You can buy ships if you are rich or build up your fleet from derelict ships if you are lucky enough to find some in usable condition.

The height of escort ships is limited to 29m (Moray) and width to 70m (Cobra Mark I) to be able to dock with escorts on board. There is a few space in the sides which can hold two Adders if your ship is at least 130t like a Cobra Mark III.

Image

Anaconda and larger ships can hold 8 escorts on a long deck:
Image

[wiki]Carriers[/wiki] can hold 10 ships on the hull:
Image


[wiki]EscortPack[/wiki] contain additional escort ships:
Image
I have a problem.
The Escort Deck and Carriers are working fine.
But I cannot find a "Refund Escort Deck" or "Remove Escort Deck" option.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 4:00 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2263
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
I cannot find a "Refund Escort Deck" or "Remove Escort Deck" option.
It is not implemented due to the deck is a neutral thing if emtpy. Removing it is the same as if you remove the oxp, what you can do in the manager.

This is true for any equipments created by oxps: if you rempve the package which define it and load and save your game then the equipment will be removed from your ship, even if you reinstall the oxp after these.

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 4:08 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 5:36 pm
Posts: 44
Quote:
Quote:
I cannot find a "Refund Escort Deck" or "Remove Escort Deck" option.
It is not implemented due to the deck is a neutral thing if emtpy. Removing it is the same as if you remove the oxp, what you can do in the manager.

This is true for any equipments created by oxps: if you rempve the package which define it and load and save your game then the equipment will be removed from your ship, even if you reinstall the oxp after these.
Thanks.
Please consider to, in a future update, implement a Remove Escort Deck feature if possible.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 130 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 9 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited