Smart HUD OXZ

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Smart HUD OXZ

Post by Smivs »

The new Combat HUD is proving very popular, but it has also become clear that some Commanders find the Red Alert mode is not to their taste.
So, for them, Smart HUD is now available. SmartHUD is CombatHUD without the Red Alert bits. In all other respects it is identical, and is available in standard or widescreen versions. Why Smart HUD? Well, it's smart in that it is neat and tidy, and it's smart in the sense that it is well laid-out and logical to use.
Full details and pics are on the wiki page.

Remember to manually remove any existing HUD OXP/OXZ before installing.
Last edited by Smivs on Wed Jun 10, 2015 2:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Zireael »

Great!

User avatar
demon59
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 8:56 pm

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by demon59 »

Many thanks, Smivs! :D

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 545
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Lone_Wolf »

Smivs,

on my 1920x1200 screen using Smarthud-WS the text of the side displays is cut off on left & right edge.


Maybe you used a screen with higher resolution then 1920 x1200 ?
OS : Arch Linux 64-bit - rolling release

OXPs : My user page

I am subscribed to the threads for my oxps, if you need my attention just post in them or send a pm.

User avatar
Wildeblood
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2161
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Wildeblood »

Lone_Wolf wrote:On my 1920x1200 screen using Smarthud-WS the text of the side displays is cut off on left & right edge.
Maybe you used a screen with higher resolution then 1920 x1200 ?
Smivs probably used 1920 x 1080 (TV). I was surprised how much difference there is between 8x5 and 16x9 aspect ratios.

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Smivs »

Wildeblood is partly correct.
I checked it on both my monitors, a 19" 16:10 LCD monitor (1440x900), and a 50" 16:9 plasma TV (1920x1080). It looks fine on both, so I'm sorry it doesn't fit on yours, Lone Wolf. You may need to use the standard version, or try tweaking the position of the message and multi-function displays. If you do try this, adjusting the width might be better than trying to re-locate them.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

Neelix
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:02 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Neelix »

It should be possible to position the MFDs relative to the edge of the screen, (preferably up against said edge) that we way they'll be in the right positions regardless of the actual screen width. The relevant code can be found in Dizzy's OXP tweaking thread IIRC in the posts discussing MFDs in NumericHUD.

- Neelix
Talaxian Enterprises: [wiki]Vacuum Pump[/wiki] [wiki]Waypoint Here[/wiki]

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 545
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Lone_Wolf »

The standard version works ok, smivs.

I know very little about hud design, but there's a strange thing here :

my screen has the exact same ratio as (16:10 ) as that 19" 1440x900 .

How does Oolite scale hud sizes ?
OS : Arch Linux 64-bit - rolling release

OXPs : My user page

I am subscribed to the threads for my oxps, if you need my attention just post in them or send a pm.

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Smivs »

Lone_Wolf wrote: How does Oolite scale hud sizes ?
<shrugs> TBH I've got no idea! Screen resolution might play a part, but I really don't know.
I'll take another look at Dizzie's post (thanks Neelix) and see if any improvements can be made.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6310
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Diziet Sma »

Smivs wrote:I'll take another look at Dizzie's post (thanks Neelix) and see if any improvements can be made.
Specifically, this post by Spara is the one you want.
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?p=220763#p220763
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Smivs »

Thanks. Something for the next update :)
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
Wildeblood
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2161
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Wildeblood »

Question for Smivs and Lone Wolf: are you using Oolite in full screen or windowed mode? In full screen you should be seeing the same result if your monitors are both 8:5 ("16:10", sigh). But if you're using windowed mode, the aspect ratio of the game window will be wider than 8:5.

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Smivs »

Wildeblood wrote:Question for Smivs and Lone Wolf: are you using Oolite in full screen or windowed mode?
Hmmm, I know this sounds daft but I didn't know!
Upon checking it seems that I use windowed mode but with the window expanded to fill the screen. Switching between the two doesn't seem to make any difference, but narrowing the 'window' even a tiny bit does start to squeeze things a bit.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 545
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Lone_Wolf »

I normally run full screen, tried windowed mode but get the same effect.

thumbnail of fullscreen snapshot
Image
OS : Arch Linux 64-bit - rolling release

OXPs : My user page

I am subscribed to the threads for my oxps, if you need my attention just post in them or send a pm.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13825
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE} Smart HUD

Post by Cody »

I'm curious about this, as I'd most probably have problems with my custom Fighter Hud on a differently-sized monitor.

Post Reply