RELEASE - ZZ_GrOovy_BBS_MiLHUD - TEST 2

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

dertien
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:27 pm
Location: Belgium, Monarchy, Feudal, Overtaxed system

Re: RELEASE - ZZ_GrOovy_BBS_MiLHUD - TEST

Post by dertien » Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:15 pm

cim wrote:
dertien wrote:Let's say I have that yellow-green-red dashboard that is recut to 1600 px wide and 302 px high (instead of the original now which is 1600 * 900, with a minimum of transparency), and I have that same dashboard, but with a bigger canvas area and thus more transparency as a size of powers of two (lets say 2048 px by 512 px,) will the latter be less resource consuming or more, since it is bigger, but it's length and width are a power of two ?
Any texture file loaded by Oolite which is not a power of 2 in size will first be rescaled so it is a power of two in size. So you may as well make them that big to start with, or you get a (smallish) delay when first loading the texture as Oolite stretches or compresses it to fit, and it might not interpolate it at the quality you get out of a proper graphics program.

After that the smaller the image can be without losing detail the better. So I'd go for seeing if you can fit it into 1024x256 without losing detail, and if you can't then make it 2048x512. One texture of that size - especially a HUD texture which is always going to stay in the texture cache - is probably fine.

Well, I did just that now with the new images, got them to powers of 2 where I could, even some small icons. Everything exept the colored hud itself is now in a power of 2.

Thanks for the feedback cim, don't forget to try out the new one.
Alpha Backer of Elite Dangerous
With 250 GBP :D

dertien
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:27 pm
Location: Belgium, Monarchy, Feudal, Overtaxed system

Re: RELEASE - ZZ_GrOovy_BBS_MiLHUD - TEST

Post by dertien » Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:22 pm

Norby wrote:Nice HUD dertien, here is my impressions after a short try.

Good:
-strong alert level feedback by changing cabin lights,
-detailed description of repositioning telescope visual target,
-freighterhud images - I guess it is a preview of a planned improvement.

Less good or my suggestions to change:
-too small target name display under crosshairs.
-message consoles can be a bit larger also in both line numbers and font size,
-flashes of the white inner circle in crosshairs is disturbing without a description of meaning.

I was not big performance problems but my FPS dropped from 60 to 30 so you should use icon images as cim said.

I will do updates in Telescope for Oolite 1.79 to show default Griff noshader ships and I plan to add a handler if somebody install your HUD with Telescope in 1.79 then can get repositioned visual target by default due to player.ship.viewPositionForward is available.
Hi Norby, thanks for the feedback.

I changed the hud completely now, since I was not really happy with performance and functionality. Try out the new hud, your telescope still will function as it used to, I have not changed anything yet. Let's keep it like this and see how the hud will perform with other players before committing more days to it.

Ammended a few things like you said, but some stayed in there since I did like them ( like the small console windows) the explanation of the white pips in the middle of the crosshairs is in the readme file now.
Alpha Backer of Elite Dangerous
With 250 GBP :D

User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2549
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: RELEASE - ZZ_GrOovy_BBS_MiLHUD - TEST 2

Post by Norby » Sat Dec 28, 2013 3:40 am

Thank you, nice work! I like your changes, especially these fighter plane-like warning boxes, and I got 60 FPS again. :)

User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3033
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Re: RELEASE - ZZ_GrOovy_BBS_MiLHUD - TEST 2

Post by pagroove » Sun Dec 29, 2013 11:38 am

Hi Dertien,

Yesterday I tested your new HUD. Excellent work. I can confirm that it works on Mac now. I love the touches you've given to it like the color change with the condition green to yellow to red.

I find that the right panel (fuel etc) is difficult to read because the bars are yellow and the background also. This is especially true with the fuel gauge.
Also the scanner is a bit to high for my taste. I'm flying a trader and I think this cockpit is more meant for a fighter.

But other than that. Excellent work. Maybe a HUD-set for each core ship? (just kidding) :).
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709

dertien
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:27 pm
Location: Belgium, Monarchy, Feudal, Overtaxed system

Re: RELEASE - ZZ_GrOovy_BBS_MiLHUD - TEST 2

Post by dertien » Sun Dec 29, 2013 9:52 pm

Hey Pagroove,

Happy you like it, will tone down the colors to grey values, so the colored gauges are better visible. I have a trader version that looks good enough, could make one so the scanner is a little smaller for the trader version with extra struts on top for the trader, also in colors green, red and yellow.

Will cook something up but that's for after newyears.

See you after the party.

Greetings

13
Alpha Backer of Elite Dangerous
With 250 GBP :D

SARR
Competent
Competent
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:32 am

Re: RELEASE - ZZ_GrOovy_BBS_MiLHUD - TEST 2

Post by SARR » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:22 pm

Really stylish, I like it....replaced my deepspace hud..... :mrgreen:

Edit: Witht the kids in bed I had enough time to try it out. really good and I got used to it quickly. One suggestion: In a combat situation shield and laser status are a little bit hard to read. what about making them less transparent? or remove them from the left side and put them in an overhead panel?

EditII: Under condition yellow, the fuel status and the altimeter are a little bit hard to read.....

anyway, I am going to use this hud from now on 8)

Greez SARR

dertien
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:27 pm
Location: Belgium, Monarchy, Feudal, Overtaxed system

Re: RELEASE - ZZ_GrOovy_BBS_MiLHUD - TEST 2

Post by dertien » Sun Mar 09, 2014 7:31 pm

Yes, I'm aware I need to polish this hud a little more, will have some time doing that after the shippack.

Will keep these things in consideration and implement them, as well as a trader hud for Pagroove.

Thanks for the positive feedback and glad you like the hud.
Alpha Backer of Elite Dangerous
With 250 GBP :D

Post Reply