Page 1 of 9

[Release] Stations for Extra Planets

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:30 am
by spara
Hello all.

I wanted a reason to visit those far away planets and I also wanted to put those fine stations people have built some where and not override my current station set. This is the result :D.

And it supports station_validator too.

I have tested it with System Redux and it seems to be functioning ok. Enjoy.

Details from wiki.

Download from the in-game expansion manager.

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:00 pm
by Duggan
Excellent Idea spara, Thanks for developing this oxp.

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:15 pm
by JazHaz
Yes, excellent idea. I also want a reason to visit those other planets.

Do I need one or more of those station OXPs installed, or does it also pick from the normal stations?

EDIT: no I see that you have included the models in the OXP.

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:25 pm
by JazHaz
I just installed this OXP but there seems to be a problem. The planet textures have gone.

Image
Stations for extra planets OXP by JazHaz, on Flickr

I'm using Deep Horizons Systems OXP to add other planets, and Povray Planets OXP for the planet textures. I can confirm that all was well before adding the OXP.

Can't see any errors in my log though.

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:12 pm
by spara
JazHaz wrote:I just installed this OXP but there seems to be a problem. The planet textures have gone.

I'm using Deep Horizons Systems OXP to add other planets, and Povray Planets OXP for the planet textures. I can confirm that all was well before adding the OXP.

Can't see any errors in my log though.
That's really weird as this oxp does not touch planet textures or settings. I could not reproduce the problem. I installed Deep Horizons, flew to Isinor where was three extra planets with stations and textures. Could this be some memory thing, where planet texture does not get loaded for some reason? I'm way out of my depth here, I'm afraid :(.

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:06 pm
by JazHaz
Here's my log, but I still can't see anything wrong in it.

https://www.box.com/s/50lidopcn813f2x80lgv

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:51 pm
by spara
JazHaz wrote:Here's my log, but I still can't see anything wrong in it.
Thanks for providing the log. I too cannot see anything obviously wrong. Could you please try this oxp with only Deep Horizon - Systems and Povray Planets, so we can rule out other oxps? And are the textures missing from main planet, moons and/or extra planets?

Has anybody else noticed this behaviour?

ps. You might want to update Trophy Collector to get rid of warnings :wink:.

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:50 pm
by JazHaz
Just played another session. Strange though, all seems to be working now!
spara wrote: ps. You might want to update Trophy Collector to get rid of warnings :wink:.
Wasn't aware that had been updated. Just got it.

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:08 pm
by spara
JazHaz wrote:Just played another session. Strange though, all seems to be working now!
Let's hope it stays that way :D.

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 10:11 am
by Diziet Sma
Excellent idea for an OXP.. downloading. 8)

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 12:34 pm
by Tichy
Wow! I tried it... Now I'm spending HOURS instead of minutes, doing in-system travels :D

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:39 pm
by JazHaz
Tichy wrote:Wow! I tried it... Now I'm spending HOURS instead of minutes, doing in-system travels :D
Yeah my first trip (pictured above) was to a 2nd planet in the system. It took about five minutes at torus speed to get there!

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:02 pm
by Switeck
I have this and System_Redux.oxp installed, but I'm not seeing any other stations.
Do I need other OXPs as well?

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:21 pm
by spara
Switeck wrote:I have this and System_Redux.oxp installed, but I'm not seeing any other stations.
Do I need other OXPs as well?
No, you don't need any other oxps. If there are extra planets (not moons) in system, each one should have a station. And those stations should have beacons in ASC. In my set-up with System_Redux, Lave has two extra planets that have stations. Is there anything in the log?

Re: [Release] Stations for Extra Planets oxp 1.0

Posted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:02 pm
by Tichy
I noticed that the buoys and PAGroove stations appeared on the scanner as ships, instead of stations and buoys. I added the correct scanClass to the stations, where I found it missing.
Here the shipdata.plist, if you want to check (I tested only for a Coriolis Greenline Variant).
https://www.box.com/s/2bemmkwmwtzf6mmyitnq
However, I wasn't able to fix the buoys.

Also, some textures weren't properly loaded. Same problem as here: http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?p=202391#p202391
Here the fixed textures (Tested) :)
https://www.box.com/s/kk01kj9scb4nl1pr2bv5

Personally, I would slow down the rotation of the stations. But it's a matter of taste. :)