[RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Captain Beatnik
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:15 pm
Location: Eastern Bavaria (Average Agricultural Confederacy)

[RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by Captain Beatnik »

Coluber Works and Shipyards Ltd. releases a new hud. The CRR-HUD was especially designed for the Coluber Red Racer heavy fighter (see http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11206) but the hud is also available as a separate software upgrade for other ships.

Image

FEATURES:
- simple one-config-file hud with no scripting;
- bigger scanner;
- bigger space-compass with integrated gauges for pitch, roll an yaw;
- newly-arranged gauges;
- new position of the comlog- and message-gui;
- additional control lights for energybomb, ECM, escapepod, shieldenhancements, energybanks,
galhyperdrive, docking computers and fuel-injectors;
- customized, integrated crosshairs;
- scales

You can download the new hud here:

Current version:
Version 1.0: http://www.box.com/s/k6a75kq6a2kdsh54djsr

If you find any bugs, please report them.

Version history:
1.0 First release

Best regards

C.B.
I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.
(Douglas Adams, 1952 - 2001)

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by DaddyHoggy »

Looks really nice - clean.

Well done.
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
Cmdr. Maegil
Sword-toting nut-job
Sword-toting nut-job
Posts: 1294
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:28 pm
Location: On the mend in Western Africa

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by Cmdr. Maegil »

Looks real nice - but IMO, for being cluttered... in a nice, tech-y way, that is. It passes the feeling that one definitively should read the manual before using.

It's a surprise to me that now one can make up gauges and functional icons for the HUDs.
You know those who, having been mugged and stabbed, fired, dog run over, house burned down, wife eloped with best friend, daughters becoming prostitutes and their countries invaded - still say that "all is well"?
I'm obviously not one of them.

User avatar
CommonSenseOTB
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 10:42 am
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by CommonSenseOTB »

Very nice design Captain Beatnik, simple, yet enhanced functionality on the guages, no manual required and easy to understand at a glance. Very nice indeed. :D
Take an idea from one person and twist or modify it in a different way as a return suggestion so another person can see a part of it that can apply to the oxp they are working on.


CommonSense 'Outside-the-Box' Design Studios Ltd.
WIKI+OXPs

User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3035
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by pagroove »

Thanks for this. I use this hud since today as my new standard hud. Excellent design! :D
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709

User avatar
maik
Wiki Wizard
Wiki Wizard
Posts: 1879
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:30 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia (mainly industrial, feudal, TL12)

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by maik »

CommonSenseOTB wrote:Very nice design Captain Beatnik, simple, yet enhanced functionality on the guages, no manual required and easy to understand at a glance. Very nice indeed. :D
Yes, I agree! Added it to the [wiki]OXP List[/wiki], apparently I missed it earlier.

User avatar
ClymAngus
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2508
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:31 am
Location: London England
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by ClymAngus »

That is impressive work.

User avatar
Ranthe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:35 pm
Location: Paraparaumu, New Zealand (TL 8, Rich Agricultural, Multi-Government)

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by Ranthe »

Hello,

I've discovered that under v1.77 the "Energy Gauge" indicator bar in this HUD doesn't display properly - instead of the solid bar in 1.76, it appears to be no bar with a thin line running through it. It's not possible to see how much energy is left (until you get "Press Space Commander" :cry: ).

OXP Version: CRR_HUD_1_0_2012-01-18
Commander Ranthe: Flying the Anaconda-class transport Atomic Annie through Galaxy 2.
Combat Ranking: Dangerous
"Big ships take more booty on your interstellar flights..."

User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4018
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by cim »

This is a bug in 1.77, and will be fixed in the next release. The n_bars setting is not being read properly in the HUD definition. Apologies for not catching this before release.

There is a workaround for this problem. Open the hud.plist file, and insert "n_bars = 1" at the top.

Code: Select all

{
	// workaround for 1.77 bug
	n_bars = 1;

	// C R O S S H A I R   S E T T I N G S
	crosshair_scale		=  32.0;
	crosshair_width		=   1.5;
This will make the HUD display properly again in 1.77.

User avatar
Ranthe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:35 pm
Location: Paraparaumu, New Zealand (TL 8, Rich Agricultural, Multi-Government)

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by Ranthe »

cim wrote:This is a bug in 1.77, and will be fixed in the next release. The n_bars setting is not being read properly in the HUD definition. Apologies for not catching this before release.

There is a workaround for this problem. Open the hud.plist file, and insert "n_bars = 1" at the top.

Code: Select all

{
	// workaround for 1.77 bug
	n_bars = 1;

	// C R O S S H A I R   S E T T I N G S
	crosshair_scale		=  32.0;
	crosshair_width		=   1.5;
This will make the HUD display properly again in 1.77.
Thanks for this - all working again.
Commander Ranthe: Flying the Anaconda-class transport Atomic Annie through Galaxy 2.
Combat Ranking: Dangerous
"Big ships take more booty on your interstellar flights..."

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by Smivs »

Would this issue also be responsible for this anomaly that has appeared on my Combat HUD (and others)?

Image
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4018
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by cim »

No, that's a completely different (and previously unknown) HUD display problem.

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by Smivs »

cim wrote:No, that's a completely different (and previously unknown) HUD display problem.
OK, well it's appeared since I installed v1.77 and seems to affect the CombatHUD, and others derived from it such as the custom HUDs the Clippers have as well. Nothing in the log as far as I can see.
These were all rendering correctly under v1.76.1. :(
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13805
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by Cody »

Smivs wrote:
cim wrote:No, that's a completely different (and previously unknown) HUD display problem.
OK, well it's appeared since I installed v1.77...
Did you not have a trunk version (that became 1.77) installed at any time?

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] CRR-HUD

Post by Smivs »

El Viejo wrote:
Smivs wrote:
cim wrote:No, that's a completely different (and previously unknown) HUD display problem.
OK, well it's appeared since I installed v1.77...
Did you not have a trunk version (that became 1.77) installed at any time?
No. I D/L'd one just prior to becoming ill, but never installed it. So I've never had a trunk version installed, I just upgraded my main install from 1.76.1 to 1.77.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

Post Reply