Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Yodeebe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Namab

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Yodeebe »

Hi Eric.
I had one before though (maybe 2 yrs ago?), and it had working turrets, as in the picture above.
There seems to be turret info in the oxp, although maybe thats for the npc's
Maybe I got the Falcon ship from a different oxp though, like maybe Lestraedes mega bundle, or Star Wars.
I don't seem to have it any more, anyway.
Image

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Eric Walch »

Yodeebe wrote:Maybe I got the Falcon ship from a different oxp though, like maybe Lestraedes mega bundle, or Star Wars.
I don't seem to have it any more, anyway.
It could be that you had even the original from Charley? I looked it up. Player working turrets were introduced in Oolite 1.72. Kaks optimised that oxp for 1.70 or 1.71. So it is even possible that he removed the -at that time- wrong stuff for player turrets. It was not from Lestraedes work as his player Falcons didn't have turret initialisation code either.

User avatar
Ironfist
Commander
Commander
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: London

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Ironfist »

I had a look at the contents of the kestrel_falcon1_71_0.zip. The difference in the player and NPC variants of the Falcon S is in the definitions of the player and NPC turrets - the NPC turret definition has an additional 4 lines of code:-
<key>setup_actions</key>
<array>
<string>initialiseTurret</string>
</array>
this means that the NPC versions will have working turrets while the player ones will not.

Ironfist
64bit Mint 10 and Win 8 64bit on E8400 at 3.6GHz - ATI HD5750 graphics.
Concentration is the ability to think of absolutely nothing when it is absolutely necessary.

User avatar
Yodeebe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Namab

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Yodeebe »

[flutters eyelashes] so if i insert those lines somewhere in the player falcon? any advice most appreciated! [/flutters eyelashes]
Image

User avatar
Yodeebe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Namab

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Yodeebe »

"..... just twist the red & green wires together, cut the blue[PfIzzzzZT] oops, not the yellow one, give it a kick, and hey presto, turrets working"
"Not ready for the scrap heap yet, are you girl"

Image


Thanks for the pointer Ironfist.
Image

Wirenut
Average
Average
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Wirenut »

Hello everyone! first post here, i have been playing Oolite for a while now and having fun i did manage to make enough running computers bought at 64 CR/T and sold on a planet buying at 100cr / t bought myself a nice shiney new Falcon-S at the Zaonce shipyards and to my dismay my turrets do not function. Now i tried to gleen my way thru it with the help of Ironfists advice but i can't follow it properly.

these 4 lines need to be somewhere in the Player section of shipdata for falcon-S but i can't figure it out, could someone help me out please :)

Mr Giles thanks for a great game
all you modders thanks for your hard work

<griff needs more bandwidth, i wanna try that proto boa>

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13825
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Cody »

Hi Wirenut, and welcome aboard. I can't help you with the turrets thingy, I'm afraid. Hopefully, someone will be along in the morning (euro-time) who can.

The Griff bandwidth problem may be sorted tomorrow... I hope.

Wirenut
Average
Average
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Wirenut »

Legit thanks for the reply.

User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6310
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Diziet Sma »

Wirenut wrote:Now i tried to gleen my way thru it with the help of Ironfists advice but i can't follow it properly.

these 4 lines need to be somewhere in the Player section of shipdata for falcon-S but i can't figure it out, could someone help me out please :)
G'day Wirenut, and welcome!

Without having tried it out (I'm going to, though :twisted: ) this should do the trick for you. Firstly, save a copy of the original shipdata.plist in the Kestrel & Falcon OXP, so that you can always revert to it if something goes wrong. (If you're using Windows, do not use Notepad for the following, it will mangle things. Use Wordpad, or better yet, Notepad++ instead)

Then, find the section in the shipdata.plist that looks like this:

Code: Select all

	<key>bweed-falcon-player_turret</key>
	<dict>
		<key>ai_type</key>
		<string>nullAI.plist</string>
		<key>energy_recharge_rate</key>
		<real>1.5</real>
		<key>laser_color</key>
		<string>redColor</string>
		<key>max_energy</key>
		<real>60</real>
		<key>model</key>
		<string>bweed-falcon-turret.dat</string>
		<key>name</key>
		<string>bweed-falcon-turret</string>
		<key>roles</key>
		<string>bweed-falcon-turret</string>
		<key>smooth</key>
		<true/>
		<key>thrust</key>
		<real>1</real>
		<key>weapon_energy</key>
		<real>6</real>
	</dict>
And insert the following code just before the line <key>smooth</key>

Code: Select all

		<key>setup_actions</key>
		<array>
			<string>initialiseTurret</string>
		</array>
So that you end up with:

Code: Select all

	<key>bweed-falcon-player_turret</key>
	<dict>
		<key>ai_type</key>
		<string>nullAI.plist</string>
		<key>energy_recharge_rate</key>
		<real>1.5</real>
		<key>laser_color</key>
		<string>redColor</string>
		<key>max_energy</key>
		<real>60</real>
		<key>model</key>
		<string>bweed-falcon-turret.dat</string>
		<key>name</key>
		<string>bweed-falcon-turret</string>
		<key>roles</key>
		<string>bweed-falcon-turret</string>
		<key>setup_actions</key>
		<array>
			<string>initialiseTurret</string>
		</array>
		<key>smooth</key>
		<true/>
		<key>thrust</key>
		<real>1</real>
		<key>weapon_energy</key>
		<real>6</real>
	</dict>
That should do the trick.. Save the file, and be sure when you re-start Oolite to hold down the shift key until you see the spinning Cobra MkIII, this forces Oolite to rebuild its cache, otherwise your changes won't take.

And don't forget, you need to use 'shift-n' and 'n' to enable/disable the turrets, as described above.
Edit: shift-n Turret Switching not working. Turrets appear to work though, going by Wirenut's report.
Last edited by Diziet Sma on Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied

Wirenut
Average
Average
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Wirenut »

Oh thanks so much for the quick reply, those shortcuts thru the anarchy systems are a snap now :twisted:

Obviously it worked and yes she' brutal.
Image
Image
Last edited by Wirenut on Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6310
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Diziet Sma »

Excellent. 8)

(shift-n Turret Switching doesn't seem to be active though.. I assume the turrets are simply always online?)
Wirenut wrote:those shortcuts thru the anarchy systems are a snap now :twisted:
Hmm.. maybe consider adding Tough Guys OXP to even things up a little.. :twisted: :twisted:
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied

Wirenut
Average
Average
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Wirenut »

Seems to me from early furballing with pirate :twisted: the turrets autofire on my selected radar target. rarely do i need a second pass after that initial laser blast headon and targeting. once they fly past and are withen the turrets arc, it's over.

ToughGuysOXP i will do that. I was already attacked by a Serenity LoL.



Image

User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6310
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Diziet Sma »

Sweet! I think I've found my Contrabandista ship.. :twisted: :lol:
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied

Wirenut
Average
Average
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Wirenut »

Yea she's a bueaty for sure, thanks for the help!

I have a playthru planned

like Hans Solo, I "inherited" a ship way above my paygrade to do my "rogueish" activities with,
ship is barebone cept for the massive engines, turrets, and cargo hold with 2 passenger berths.
Playthru starts out with 100cr toughguys oxp installed

I think high value dangerous routes are gonna be this girls claim to glory.

User avatar
Rese249er
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:19 pm
Location: Well, I WAS in G3...

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Rese249er »

Wirenut wrote:Yea she's a bueaty for sure, thanks for the help!

I have a playthru planned

like Hans Solo, I "inherited" a ship way above my paygrade to do my "rogueish" activities with,
ship is barebone cept for the massive engines, turrets, and cargo hold with 2 passenger berths.
Playthru starts out with 100cr toughguys oxp installed

I think high value dangerous routes are gonna be this girls claim to glory.
Godspeed, my fellow hunter-trader!
Got all turned around, lost my nav connection... Where am I now?

Post Reply