Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

rollen
Competent
Competent
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 3:50 pm
Location: Devon

Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by rollen »

I was just wondering what happened to the Millenium Falcon from the Star Wars ships oxp? When I played a couple of years ago it was included in the pack but now sadly it has gone - have the Empire finally tracked down Captain Solo and sent the ship to the knackers yard?
"time flies like the wind, fruit flies like bananas"

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by JazHaz »

Whoever did the Generation ship flyby video on YouTube, uses the MF, as that is the ship that appears in the video. Might be worth dropping them an email?

User avatar
Ironfist
Commander
Commander
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: London

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Ironfist »

There is a version under the name Falcon, you will find it in the ships section of the Wiki.

Ironfist
64bit Mint 10 and Win 8 64bit on E8400 at 3.6GHz - ATI HD5750 graphics.
Concentration is the ability to think of absolutely nothing when it is absolutely necessary.

User avatar
maik
Wiki Wizard
Wiki Wizard
Posts: 1882
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:30 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia (mainly industrial, feudal, TL12)

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by maik »

It comes as part of the Kestrel & Falcon OXP.

rollen
Competent
Competent
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 3:50 pm
Location: Devon

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by rollen »

maik wrote:It comes as part of the Kestrel & Falcon OXP.

found it - thanks.
"time flies like the wind, fruit flies like bananas"

User avatar
Yodeebe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Namab

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Yodeebe »

I've been wondering where to find this one too. the one on the kestral/falcon oxp doesn't have turrets, where as the one I had before did, top & bottom, as you can just about see here.

Image

Anyone have, or know where I can get the turret version?

Thanks.
Image

User avatar
Ironfist
Commander
Commander
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: London

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Ironfist »

It is the Falcon S and it is in the OXP.

Ironfist
64bit Mint 10 and Win 8 64bit on E8400 at 3.6GHz - ATI HD5750 graphics.
Concentration is the ability to think of absolutely nothing when it is absolutely necessary.

User avatar
Yodeebe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Namab

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Yodeebe »

Hmmm, are you sure?
I've tried the Falcon, and the Falcon S, and the only difference i can find is the colour. the 'S' is blacker. Still no turrets.
I might have some other problem though, as I (at last!) found a Vortex the other day, but couldn't get the turrets to work on that either.
I do know how turrets work btw. I've used them for ages on Caduceus, Griff proto boa, etc.
Any ideas much appreciated.
Ta.
Image

User avatar
Ironfist
Commander
Commander
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: London

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Ironfist »

Had a quick check in the shipdata.plist and 2 turrets are listed for the Falcon S player. For the Vortex sometimes the turrets need activating this is done by using Crtl-N to step through functions whilst flying until you get to 'Turret Switcher' then just use 'n' to activate or de-activate turrets. This is sometimes very useful for preventing collateral damage.

Ironfist
64bit Mint 10 and Win 8 64bit on E8400 at 3.6GHz - ATI HD5750 graphics.
Concentration is the ability to think of absolutely nothing when it is absolutely necessary.

User avatar
Yodeebe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Namab

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Yodeebe »

Nope, still not getting them.
my falcon S (now black) still has the fixed top & bottom plasma guns, which don't fire, and I'm not getting any plasma cannons on Vortex either, and ctrl n doesn't appear to do anything. (or space n)
plasma cannons still work on proto boa.
any ideas whats going on? they used to work.
oxp conflict?
'ctrl n' allocated to a different key, or not allocated?
mac OSX 10.6.8
oolite 1.73
fresh falcon download.
vortex 1.21.

:/ something squiffy somewhere.
Image

User avatar
Ironfist
Commander
Commander
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: London

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Ironfist »

Apologies Crtl-n should be N e.g. shift-n

DOH
Ironfist
64bit Mint 10 and Win 8 64bit on E8400 at 3.6GHz - ATI HD5750 graphics.
Concentration is the ability to think of absolutely nothing when it is absolutely necessary.

User avatar
Gimi
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 2073
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:02 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Gimi »

Yodeebe wrote:oolite 1.73
:/ something squiffy somewhere.
I think you'll find your squiffy something right there. Are you running 1.73 or 1.75.3. If 1.73 then upgrade to 1.75.3 beta and see if that solves your problems. Unless I'm mistaken the equipment "n"/"shift N" functionality came with 1.75, and there are a lot of other updates.
"A brilliant game of blasting and trading... Truly a mega-game... The game of a lifetime."
(Gold Medal Award, Zzap!64 May 1985).

User avatar
Yodeebe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Namab

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Yodeebe »

sorry, 1.75.3.
my mistake.
Image

User avatar
Yodeebe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Namab

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Yodeebe »

Cool, shift n sorted the vortex out, thankyou.
still no joy on the Falcon/falconS though. :/
Image

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Millenium Bug? Star wars ships..

Post by Eric Walch »

Yodeebe wrote:Cool, shift n sorted the vortex out, thankyou.
still no joy on the Falcon/falconS though. :/
Falcons have turrets, I have been under their fire often enough :(

The player version though, has no turrets. That is probably because player turrets were not possible when this oxp was released. What you see are subents in the shape of turrets, but they miss the initialisation code that let them work as turret. Probably it will be enough to copy the setup_actions from a npc turret to the player turrets.

Post Reply