Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:05 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 215 posts ]  Go to page Previous 110 11 12 13 14 15 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:52 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
Quote:
to me it looks like an extra object, try going in object mode, selecting it, and deleting it.
sometimes artifacts like this are left after some separation and smoothing of areas (which sounds like what you did).
That was it. Thanks again, Staer9. Good to know that. :)

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 6:41 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:07 pm
Posts: 96
Hi, I have a UV unwrapping problem. When unwrapping a model I am working on, part of the ship stays white and it will not let me edit it. The rest unwraps OK and can be textured. I have checked that the faces concerned are not treated as separate objects and that the whole model is selected before unwrapping. Any clues or ideas how to fix this please. Otherwise my Acclamator-class assault ship will look rather odd...

_________________
On a break


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:21 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
Quote:
Hi, I have a UV unwrapping problem. When unwrapping a model I am working on, part of the ship stays white and it will not let me edit it. The rest unwraps OK and can be textured. I have checked that the faces concerned are not treated as separate objects and that the whole model is selected before unwrapping. Any clues or ideas how to fix this please. Otherwise my Acclamator-class assault ship will look rather odd...
Sounds like a case of reversed Normals. Before I unwrap a model, I always go into Texture Paint mode to check if the Normals are reversed on any part of the ship. If the Normals are reversed, whole faces of the ship will seem to not be there, and nothing can be done with them in that state. What has happened is the outside surface, the part you have been forming to whatever shape you intend, has faces that for reasons unknown to me are flipped inside out, so that you can see through it. That's the way it would appear from the inside of the ship, if the Normals were correct. You have to select the vertices surrounding any area that show white, go to Mesh on the bottom tool bar, left click on that and pan up to Normals. You will see three options, but the one you want is "Flip Normals". That has to be done in Edit Mode. Be careful to select only the face that is showing white, because if you also select a face right next to it that isn't reversed to begin with, you will then flip that face inside out while flipping the intended face right side out.

You can still do this, even after unwrapping, but you need to put the unwrap aside for a while, return to Edit Mode, and do what I described above. Once more, you can check on which faces you want to select by just going back and forth between Texture Paint Mode, and Edit Mode. Texture Paint Mode will show what normals are flipped, as you will be able to see through those faces that are flipped inside out, and need correcting. Selecting the flipped face in Edit Mode to flip it to Normal as described above, and then rechecking in Texture Paint Mode will eventually get the whole model right side out, and THEN you should be able to work with it in unwrap. Does that make sense?.

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:47 pm 
Offline
Dangerous
Dangerous

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:07 pm
Posts: 96
Many thanks Mandoman. Problem solved.

Clone Wards Acclamator Class, hopefully coming to a spacelane near you fairly soon.

Image

_________________
On a break


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:11 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
Quote:
Many thanks Mandoman. Problem solved.

Clone Wards Acclamator Class, hopefully coming to a spacelane near you fairly soon.

Image
Very nice, Amaranth. I'll be watching for it. :)

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:20 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 9:41 pm
Posts: 877
Location: Derby
Great looking ship Amaranth.

I look forward to its release.

The texturing looks fantastic.

_________________
The GalTech Industries Corporation - Building ships to populate the galaxies.

Increase the variety of ships within your Ooniverse by downloading my OXPs

Flying the [wiki]Serpent_Class_Cruiser[/wiki] "Thargoid's Bane"


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 5:34 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
Does anyone know if it's possible to add to, or alter details on a model in Blender, AFTER it's been unwrapped, and textured, WITHOUT having to re-unwrap it, and re-paint it? I should catch mistakes BEFORE I unwrap, I know, but let's face it, I just don't catch everything every time. :oops:

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:31 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
I notice my last question went unanswered. Oh well, here's another.

Can any one tell me WHY some parts of a model will only fit to the over-all model by adjusting it so in Object Mode, therefore making it look like a mess in Edit Mode (Stear9)? Also, is there a way to prevent this occurrence before it starts (Staer9)?

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:43 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:24 am
Posts: 607
Location: Aboard the D.T.T Snake Charmer: My Xanadu
Quote:
Does anyone know if it's possible to add to, or alter details on a model in Blender, AFTER it's been unwrapped, and textured, WITHOUT having to re-unwrap it, and re-paint it? I should catch mistakes BEFORE I unwrap, I know, but let's face it, I just don't catch everything every time.
Sorry Mandoman, I use Wings3d, so I can't answer your latest question. However the prior one I think I can.. If Blender is anything like Wings, then once you uvmap and paint your map, your model becomes very hard to alter without looking bad... If you move a vertex, it will stretch the texture between it and any other vertices connected to it. In Wings3d, I am able to remap just the affected polygons, without remapping the whole model, but I don't know how Blender handles it...

_________________
D.T.T Ship Builders "Thinking Outside the Triangle"
The Adventures of Captain Morgan


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:06 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
Quote:
Quote:
Does anyone know if it's possible to add to, or alter details on a model in Blender, AFTER it's been unwrapped, and textured, WITHOUT having to re-unwrap it, and re-paint it? I should catch mistakes BEFORE I unwrap, I know, but let's face it, I just don't catch everything every time.
Sorry Mandoman, I use Wings3d, so I can't answer your latest question. However the prior one I think I can.. If Blender is anything like Wings, then once you uvmap and paint your map, your model becomes very hard to alter without looking bad... If you move a vertex, it will stretch the texture between it and any other vertices connected to it. In Wings3d, I am able to remap just the affected polygons, without remapping the whole model, but I don't know how Blender handles it...
Oh, I can alter the shape of an unwrapped part in Blender without ruining the texture, and such. It's trying to add anything new TO the model AFTER texturing that seems to be a flop. I don't think it can be done, but I don't know for sure. Thanks Paradox. :)

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 2:49 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
I seem to be full of......well, you know, questions. I'm working on a ship design that when finished am hoping to have the front canopy see through, so the bridge and other details of the front of the ship can be seen in game. I put a flat wall over the area that should be "see through", and flipped the normals. When I look at it in Texture Paint, or Object Mode, the wall is not apparent, and the open interior is viewable. My question is, will this work in the game? Will the game treat the open area as a see through part of the ship, or will it see it as an open hole in the ship? Thanks. :)

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 3:24 pm 
Offline
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Posts: 8282
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Transparent cockpits have been discussed before, so I don't think that will work, I'm afraid :( you'll just get the 'hole'.

_________________
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 5:37 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
Quote:
Transparent cockpits have been discussed before, so I don't think that will work, I'm afraid :( you'll just get the 'hole'.
Shoot! Oh well, it was just a thought. Thanks Smivs. :)

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:35 am 
Offline
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:11 am
Posts: 3
The current workflow for exporting meshes looked a little tedious, so I took an afternoon and wrote a script that exports a Blender mesh directly to a .dat file.

https://gist.github.com/blm768/6059892

It can be installed just like any other Blender add-on (by putting it in the add-ons directory). You'll also need to enable the add-on in File -> User Preferences -> Addons; look under the "Import-Export" tab.

Once it's installed, just select the mesh object you want to export and use File -> Export -> Oolite (.dat). Note that if the model has a UV map, every face must have a texture assigned, or the script will complain loudly. The script might also be somewhat buggy, but I haven't run into any major unfixed bugs yet.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:28 am 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 8501
Location: Newbury, UK
Quote:
The current workflow for exporting meshes looked a little tedious, so I took an afternoon and wrote a script that exports a Blender mesh directly to a .dat file.

https://gist.github.com/blm768/6059892

It can be installed just like any other Blender add-on (by putting it in the add-ons directory). You'll also need to enable the add-on in File -> User Preferences -> Addons; look under the "Import-Export" tab.

Once it's installed, just select the mesh object you want to export and use File -> Export -> Oolite (.dat). Note that if the model has a UV map, every face must have a texture assigned, or the script will complain loudly. The script might also be somewhat buggy, but I haven't run into any major unfixed bugs yet.
Well done! 8)

_________________
Quote:
Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 215 posts ]  Go to page Previous 110 11 12 13 14 15 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited