Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:16 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:24 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:23 pm
Posts: 803
The way I've got it all to work on Ubuntu is as follows: Download and extract the zip file from here: http://prdownload.berlios.de/oolite-lin ... le-1.0.zip Then open it up, open the OoDebugConsole folder and extract the zip file in there. Now, using the terminal, cd into the OoDebugConsole_Src folder that you just unzipped, and run python DebugConsole.py

That should run the console. Now you start up Oolite. With luck, you should be up and running! You'll know you're connected if you see this in the console:
Quote:
Type /quit to quit.
Waiting for connection..
Opened connection with Oolite version 1.75.3


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:49 am 
Offline
Thargoid
Thargoid
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm
Posts: 5509
Also the key point to note above is that it runs from a normal terminal prompt, not from the Python command line shell. I recall in the past several people have made that mistake.

_________________
My OXPs via Boxspace or from my Wiki pages :D.

Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:57 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
Quote:
inside

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Oolite ... P_protocol

you can find a link to

http://svn.berlios.de/viewcvs/oolite-li ... ugConsole/

which contains all the files and directories that make up the consoles, correctly placed in relation to each other. From there you should be able to see that ooliteConsoleServer is the name of a directory containing files essential for running the console itself. It sounds like your system cannot find the ooliteConsoleServer directory.

You might not have all the files and directories required, or they might not be in the right place, relative to each other.

Hope this helps.
OooooK, I think I downloaded all the files. Do you have any idea in what order these need to be tagged? Man, there's a lot more to this oxp stuff than the tutorials seem to hint. I could have sworn reading somewhere that oxps were easy BECAUSE the community wanted to encourage people to write them. It's a bit confusing, but I'm banging away at it, or stumbling away at it, or something.... :)

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:28 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
Never mind, I stumbled over it. :D

Special thanks to Kaks, and Mauiby de Fug. It's really cool to see that JavaScript Console pop up. Now I just have to learn to use it, LOL!!! :lol:

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:05 am 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:02 pm
Posts: 2073
Location: Norway
Any chance of an updated debug.oxp. I see that there are some changes to one of the javascripts when I look at the svn-tree. So just changing requires.plist is not enough this time I think.

_________________
"A brilliant game of blasting and trading... Truly a mega-game... The game of a lifetime."
(Gold Medal Award, Zzap!64 May 1985).
Also, my tiny contribution to the Ooniverse


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:24 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
For linux and windows pcs, you could grab the changed files directly from svn (http://svn.berlios.de/viewcvs/oolite-li ... Resources/) and replace the old one with the new.

However, an automatically up to date debug.oxp should be included inside each nightly build, so you can also grab the current tebug.oxp from there! :)

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:30 am 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:02 pm
Posts: 2073
Location: Norway
Quote:
For linux and windows pcs, you could grab the changed files directly from svn (http://svn.berlios.de/viewcvs/oolite-li ... Resources/) and replace the old one with the new.
However, an automatically up to date debug.oxp should be included inside each nightly build, so you can also grab the current tebug.oxp from there! :)
I have already done the first part, but I'll download the latest nightly just to make sure I didn't miss anything.

Edit: One more thing, what's the difference between basicdebug.oxp and debug.oxp?

Thank you.

_________________
"A brilliant game of blasting and trading... Truly a mega-game... The game of a lifetime."
(Gold Medal Award, Zzap!64 May 1985).
Also, my tiny contribution to the Ooniverse


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:55 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
Basic-debug contains only the files needed by Windows & linux, debug also contains the spiffy integrated menu addon if you're using a mac (and it's only updated when making a mac build IIRC).

If you've got both basic-debug.oxp & debug.oxp you've already got one debug too many! :)

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:05 pm 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:02 pm
Posts: 2073
Location: Norway
Quote:
Basic-debug contains only the files needed by Windows & linux, debug also contains the spiffy integrated menu addon if you're using a mac (and it's only updated when making a mac build).
If you've got both basic-debug.oxp & debug.oxp you've already got one debug too many! :)
I don't have both. I used to have debug.oxp, and now saw basicdebug.oxp for the first time :oops: . I have now changed to basicdebug.oxp.

_________________
"A brilliant game of blasting and trading... Truly a mega-game... The game of a lifetime."
(Gold Medal Award, Zzap!64 May 1985).
Also, my tiny contribution to the Ooniverse


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:46 pm 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:02 pm
Posts: 2073
Location: Norway
@Kaks
Saw the update to the debug console on Berlios. Any chance of an updated Windows executable. Installing Python and dependencies on Windows is a pain. As for dependencies, I do believe you also need the "Zope Interface" on Windows in addition to those listed. Alas the Zope interface is most commonly distributed as an .egg file, which in my world is not a straight forward install. I did however find a "Zope Interface" auto installer for Windows here (bottom of page). Might be useful for others as well.

_________________
"A brilliant game of blasting and trading... Truly a mega-game... The game of a lifetime."
(Gold Medal Award, Zzap!64 May 1985).
Also, my tiny contribution to the Ooniverse


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 1:37 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
Unfortunately the latest version of pyInstaller (the program I used to make the executable for version 1.0) seems to be skipping a python library or two on my system, and I haven't yet figured out the way to fix it.

I'll post the .exe the moment I sort out what's gumming up the works!

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:12 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Posts: 2988
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Is there any way (on Windows 7) to make a script to load the debug console, and then Oolite itself? I would want it as an icon I can run from my desktop, so the auto-Start folder is out.

I tried making a .bat file but that waits for the debug console to be exited before loading Oolite.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:29 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:42 pm
Posts: 144
Location: London, UK
In a batch file, if you prefix the call with "start" I think it should continue without waiting for the called program to exit - eg:
Code:
start notepad.exe
start prog2.exe


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:05 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Posts: 2988
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Quote:
In a batch file, if you prefix the call with "start" I think it should continue without waiting for the called program to exit
Yes that worked thanks.

My batch file looks like this:
Code:
start C:\Oolite\oolite.app\oodebugconsole.exe
start C:\Oolite\oolite.app\oolite.exe -nosplash -fullscreen -load "c:/oolite/oolite.app/oolite-saves/Poseidon.oolite-save"
exit
I've found I have to place the .bat file in the oolite.app folder, otherwise the debug console .cfg files end up on the desktop too. So I have put a shortcut to the file on my desktop (should work).


Last edited by JazHaz on Fri Mar 21, 2014 11:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 2:45 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Posts: 1471
Location: Witchspace
The latest release 1.77.1 Windows exe have an annoying side effect while developing.

If you type anything resulting in an error, the debug console window looses focus on a two screen setup where one is running OOlite in Fullscreen

It means you have to grab your mouse and click on the debug console again in order to be able to type something
or alt tab to the window again.

Obviously the solution is to run Oolite in a window, but there is a heap of things that "is not right" while in a window. In some cases windows of certain proggies on top of Oolite can cause fps stuttering, which is very bad for FrameCallbacks.

Cheers Frame

Keep up the good work :).

_________________
Bounty Scanner
Number 935


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited