Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:08 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:52 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Posts: 1474
Location: Witchspace
hmm of course, what I suspected... (wife interfering with my uptime :wink:)

trying that...

_________________
Bounty Scanner
Number 935


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:40 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5023
I wanted to add a detail here that I have failed to mention before: In the tests I run on the work's network, the address format was not of the 192.168.xxx.xxx type. The computers I tested were carrying "normal" IP addresses, of course of the same domain. I don't think it should matter, as I think that 192.168.xxx.xxx should be also perfectly acceptable as IPs, but would like to just mention it for completeness.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:24 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Posts: 1474
Location: Witchspace
I have python 2.5 installed. however I am at a loss on how to run the debug console from python.. and even where to alter the port number or where to find documentation on howto run the python debug console..

However, the exe file provided should have the ability to change ports with a commandline since ports can conflict...

I think we can conclude that the debug console does not work externally when run with Vista is either client or server side...

_________________
Bounty Scanner
Number 935


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:41 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5023
The way I run it is:
- Ensure python binaries are in path.
- Open a command prompt inside the root debug console folder and type "python debugconsole.py".

The default port is determined in the file _protocol.py, found in the subfolder named ooliteConsoleServer.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:47 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 815
Location: London, UK
Changing ports should only be needed in the very unlikely event that either some other app is already on port 8563, or, more likely, that the client and server have a firewall between them which blocks that port and you can't change the firewall.

Based on what's I've seen discussed in this thread, neither of those two cases seem to apply.

I'm fairly certain it's something odd with Vista (I saw some indications of other people having similar problems with python network programs and Vista on the internet). (Un)fortunately I don't have Vista at home and I've been too busy at work lately to look further into this.

I'm hoping to get some time next week to investigate.

_________________
The glass is twice as big as it needs to be.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:27 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Posts: 1474
Location: Witchspace
It is just very very odd.. I can browse both my vista systems just fine after setting up the various security settings... I can ping and trace route- without any problem. I can even browse on Vista from XP

I can even write a basic winsock program that lets me send text to and fro XP and Vista

But i cannot get debugconsole.py to run, it gives me a bunch of erros.. like this
Code:
D:\Oodebug\OoDebugConsole>debugconsole.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "D:\Oodebug\OoDebugConsole\DebugConsole.py", line 21, in <module>
    from ooliteConsoleServer import *
  File "C:\WorkArea\CPP\oolite-debug-console-1.0\OoDebugConsole\ooliteConsoleServer\__init__.py", line 27, in <module>
    from OoliteDebugConsoleProtocol import OoliteDebugConsoleProtocol
  File "C:\WorkArea\CPP\oolite-debug-console-1.0\OoDebugConsole\ooliteConsoleServer\OoliteDebugConsoleProtocol.py", line 10, in <module>
    from PropertyListPacketProtocol import PropertyListPacketProtocol
  File "C:\WorkArea\CPP\oolite-debug-console-1.0\OoDebugConsole\ooliteConsoleServer\PropertyListPacketProtocol.py", line 10, in <module>
    from twisted.internet.protocol import Protocol
  File "C:\Python25\lib\site-packages\twisted\internet\protocol.py", line 21, in <module>
    from twisted.internet import interfaces, error, defer
  File "C:\Python25\lib\site-packages\twisted\internet\defer.py", line 17, in <module>
    from twisted.python import log, failure, lockfile
  File "C:\Python25\lib\site-packages\twisted\python\lockfile.py", line 28, in <module>
    from win32api import OpenProcess
ImportError: No module named win32api

D:\Oodebug\OoDebugConsole>
I can read the import errors, however, not sure why I cannot locate the modules... And I have no clue what so ever, why this does not work, since i can run the obj2dattex.py tools just fine..
:cry:

_________________
Bounty Scanner
Number 935


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 6:27 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 815
Location: London, UK
You need to download and install the 'twisted' python module as well before you can run the debug console. From the readme:
Quote:
- OoDebugConsole_Src.zip - contains the original python code: to run the python code in windows, you need to install python, the win32 python extensions and the twisted-python library.

_________________
The glass is twice as big as it needs to be.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:20 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 815
Location: London, UK
Ok, I found the problem.

Basically when opening a remote connection it's possible for the code to run too fast and try to send a packet before the streams are properly initialised - which then causes the whole thing to shut down.

I've added some code into OODebugTCPConsoleClient to ensure it waits until the streams are fully open before attempting to send the 'hello' packet.

_________________
The glass is twice as big as it needs to be.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:42 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Posts: 1474
Location: Witchspace
Quote:
Ok, I found the problem.

Basically when opening a remote connection it's possible for the code to run too fast and try to send a packet before the streams are properly initialised - which then causes the whole thing to shut down.

I've added some code into OODebugTCPConsoleClient to ensure it waits until the streams are fully open before attempting to send the 'hello' packet.
I have installed twisted, and still it does not work, you will note, i'm not getting the twisted specific errors... ;-)..

however I'm sure people here would like to see the solution.. so that it can be incorperated in the next update of the debug console

_________________
Bounty Scanner
Number 935


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:44 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 815
Location: London, UK
The problem is with the client code in Oolite - not with the python code in the debug console. If you can build from source, the latest trunk has a stab at the fix in it for you to try out.

_________________
The glass is twice as big as it needs to be.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:42 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:12 pm
Posts: 319
Location: Uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm
Did this work in the end?

I am trying to get it to work on Linux. I can run the python console successfully. (I checked it out from SVN trunk directly.) Once it is running I can telnet to the port and get a connection, and sure enough if I /quit it will close the telnet connection gracefully. So that's all working.

However I don't seem to be able to get oolite to pick up the Debug.OXP, so I don't think it is even trying to connect. I've put it in the Addons folder and all the other OXPs in there are still working... but it just doesn't seem to want to pick up Debug.OXP. I have removed "requires.plist" since that was set to 1.72.99. Or is there another version of Debug.OXP I should be using on trunk?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:05 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
Hmm, it should work.
The console needs to be started before oolite, otherwise no connection between oolite & console is established.

In case your problems are due to debug wanting to read requires.plist: I don't seem to have any problems with the latest debug oxp from the wiki.

All I did was to change what's inside the original requires.plist to
Code:
{ version = "1.73"; max_version = "1.73.99"; }

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:49 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:12 pm
Posts: 319
Location: Uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm
Quote:
The console needs to be started before oolite, otherwise no connection between oolite & console is established.
Yep, figured that out.
Quote:
Code:
{ version = "1.73"; max_version = "1.73.99"; }
Done that, it's still not picking it up. What's strange is that it's not even showing up in the OXP search paths.

I've just realised I might have compiled it with the wrong flags, I'll try that (and check out latest whilst I'm at it.)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 12:27 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 1368
Quote:
Quote:
The console needs to be started before oolite, otherwise no connection between oolite & console is established.
Yep, figured that out.
Quote:
Code:
{ version = "1.73"; max_version = "1.73.99"; }
Done that, it's still not picking it up. What's strange is that it's not even showing up in the OXP search paths.

I've just realised I might have compiled it with the wrong flags, I'll try that (and check out latest whilst I'm at it.)
What happened next??? I can't get system to run the console. I get onto the Python console, but it won't find the DeBugConsole. The main message I get is that it can't find the Oolite Console Server. If anyone is still reading this, I could sure use some help.

_________________
Mandotech Industries Wiki Page.

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/User:Mandoman


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Debug Console
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:27 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
inside

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Oolite ... P_protocol

you can find a link to

http://svn.berlios.de/viewcvs/oolite-li ... ugConsole/

which contains all the files and directories that make up the consoles, correctly placed in relation to each other. From there you should be able to see that ooliteConsoleServer is the name of a directory containing files essential for running the console itself. It sounds like your system cannot find the ooliteConsoleServer directory.

You might not have all the files and directories required, or they might not be in the right place, relative to each other.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited