Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Tue May 30, 2017 7:10 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:16 pm 
Offline
Average
Average
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:30 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
And it happened again. I tried Ship Respray style II (red skin), left game, went back and suddenly only 12 t... So I have now removed the Ship Respray and Ship Stoprage Helper OXP's for the time being.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 10:25 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1480
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Could I get you to try again, but this time turn on the "data keys" so I can see what model you switched to. Also, did you have any passenger berths installed, or the large cargo bay?

Just to clarify: there is no need to uninstall those OXP's, as they do nothing on their own. ShipStorageHelper is a tool that can be used by other OXP's, and ShipRespray only goes into action when you tell it to, and then it disappears from view. It sets your ship's dataKey. If you don't order a respray, nothing will happen. So both OXP's can stay in place without any impact on your game.

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 9:59 am 
Offline
Average
Average
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:30 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
Quote:
Could I get you to try again, but this time turn on the "data keys" so I can see what model you switched to. Also, did you have any passenger berths installed, or the large cargo bay?
Okay. Where or how do I turn on the data keys? I did have the large cargo bay and a passenger berth installed (30 t). Before I did not have a passenger berth. In any case, 18 t get taken away from max cargo space.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 10:10 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 4829
Is this with game version 1.82? If yes, could you try to give it a go with the latest nightly build and see if the problem persists?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 10:58 am 
Offline
Average
Average
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:30 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
Quote:
Is this with game version 1.82? If yes, could you try to give it a go with the latest nightly build and see if the problem persists?
Yes, this happened with v1.82. Upon your recommendation, I downloaded and installed the latest nightly build that didn't end in .md5 (oolite-trunk-1.84.0.e9bfc4c-dev.linux-x86_64.tgz from June 23, I think). Nothing has changed.

What happens is this: Buying ship respray style II for Cobra Mk III, admiring its beauty, leaving station, checking cargo space, which is still intact at this time. Then pausing, F2, exit game. Starting game again, loading autosave (or even with dedicated save it's the same), checking status with double F5 or looking on market screen pressing F8. And there we have it again: 12t instead of 30t max (-5t due to berth). Before I had it filled to capacity with goods. Now 18t of them are gone. Passenger remains unaffected.

Hope this helps.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 12:20 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 4829
OK, with Ship Storage Helper 0.28 and Ship Respray 1.2.1, this is what I get. Please confirm that the same happens to you if you follow these steps:
1. Load a Cobra III savegame with an empty cargo hold. Make sure you have the Large Cargo Bay installed.
2. Go to the F8 screen and buy 35t of whatever.
3. Check that your F5/F5 says Cargo 35 t (35 t).
4. Go to the F3 screen and select Ship Respray.
5. Select Respray Style 2 and buy it.
6. Now, without exiting the game, check your log file. At this point, mine contains this:
Code:
14:13:46.680 [Oolite Equipment Control]: The large cargo bay was removed when there wasn't enough spare space to contain it.
This is probably due to an OXP failing to validate cargo bay removal before trying it. The cargo bay has been restored to prevent inconsistencies
7. Save the game to a new file.
8. Check again F5/F5. It should still say Cargo 35 t (35 t).
9. Again without exiting the game, load the savefile you just created.
10. At this point, I find that the F5/F5 screen says Cargo 35 t (50 t). This is obviously incorrect. The equivalent of another cargo bay has been added to the cargo capacity of the ship.

For me, this happens only with Respray Style 2. Respray Styles 1 & 3 are just fine and their savegames load without issues.

I think that what you are experiencing is very much related to the above. The warning quoted earlier comes from the built-in script oolite-equipment-control.js and is there to prevent removal of cargo bays when the ship is full, which is most likely what Respray does when swapping ships.

Edit: Looks like step 2 is optional. The same increase in cargo capacity happens even if you don't buy anything.
Edit2: Seems that the issue is caused by the Respray Ship script awarding a cobra3-alternate ship for respray style 2, which is defined to have a 35t capacity by default (the others have 20t), so when the game reads the savefile and sees a cargo bay, it goes ahead and adds 15 tons to the base 35 ones.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:54 pm 
Offline
Average
Average
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:30 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
Alright, I'm getting the same (1.84.0.6810-160625-8ff36e2 (x86-64 test release) under Linux 3.19.0-32-generic):
Code:
16:42:53.795 [Oolite Equipment Control]: The large cargo bay was removed when there wasn't enough spare space to contain it. 
This is probably due to an OXP failing to validate cargo bay removal before trying it. The cargo bay has been restored to prevent inconsistencies.
16:42:53.826 [LogEvents]: Player bought new ship: Cobra Mark III 9485
Following through with step 10, I just get Cargo 17 t (17 t), and nothing on top of 35 t.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 11:04 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1480
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Quote:
which is defined to have a 35t capacity by default (the others have 20t)
Wha?! :shock: Ok, I didn't see that one coming. I've put a fix into the next version of ShipRespray to address this issue.
Quote:
Where or how do I turn on the data keys?
When you open the ship respray selection screen, one of the menu items is "Show data keys" which turns on an additional piece of info on the screen. That data key will allow me to see which version of the Cobra you've selected. In the core game there will be about 3 versions of the Cobra Mk3, but with additional ship packs (like the ClassicShips and ClassicVarietyPack) there could be lots more.

I'm at work at the moment, but I'll test out the procedure you outlined shortly and see what my results are.

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:10 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1480
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
OK, you'll be happy to note that I found the problem! The error is actually in the Classic Shipyard OXP, where the Cobra 3 player template is defined as having a maximum cargo of 2t. 2t + the cargo cargo bay of 15t gives you the 17t magic number.

I've uploaded a new version of ShipRespray which fixes this bug by including a shipdata-overrides.plist. I'll be sending the bug report through to smivs. Thanks for reporting!

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 7:06 am 
Offline
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Posts: 8244
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Thanks for the reports - v1.1 of classicShipyard is now available via the manager.

_________________
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 5:28 pm 
Offline
Average
Average
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:30 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
Quote:
OK, you'll be happy to note that I found the problem! The error is actually in the Classic Shipyard OXP, where the Cobra 3 player template is defined as having a maximum cargo of 2t. 2t + the cargo cargo bay of 15t gives you the 17t magic number.

I've uploaded a new version of ShipRespray which fixes this bug by including a shipdata-overrides.plist. I'll be sending the bug report through to smivs. Thanks for reporting!
Good job! Thanks a lot!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited