Freezing Computer

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

Post Reply
ZaneWuzHere
Average
Average
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:03 pm

Freezing Computer

Post by ZaneWuzHere » Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:44 pm

I used to play Oolite quite a bit on my laptop, but recently I had to restore the system and re-download Oolite. I went to Oolite.org, and downloaded 1.82 32-bit. After the download completed, I tried to play Oolite, but my laptop froze. I had to restart my laptop, and tried to download and run Oolite again, but had the same issue. I get no error reports or any sort of code, so I'm not sure why it's happening.

System Specs
Processor: Intel Mobile Core 2 Duo T6670
RAM: DDR2 with 2.96 GB free
HDD: Hitachi HTS72323232L9A362
GPU: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family

From what I know, Microsoft stopped supporting Windows XP, so that may have something to do with it, and my computer is kind of old. Anyways, I really need some help here, thanks!

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5397
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Freezing Computer

Post by another_commander » Thu Jun 25, 2015 6:09 am

Have you checked your oolite.app\Logs folder? Is there a Latest.log file in there? If there is, please start Oolite with Shift held down (apologies in advance if this will have to result in system freeze) and post here the contents of the Latest.log file. It would be preferable if you do this without any OXPs installed, just in case an old version of one of them interfering.

Also, if there is an stderr.txt file remaining inside oolite.app, please post its contents as well.

From what information has been already provided, my opinion is that the problem is the graphics card. The Mobile Intel 4 Series is a well known problem not only with Oolite, but pretty much anything that uses OpenGL for 3D acceleration. I am pretty sure that the older versions of Oolite that you were running were barely making it to run and that was because they were less demanding in system resources than 1.82. Still, if there is a log that we can see, we might get a possible clue what happens when the game fails to run.

Because of the extremely low-spec gfx card, you may also want to try to run the game with the -noshaders parameter, which will attempt to make it run on the lowest possible detail level.

ZaneWuzHere
Average
Average
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:03 pm

Re: Freezing Computer

Post by ZaneWuzHere » Thu Jun 25, 2015 2:23 pm

Thanks! I'll try it and see what happens.

Post Reply