Memory leak in trunk!

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

Post Reply
Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Memory leak in trunk!

Post by Zireael » Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:33 pm

I now found some time to play after a long break.

The problem, alas, was that there seems to be a memory leak somewhere. After I crashed into the station due to a sudden freeze/fps drop while in the docking slot and meters away from docking, I turned on the Task Manager. The memory usage for Oolite climbed from 500 MB initially to 2,1 GB as I docked. The game crashed when I wanted to exit it after saving.

I've tried removing the OXP which I thought to be the culprit. The memory use climbed from 500 MB initially to 900 MB when I got jumped by a large band of pirates in Bemaera and to 1,2 GB in the time it took for me to write this post.

And I really wish I could get the Catalyst Control Center to work properly so Oolite could use Radeon and not Intel HD...

The leak seems unrelated to the OXPs, at least, I have eliminated probably the most resource-hungry one, dertien's HPC beta, and am still getting the same FPS and memory usage.

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5396
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Memory leak in trunk!

Post by another_commander » Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:42 pm

Which trunk version are you using (check watermark top right of screen)?

Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: Memory leak in trunk!

Post by Zireael » Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:49 pm

77d7391.

Strict mode, 400 MB usage at start. Lave to Leesti... not yet at the station, 630 MB usage...

EDIT: 878 MB upon docking at Leesti. Usage still climbing if I leave Oolite running. It only stops climbing if I press p to pause the game, or exit it, obviously.

---
FPS roughly the same as with OXPs. From 25 to mid-teens.

So it seems that OXPs are not to blame for the stutters and that they simply exacerbate an already existing leak. Or maybe the Bemaera-Tionisla run took me longer than the Lave-Leesti... certainly met more ships.

User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4018
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Memory leak in trunk!

Post by cim » Mon Aug 18, 2014 4:31 pm

I've checked 45425e6 and that had stable usage. Just updated to the current ebb37e1 and that also is stable.
(Strict Mode, Lave->Leesti->Diso trips, debug build, Linux 64 bit)

Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: Memory leak in trunk!

Post by Zireael » Mon Aug 18, 2014 4:45 pm

Ran Getafix's Windows nightly update script again, watermark still the same, 1.81.0.6011-140818-77d7391.

Now that I look at it, 14-08-18 looks like today's date, but the hash is different to what you have, cim.

I have Win 7 64 bit, btw.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13634
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Memory leak in trunk!

Post by Cody » Mon Aug 18, 2014 5:14 pm

Stable memory usage on Win 7 64-bit using this morning's nightly (1.81.0.6011-140818-77d7391).

I note in passing that there were plenty of asteroids around Leesti (using strict mode).

User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4018
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Memory leak in trunk!

Post by cim » Mon Aug 18, 2014 5:19 pm

Cody wrote:I note in passing that there were plenty of asteroids around Leesti (using strict mode).
They're a bit easier to pick out with none of those stars in the way...

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13634
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Memory leak in trunk!

Post by Cody » Mon Aug 18, 2014 5:21 pm

cim wrote:They're a bit easier to pick out with none of those stars in the way...
<chortles> Yeah, possibly... but those near-starless systems drive me crackers!

Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: Memory leak in trunk!

Post by Zireael » Mon Aug 18, 2014 5:54 pm

Cody wrote:Stable memory usage on Win 7 64-bit using this morning's nightly (1.81.0.6011-140818-77d7391).

I note in passing that there were plenty of asteroids around Leesti (using strict mode).
Yeah, I saw plenty of asteroids around Leesti too.

*scratches head* 400 MB to 800 MB to 1,2 GB (to 2,1 GB in extreme case) isn't what I'd call stable... and why would it affect only me?

User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6310
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: Memory leak in trunk!

Post by Diziet Sma » Tue Aug 19, 2014 3:21 am

Zireael wrote:And I really wish I could get the Catalyst Control Center to work properly so Oolite could use Radeon and not Intel HD...
What happens if you force the issue by uninstalling the Intel drivers?
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied

Post Reply