Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston, Getafix

Post Reply
User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by Thargoid »

I'm getting rainbow dust too, and can't say I'm that keen on it. Looks wrong to me.

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5814
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by another_commander »

El Viejo wrote:SI'm more concerned as to why trunk keeps crashing on me - does no-one else get this problem?
My normal game play these days is launching and re-docking just to check that things basically work, but I can report that I've seen CTDs with the current trunk. Maybe not as frequently as you El Viejo, but they seem to be there.

But hey, that's what trunk is supposed to be like. I am actually quite surprised that we've been going for such a long time with a pretty stable (as in, not crashing much) development codebase.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 14094
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by Cody »

another_commander wrote:But hey, that's what trunk is supposed to be like.
Aye, that's well understood... but I really wanted to get a look at the longer-lasting hermits, and maybe a sunspot or two... hey-ho!
Give me five, I'm still alive
Ain't no luck, I learned to duck

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by Eric Walch »

another_commander wrote:Rainbow stardust confirmed also here. Running on Windows with Intel HD full shaders. Switching shaders off seems to get rid of the problem.
Same on the mac with full and simple shaders. One strange thing though: when starting in Oolite in no-shaders and than starting shaders while in-game, the problem stays away.

And while playing with shader switches, I got a CTD while trying to switch from simple shader to no shader while in-flight

Code: Select all

Thread 0 Crashed:  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0   libSystem.B.dylib             	0x00007fffffe0131f __longcopy + 287
1   libSystem.B.dylib             	0x00007fffffe0087a __memcpy + 218
2   libGLImage.dylib              	0x00007fff80e1c11f glgProcessPixelsWithProcessor + 742
3   GLEngine                      	0x0000000104aaf5af glGetTexImage_Exec + 2190
4   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x000000010016c40f -[OOConcreteTexture copyPixMapRepresentation] + 415 (OOConcreteTexture.m:333)
5   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0000000100169a66 -[OOCombinedEmissionMapGenerator initWithEmissionMap:emissionColor:diffuseMap:diffuseColor:illuminationMap:illuminationColor:isCombinedMap:optionsSpecifier:] + 933 (OOCombinedEmissionMapGenerator.m:157)
6   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0000000100169671 -[OOCombinedEmissionMapGenerator initWithEmissionMap:emissionColor:diffuseMap:diffuseColor:illuminationMap:illuminationColor:optionsSpecifier:] + 56 (OOCombinedEmissionMapGenerator.m:62)
7   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0000000100167ad4 -[OOMultiTextureMaterial initWithName:configuration:] + 867 (OOMultiTextureMaterial.m:108)
8   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0000000100168b4a +[OOMaterial(OOConvenienceCreators) materialWithName:cacheKey:configuration:macros:bindingTarget:forSmoothedMesh:] + 535 (OOMaterialConvenienceCreators.m:315)
9   org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0000000100168ce6 +[OOMaterial(OOConvenienceCreators) materialWithName:cacheKey:materialDictionary:shadersDictionary:macros:bindingTarget:forSmoothedMesh:] + 211 (OOMaterialConvenienceCreators.m:374)
10  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x000000010010962a -[OOMesh rebindMaterials] + 304 (OOMesh.m:551)
11  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x000000010010adfa -[OOMesh(Private) resetGraphicsState] + 42 (OOMesh.m:966)
12  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0000000100111ccd -[OOGraphicsResetManager resetGraphicsState] + 260 (OOGraphicsResetManager.m:87)
13  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x00000001000ed7dc -[PlayerEntity(OOControlsPrivate) handleGameOptionsScreenKeys] + 2812 (Universe.h:731)
14  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x00000001000eb45f -[PlayerEntity(OOControlsPrivate) pollGuiArrowKeyControls:] + 3879 (PlayerEntityControls.m:1819)
15  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x00000001000e9d01 -[PlayerEntity(OOControlsPrivate) pollFlightControls:] + 10891 (PlayerEntityControls.m:1367)
16  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x00000001000e6665 -[PlayerEntity(Controls) pollControls:] + 347 (PlayerEntityControls.m:308)
17  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x000000010009cd89 -[PlayerEntity update:] + 261 (PlayerEntity.m:1828)
18  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x0000000100038c2c -[Universe update:] + 2215 (Universe.m:5684)
19  org.aegidian.oolite           	0x000000010000d85e -[GameController doPerformGameTick] + 78 (GameController.m:334)

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by JazHaz »

Commander McLane wrote:
JazHaz wrote:I get the flashing blips too, however I don't have Target Autolock installed. I've wondered when this behaviour started, perhaps a new feature in 1.76.x?
Also, please specify which blips are flashing.

Thargoid blips, hostile police ship blips, and q-mine blips are supposed to flash in vanilla Oolite (without OXPs), and have been doing so forever. Only if a blip of something that is not a Thargoid, not a hostile police ship, and not a q-mine flashes, that would be out of the ordinary.
Targetted ships' blips. Blips are scanner lollipops I mean. Ordinary ships, cargopods, anything that is targetable.
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5814
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by another_commander »

JazHaz wrote:Targetted ships' blips. Blips are scanner lollipops I mean. Ordinary ships, cargopods, anything that is targetable.
Does it happen with all OXPs removed?

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by JazHaz »

another_commander wrote:
JazHaz wrote:Targetted ships' blips. Blips are scanner lollipops I mean. Ordinary ships, cargopods, anything that is targetable.
Does it happen with all OXPs removed?
Not sure. I'll have to try it with a Jameson as I fly an OXP ship now.
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 14094
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by Cody »

The CTDs continue with 1.77.0.5332 (I'm not moaning, just reporting). In the very brief looks I've managed to have at it, I notice that my Fighter Hud doesn't display the legends by the gauges (ie fuel, speed, temp etc) - just blank spaces. Has anything changed in trunk that could cause that? The vanilla hud is fine (but the SPD, Roll and Pitch legends do seem to be very close to the border of the gauge itself).
Give me five, I'm still alive
Ain't no luck, I learned to duck

User avatar
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Enfield, Middlesex
Contact:

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by JazHaz »

JazHaz wrote:
another_commander wrote:
JazHaz wrote:Targetted ships' blips. Blips are scanner lollipops I mean. Ordinary ships, cargopods, anything that is targetable.
Does it happen with all OXPs removed?
Not sure. I'll have to try it with a Jameson as I fly an OXP ship now.
It must be an OXP effect. Have tried removing all OXPs except my HUD and keyconfig installed. Don't know what OXP it is though.
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by Thargoid »

There are a couple of OXPs which make such a change. My target autolock plus does for example (it's the plus), and has done so for ages.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 14094
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by Cody »

Thargoid wrote:There are a couple of OXPs which make such a change. My target autolock plus does for example (it's the plus), and has done so for ages.
It certainly does... I had half a dozen blips all flashing at once in trunk earlier. As before, uninstalling the TAP OXP removes those flashing blips.
Give me five, I'm still alive
Ain't no luck, I learned to duck

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by Thargoid »

Hmm odd - works fine on my system (Win7, Trunk 1.77.5328).

Can you give more details on how you ended up in that situation, as when the target is unset the lollipop should be reverted, and auto-lock should only kick in if you don't have a current target set anyway.

It sounds like there may be a way of losing target lock which the script isn't seeing or dealing with properly for some reason.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 14094
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by Cody »

I'll try to get trunk to run again this evening - earlier, I launched into a convoy, and targetted each ship in turn, re-arming the missile each time. All the blips continued to flash, even after I'd un-targetted them. I'll re-download TAP and install a vanilla version, in case I've tinkered with the one I'm using (I don't recall tinkering, but...).

I'm on Win XP, btw.
Give me five, I'm still alive
Ain't no luck, I learned to duck

User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by Kaks »

El Viejo wrote:The CTDs continue with 1.77.0.5332 (I'm not moaning, just reporting). In the very brief looks I've managed to have at it, I notice that my Fighter Hud doesn't display the legends by the gauges (ie fuel, speed, temp etc) - just blank spaces. Has anything changed in trunk that could cause that? The vanilla hud is fine (but the SPD, Roll and Pitch legends do seem to be very close to the border of the gauge itself).
A few things have indeed changed under the hood - but SPD, Roll & Pitch have been in that position since before 1.74 IIRC, together with the not-quite-even spacing between energy bars (this will be addressed in the near future) - I've tested the changed code with a variety of huds, including fighterHUD, and everything seemed ok...

1 sec... yep, I've just run rev5332 with fighter hud and the labels are all there, sane as what you can see in http://wiki.maikschulz.de/index.php/Fil ... enshot.png


PS 'yay', I did get a couple of CTDs myself in the last week, but whenever I run oolite with instrumentation the blasted thing refuses to die...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 14094
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Windows Trunk version 1.77.0.5057 experiencing CTD!

Post by Cody »

Kaks wrote:... I've just run rev5332 with fighter hud and the labels are all there
Hmm... thanks for checking that, Kaks. I seem to have troubles with trunk - not only the CTDs, but now two OXPs that aren't working right.
I think I'll stick to the 1.76.1 deployment trial build - I've about had it with trunk for now! Ho-hum!
Give me five, I'm still alive
Ain't no luck, I learned to duck

Post Reply