F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by DaddyHoggy » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:11 pm

Eric Walch wrote:
Kaks wrote:so do take this 'promise' of mine with a pinch of salt - or two!
Is this enough salt?
Image
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: 8)
Selezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here

User avatar
Cmdr. Maegil
Sword-toting nut-job
Sword-toting nut-job
Posts: 1294
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:28 pm
Location: On the mend in Western Africa

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Cmdr. Maegil » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:22 pm

Then I'll eagerly await your vapourware :lol:
You know those who, having been mugged and stabbed, fired, dog run over, house burned down, wife eloped with best friend, daughters becoming prostitutes and their countries invaded - still say that "all is well"?
I'm obviously not one of them.

User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5510
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Thargoid » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 pm

To be a little controversial, why not post-MNSR stick the contracts onto the covetted F4 screen? Or alternatively shift the short mission data there.

User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Kaks » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:28 pm

F4 will switch to starboard view when in flight, and you'd probably need to see some mission text while in flight.

Personally I'd have no objections to having a new contracts screen on F4, available only when docked.



If we also have contracts info showing up on the various maps then we can have a bit more of a breathing space.

In other words, anything to avoid doing any more paging implementation with this GUI! :)
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)

User avatar
Cmdr. Maegil
Sword-toting nut-job
Sword-toting nut-job
Posts: 1294
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:28 pm
Location: On the mend in Western Africa

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Cmdr. Maegil » Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:46 pm

While (or, if ever) you get on that, see if there's something you can do about a criminal rap sheet... I think some players would appreciate it (mostly by trying to collect them all, but there are other uses).
You know those who, having been mugged and stabbed, fired, dog run over, house burned down, wife eloped with best friend, daughters becoming prostitutes and their countries invaded - still say that "all is well"?
I'm obviously not one of them.

User avatar
Fatleaf
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 1988
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:11 am
Location: In analysis mode on Phaelon
Contact:

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Fatleaf » Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:22 am

I have played with the new ....... (the dots at the bottom of the screen) system with the screen getting too full. Although it looks cleaner I think it is a step backwards as the important information is hidden and the unimportant information for that screen (the cargo manifest) Is given priority.

But this of course is only my opinion :roll:
Find out about the early influences of Fatleaf here. Also his OXP's!
Holds the Ooniversal record for "Thread Necromancy"

User avatar
Tricky
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 821
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 11:12 pm
Location: Bradford, UK. (Anarchic)

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Tricky » Thu Jun 28, 2012 3:36 pm

*bump*

Any progress in this area?

User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Kaks » Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:25 pm

Well, since cim has bravely waded into the GUI code the F5F5 screen is probably as good as it's going to get, but I'll see if I can add some extra info to the map screen ( "35 t computers expected by xxx:xxxx" / "J'dft Arrtew to arrive by xxxxxx:xxx" ) when a contract destination is highlighted... not quite sure yet how to visually handle 2 or more contracts with the same destination, though...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)

Switeck
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1998
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:11 pm

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Switeck » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:33 pm

Kaks wrote:not quite sure yet how to visually handle 2 or more contracts with the same destination, though...
I've had 3-5 cargo contracts to the same destination system quite a few times. It's especially annoying that there is at least 1 Galaxy Chart that has duplicate system names far, FAR apart. Heck, even Xexedi and Xexeti in Galacy Chart 1 trips me up sometimes.

User avatar
Digital86
Competent
Competent
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 8:47 am

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Digital86 » Tue May 27, 2014 7:27 pm

Up
Switeck wrote:Too often I have too much cargo, contracts, and active missions at once...and all its text does not fit on a single window.
So I cannot read the last items.
Can this be made multiple screens similar to the equipment lists?
I have the same problem. There are new decisions? (v.1.77.1)
My English is very poor.

User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2543
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Norby » Tue May 27, 2014 8:29 pm

I have a "More" line in 1.77.1 where I can press Enter and step to the next screen.
Image
You can't?

User avatar
Digital86
Competent
Competent
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 8:47 am

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Digital86 » Tue May 27, 2014 8:51 pm

At me is and isn't present
ImageImage Image
My English is very poor.

User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2543
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Norby » Tue May 27, 2014 10:34 pm

After a test I can confirm: the "More" line need at least 3 lines out of screen. If you do something in your last case to make an additional line then you will see it (for example buy 1g Gold).

This bug is exists in 1.77.1 and 1.79 also. I think the dev team will fix it in nightly builds soon but I do not know if 1.78 will be released once or skipped in favour of 1.80.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13680
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by Cody » Tue May 27, 2014 10:49 pm

Norby wrote:I do not know if 1.78 will be released once or skipped in favour of 1.80.
It'll be skipped - see here.
Their dreams a tattered sail in the wind

User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4018
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: F5F5 cargo, contracts, and missions screen too full!

Post by cim » Wed May 28, 2014 5:45 pm

Norby wrote:After a test I can confirm: the "More" line need at least 3 lines out of screen.
It's not quite that simple - the real bug is that it's not counting the "None" lines for passengers, parcels and contracts when working out how many pages it needs.

Should be fixed in tonight's build (and of course in the 1.80 release) - thanks to Digital86 for reporting it.

Post Reply