Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:34 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:12 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:11 pm
Posts: 1960
Too often I have too much cargo, contracts, and active missions at once...and all its text does not fit on a single window.
So I cannot read the last items.
Can this be made multiple screens similar to the equipment lists?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 6:47 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
With great difficulty. I'm afraid it's going to require a lot of fiddling with some very evil GUI code, but we'll keep it in mind as a feature request for post 1.76...

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:28 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:11 pm
Posts: 1960
I can understand the delay if the GUI code is a crawling horror.
But I do consider it a serious bug rather than an annoying feature. :lol:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 12:10 am 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:11 am
Posts: 1988
Location: In analysis mode on Phaelon
Quote:
I can understand the delay if the GUI code is a crawling horror.
But I do consider it a serious bug rather than an annoying feature. :lol:
Personally I'm with Switeck on this. More than one occasion I have been rather miffed with the screen going off the bottom to the point of being useless. So if a fix is on the way I thank the Devs in advance for the effort put into fixing this. :D

_________________
Find out about the early influences of Fatleaf here. Also his OXP's!
Holds the Ooniversal record for "Thread Necromancy"


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 1:25 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
Ah, the memories this brings back... :)

Memories from 2 & a half years ago actually! :shock: time does indeed fly...

Anyway, the various F-screens weren't quite right ( sometimes needing 2 keypress, sometimes 4 for some screens, etc... ) for 2-3 months afterwards due to the difficulty of getting the gui code ( yep, still basically the same one ) to do anything remotely sensible... fixing one bug in one screen would create another bug in another, pretty much like playing wack-a-mole...
Quote:
I can understand the delay if the GUI code is a crawling horror.
But I do consider it a serious bug rather than an annoying feature. :lol:
Yep, crawling horror it is. And best tackled with a steady post-MNSR hand...


One possible interim 'fix' could be to grey out the contrancts screen if the player has already got 10 between cargo deliveries and passengers on board.
Most captains won't even have ships capable of accepting that many contracts, but the few that do will then be forced to take a reduced amount of contracts...


Hmm, I believe the best option for now is to just show the first 10 lines or so, thus leaving some space for mission descriptions, then add a line with three dots (aka ellipsis) to indicate we didn't have space to show the rest...

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:02 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
Hmm again.

There's no simple way to display the mission info when there are too many passengers / contracts unless we move things about - we could possibly show the mission info before passengers & cargo stuff.

However, not really doable at the moment since doing that would make the tweak more of a feature change than a bugfix.

The good news? Well, if someone is really into doing 10+ cargo & passenger contracts they probably wouldn't want to be distracted by pesky mission stuff anyway... :)

I went ahead and fixed the display so that the writing doesn't go over the HUD elements, and did away with excess blank lines.

This screen:

Image

now looks like this:

Image

If nothing else, at least it's less buggy looking! :P


BTW Switeck, thanks for your mega-trader savegame!

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:16 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Posts: 2161
Location: Western Australia
Quote:
I went ahead and fixed the display so that the writing doesn't go over the HUD elements...
Doesn't go over actually drawn HUD elements, not just the area at the bottom of the screen where the standard HUD is usually drawn? I ask on behalf of all who use a script to switch to a completely blank HUD while docked.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:23 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
You got me! Not actually drawn HUD elements! The lowest line that gets written is at exactly the same height as

Cash 100 Cr. Load 0 of 20t.

in the F8 screen. (assuming you're looking at the F8 screen with a fresh Jameson!)

In other words, if your docked overlay & background looks OK on the F8 screen, it will look OK on the new F5F5 screen too.
And if you've got no background you'll have the same amount of blank space in the lower part of the screen as in F8.

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:35 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:11 pm
Posts: 1960
Usually, when I have more than 10 Cargo Contracts they're all Gold/Platinum/Gems...so they take up minimal cargo space each.

I guess an OXP could be made which displays the contracts in special mission briefings?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:40 pm 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:11 am
Posts: 1988
Location: In analysis mode on Phaelon
How about removing the cargo section from the top of the page, that would free up some room. As you can go to the F8 screen for that information anyway. Or at least put it at the very bottom under the missions.

_________________
Find out about the early influences of Fatleaf here. Also his OXP's!
Holds the Ooniversal record for "Thread Necromancy"


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:49 am 
Offline
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 5536
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
Hmm again.

There's no simple way to display the mission info when there are too many passengers / contracts unless we move things about - we could possibly show the mission info before passengers & cargo stuff.now looks like this:

Image

If nothing else, at least it's less buggy looking! :P
Nice fix. Also the fix for missing alien items when the hold contained all commodities. (I didn't even know we had a bug there until you fixed it :wink: )

_________________
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:21 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
@Fatleaf: yep, it's an option! :) If we do that we'd have to rename the F5F5 screen from 'Manifest' to 'Contracts' though...
There are a number of of other ideas already floating around too - as well as paging that screen, we could make the yellow 'section header' lines clickable so they expand/collapse their section, and also we could add the contracts & passenger info to the galaxy maps whenever we highlight a destination system.

Once we're out of feature freeze I'm definitely going to have a proper look at all those options! I really like the in-map info concept, and it shouldn't be too horrible to code either! :)
Quote:
Nice fix. Also the fix for missing alien items when the hold contained all commodities. (I didn't even know we had a bug there until you fixed it :wink: )
Neither did I! :) I only noticed we've got 17 types of commodities when I was testing to make sure I hadn't broken anything. Up to yesterday I could have sworn we only had 16 of them! :)

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:30 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
Quote:
Usually, when I have more than 10 Cargo Contracts they're all Gold/Platinum/Gems...so they take up minimal cargo space each.

I guess an OXP could be made which displays the contracts in special mission briefings?
Don't quote me, but I'm fairly confident you could have a 'detailed contracts oxp' that's activated whenever you switch to the manifest screen. You could then have a series of mission screens displaying every contract...

Actually, if no-one else makes it, I'll see if I find the day or so to make just such an oxp - warning: my oxp making time is even less more limited than my dev time, so do take this 'promise' of mine with a pinch of salt - or two!

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Last edited by Kaks on Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:07 pm 
Offline
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 5536
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
so do take this 'promise' of mine with a pinch of salt - or two!
Is this enough salt?
Image

_________________
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:10 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 3009
Location: The Big Smoke
Just about! :lol:

_________________
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited