Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:41 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 7:36 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 12921
Location: Corke's Drift
Quote:
Do I delete out the old visual FX OXPs(Accessory's and DeepSpaceShips) from the expansion pack folder prior to running the game again?
Yep... that is best.

_________________
The only good fnord is a dead fnord!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:22 pm 
Offline
Poor
Poor

Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:34 am
Posts: 4
Hello,

Is it possible to have mouse control forced on by default when starting a new commander/launching the game instead of having to press CTRL+SHIFT+M (i prefer this mouse control over the SHIFT+M one) every time ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:54 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Posts: 6241
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
Hello Robsole, and welcome aboard! 8)

Sadly, to the best of my knowledge, it isn't possible at the moment. Hopefully your question will inspire the developers to add mouse settings to the options in the Game Options for the next release.

Can anyone think of a workaround in the meantime? It may help if you can tell us if you're using Windows, Mac or Linux.

_________________
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:46 pm 
Offline
Poor
Poor

Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:34 am
Posts: 4
Thank you for the answer , hopefully it will end one day in the options screen :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:13 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:45 am
Posts: 25
Location: Acton, Maine USA
I'm so glad I finally read this whole post. I love Ooolite and it's my only game. I have to say, I did not know about the contracts... and after settling into a serious campaign I stopped messing around and was very careful not to pirate or transport illegals. I mined a little; not much. I made my way (no cheating) to a millionare over a month and a half of concerted effort in the passenger buisiness. I'm exited to try the contracts, and compare... but I made (is it okay to reveal this?) 80,000 + credits on one trip across galaxy 1 with six cargo bays and by keeping them as full as possible with trips close to my route. I got very good at skinning the trip to the marrow; having just enough time for that last big money passenger and I traded whatever I could. this was after getting to 250,000 with the Cobra and similar tactics. I guess I did it the hard way? It sure was fun. Flying a Pelamis now, looking for the perfect ship, still haven't explored much of galaxy 2.

_________________
Tell me again why I've got to drink three pints?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 4:32 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Posts: 6241
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
Quote:
I made my way (no cheating) to a millionare over a month and a half of concerted effort in the passenger buisiness. I'm exited to try the contracts, and compare... but I made (is it okay to reveal this?) 80,000 + credits on one trip across galaxy 1 with six cargo bays and by keeping them as full as possible with trips close to my route.
You'll love the cargo contracting business, then jeffron.. over 100,000 credits profit on a cross-galaxy run is not hard to pull off.. :D

_________________
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 10:50 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm
Posts: 1396
How fast do shields regenerate in vanilla Oolite? I tried finding it in the Wiki and in the forums and nope...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 10:57 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm
Posts: 4015
Quote:
How fast do shields regenerate in vanilla Oolite? I tried finding it in the Wiki and in the forums and nope...
Assuming sufficient energy is available - if you are low on energy it will take longer - a basic shield will refill from empty in about a minute. With a shield booster, two minutes are needed to recharge the bigger shields. With military shield enhancement as well, the recharge rate is increased slightly, so it still only takes two minutes.

_________________
OXPs: [EliteWiki] New Cargoes, [EliteWiki] Skilled NPCs, [EliteWiki] Curse of the Black Sunspot, and more


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 12:44 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm
Posts: 1396
Quote:
Assuming sufficient energy is available - if you are low on energy it will take longer - a basic shield will refill from empty in about a minute. With a shield booster, two minutes are needed to recharge the bigger shields. With military shield enhancement as well, the recharge rate is increased slightly, so it still only takes two minutes.
In related news, I thought of adding Navy Shield Boosters OXP (an upgrade over Military Shields :P) but cannot see where the added shields from shield booster/mil shield come from in the code. Help?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 2:39 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2424
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
cannot see where the added shields from shield booster/mil shield come from in the code.
These are handled in the core code, from OXP level player.ship.maxForwardShield is read-only.
Check Shield Capacitors, Shield Cycler and worth a search in [wiki]OXP_List[/wiki] for related keywords to avoid building what somebody made already. ;)

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:28 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm
Posts: 1396
Umm, thinking of making some of my OXPs into OXZ format but can't find an 'OXZ for Dummies' guide anywhere, help?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:38 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Posts: 6241
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
I've been working on one.. should be up soon.

_________________
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:47 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Posts: 6241
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
Quote:
Umm, thinking of making some of my OXPs into OXZ format but can't find an 'OXZ for Dummies' guide anywhere, help?
Ok.. this is now online.
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=16688

_________________
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:32 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:18 pm
Posts: 22
Location: The Intergalactic Truckstop
Hello again! It's been a while since I've played, and I see there's a new version of the game out! How do I change my commander name in 1.80? Saving the game and choosing my name there doesn't seem to do it, so I'm stuck as a Jameson on the station menus D:

_________________
Food - Fuel - Fuzzy Aliens
Image
Why not pay us a visit?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:44 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 12921
Location: Corke's Drift
Hey Chaz - go to F4/Edit ship registration. Commander names, and ship names, can be changed there!

_________________
The only good fnord is a dead fnord!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited