Page 1 of 2

star issue

Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:20 pm
by sprocket
since 1.82 upgrade, i got stars, then don't have stars, then, stars again. i'm thinking it's a graphics issue, got ideas?
this does not happen during the game, only when starting new ones.

sprocket

Re: star issue

Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:43 pm
by Cody
When you say 'no stars', do you mean the sky is completely black? No nebulae, no stars, nothing?

Re: star issue

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:20 pm
by sprocket
fuzzy squares, no nebula or dust clouds...all other graphics work, 3d, ect...it's like the background graphics detail is not there.

sprocket

Re: star issue

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:46 pm
by Redspear
Sounds like this problem...

http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f= ... 51#p222085

(potential fix included in the link).

Re: star issue

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 2:43 am
by sprocket
ok, think i just messed it all up...

...uninstalled all, re-downloaded and installed 1.82, 32 bit windows...

now, still got no stars, just squares in place of stars, nebula...

have saved 'sprocket' as commander, loads only as jameson...

...not real good at this...

sprocket...

Re: star issue

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 3:08 am
by sprocket
i've lost the game...

...need it back...

Re: star issue

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 3:15 am
by phkb
When you installed the game, did you install it to "C:\Oolite", or to "C:\Program Files\Oolite"? I think Oolite does a lot better if you install it to "C:\Oolite".

Re: star issue

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 7:12 pm
by sprocket
ok, after my 'lost my world' break down, iv'e got it covered...

before i uninstalled all of oolite, i did save all of my oolite-saves files in an other location...i have survived...!

re-installed oolite and yes, "C:\Oolite"...

left the station as jameson, 'no stars', same as it was...

decided to install oolite on an other computer to test my theory of it simply being my own graphics issue and not the game...

i was right...! the other computer is say, much 'more' than my little laptop, nice stars too...

...time to upgrade...!

thanks for the suggestions...

sprocket...

Re: star issue

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 7:14 pm
by Cody
Cool!

Re: star issue

Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 10:00 am
by Imaginos
sprocket wrote:fuzzy squares, no nebula or dust clouds...all other graphics work, 3d, ect...it's like the background graphics detail is not there.

sprocket
I've been having the same issue. Also when I played last night (the first time in a week or two) I had no engine or laser sounds. The voice SFX were there though.

Re: star issue

Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 3:01 pm
by Imaginos
I amended .GNUstepDefaults as advised and it works a treat.

Re: star issue

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 11:05 pm
by sprocket
"I amended .GNUstepDefaults as advised and it works a treat."

Ok, what I am in need of are detailed instructions starting with step one as to how to do this. Windows has no clue on my laptop as to what program to open .GNUstepDefaults to make changes. Need some assist, please?

cmdr Sprocket...

Re: star issue

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 11:08 pm
by Cody
If you're gonna tinker, it's probably best to grab notepad++ and use that - it's good free software (other editors are available).
Remember the golden rule: after saving an edit, restart Oolite with the shift key held down 'til the spinning Cobra appears.

Re: star issue

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:33 am
by sprocket
Ok, thanks...

...so i'm in the thick of it, blasting, dodging, launching, running...

...the game stops, locks up, shuts down, game closes out and i,m at my main computer screen...?

Ok, so i bring Oolite back up and wow, got stars, nubula...

...run a couple of hops, all good, time to shut down for the night...

Restarted computer, had to see, brought Oolite back up...

... ...

...no stars...nebula...

...sprocket...

Re: star issue

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:35 am
by phkb
Are you able to post the content of your "latest.log" file? And maybe the "previous.log" file from the session that worked? There might be something in there to help track the issue.