Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:52 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:53 pm 
Offline
Average
Average
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:52 pm
Posts: 8
I have a docking computer amongst my equipment but every time I approach a docking station and get the message "Automatic Docking Available" my docking computer never works and I have to fly in manually. This wastes precious time. I am running Oolite version 1.76 on an iMac with OS 10.6.8. Should I try buying a another docking computer? I seem to remember from some time back (It's over a year since I last played) that perhaps two docking computers are required.

Ken.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:13 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 12773
Location: Corke's Drift
You should update to Oolite 1.77 - which key are you using to activate the DC, btw?

_________________
The only good fnord is a dead fnord!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:23 pm 
Offline
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 5536
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
every time I approach a docking station and get the message "Automatic Docking Available".
I can't remember ever having seen that message. It smells like an oxp showing that message. And maybe that oxp is also interfering with the docking computer. And make sure you use the correct key as 1.76 uses an other for fast docking than good old Oolite 1.65 did. :wink:

_________________
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:10 pm 
Offline
Average
Average
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:52 pm
Posts: 8
Quote:
You should update to Oolite 1.77 - which key are you using to activate the DC, btw?
I'm using upper case 'D" i.e. Shift + d. This key press was the designated key from way back. I said it was about a year since I last played Oolite, but it is more like 2 years. I can't remember which version it was then. I recently got into system difficulties after downloading Oolite 1.77 during which time I inadvertantly eradicated all trace of my previous version. I therefore downloaded version 1.76 because it was said to be more stable. I have just noticed from Eric Walch's post that perhaps another key press should be used but I have no reference to it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:13 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 12773
Location: Corke's Drift
Try 'c' or 'C' - 1.77 should be fine, and is well worth getting.

_________________
The only good fnord is a dead fnord!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:15 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:46 pm
Posts: 270
Quote:
Quote:
You should update to Oolite 1.77 - which key are you using to activate the DC, btw?
I'm using upper case 'D" i.e. Shift + d. This key press was the designated key from way back. ...
And now I know why I always drop cargo first when I want to dock, and haven't played Oolite in a while... :lol: My fingers remember the 80s... :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:26 pm 
Offline
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 5536
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
t perhaps another key press should be used but I have no reference to it.
What about the 'Help' menu in Oolite while playing? It shows the same readMe document "in-game" that is also part of the release.

And when playing Oolite 1.77, you also can access it while playing in full screen mode. (At least when running Oolite on a Snow Leopard or newer OS.)

_________________
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:38 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Posts: 6178
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
What, doesn't the Mac version come with a PDF of the Reference Sheet included? :shock:

_________________
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:25 pm 
Offline
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 5536
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
What, doesn't the Mac version come with a PDF of the Reference Sheet included? :shock:
It is included, together with the readMe file. But mac users are just like windows users: They start with throwing away readMe files. :D

_________________
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited